Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Scotland

    AMD 1800+ at 63 deg. or 48 deg. ?

    Hi - have an Athlon 1800+ machine on a Chaintech 7KJD mobo running just now and trying to assess whether it running hot or not.
    Using MBM 5 the results are variable -
    Via 8231-2 shows 36
    Via 8231-1 Diode shows 62
    Via 8231-3 (optional) shows 46
    Using Aida-32, which correctly detects the mobo, CPU temp is given as 63, with mobo temp of 36.

    And on a re-boot the bios reckons the Temp is 48.

    So 8231-2 seems to be the Mobo temp. and it looks like the CPU utilities are reporting the Via 8231-1 diode as CPU temp possibly incorrectly.
    Anyone got any experience of this ? And whether these temps are acceptable or not ?

    Cheers.

  2. #2
    Member Parkest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Down on the plains of Auburn, Alabama
    First off, WELCOME TO THE FORUMS

    If I am correct, Aida32 and MBM5 read out temps through the bios. I may be wrong about this, but thats what I'm thinking is correct. Someone will correct me if I'm wrong. I'd stand by the bios right now for temp readings. I'd say that your temps are running high. What kind of cooling are you using for the cpu and case fans? Also, have you tried removing the side panel of the case and seeing if your temps drop?

  3. #3
    Member Xenocide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    mbm.livewiredev.com lists your motherboard as not having a case sensor, and lists the VIA8231-1 Diode as your cpu temp.

    so your cpu being at 61c is pretty hot...i would look into buying a new hew heatsink...

    BTW: Welcome the the forums
    A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.

  4. #4
    That sounds like a pally.

  5. #5
    Member Xenocide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    indeed, and probabbly with a stock heatsink
    A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Scotland
    Hi - thanks, and data is ...

    Cooling at present -
    One aftermarket Arctic Cooling heatsink + fan - runs at 2570rpm.
    One Rear Zalman 80mm case fan, which the BIOS reports as running at the same speed as the CPU fan, but AIDA reports are running at 1900rpm.

    Side panel off reduces everything by 5 degrees.
    Interestingly the BIOS reports CPU temp as 41, but MBM continues to report via-8231-3 optional as 46.

    So even more confused now as 41 in BIOS seems to match nothing that is reported by the two pieces of software.

    Looking at the other replies, pally means ??

  7. #7
    Registered Tawcan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Try updating the BIOS.

    Since removing side panel drops the temp I would say your case doesn't have good air circulation. Try adding one or two case fans and tidy up the cables. Make sure you applied thermal paste... if you applied AS3, make sure you didn't apply too much.

    Even if it's a pally it shouldn't run that hot.

  8. #8
    Member Goronae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Boston Area
    It seems at the moment that you are relying on the negative air pressure inside the case due to your PSU and rear fans to draw fresh (cool) air into the case. Adding a second case fan at the front would lower your case tems and therefore your CPU temps.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Scotland
    Will investigate the BIOS upgrade and might take the Heatsink off and see if the thermal paste looks not too thick.

    And case fans ... yes, will consider getting a front case fan too ... though been trying to avoid noise - when I got this PC it had NO fans whatsoever - I just added the rear one. I could also move that to the front as a test instead while I sort out a second fan.

    Thanks everyone. At least I know I should be able to cool it down a bit. Mebbe I'll look into a Zalman CNPS7000 - I've got one in my main machine and it works very well !

    In fact, if only I could get a new CPU to go with it for that board I'd be laughing :-)

  10. #10
    Member Yuriman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    The OCFORUMS
    Try getting the latest version of mbm also.

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Scotland
    Ah yes - MBM5 - got the latest. Ta. Thats why i was surprised it didn't report the same temp as the BIOS. No matter though I guess.

    Chaintech 7KJD
    AMD 1800+, Arctic Cooling HSF
    512Mb Ram, GeForce Ti4200
    No sound.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •