Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 51
  1. #1

    I thought I paid too much for MY Barton...

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=44935

    Wow that's a lot of money for something you can buy new for $100~ and still be guaranteed that it's unlocked...

  2. #2
    Senior A64 Killer {PMS}fishy's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Yeah, but you might not get anything that nice. I do think that it is one of the nicest steppings. Its what I have, and it really screams.
    Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

    Trouble Shooting 101:
    1. RTFM
    2. Repeat Step 1

    6ghz Club Member.


    cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?

  3. #3
    Member Alacritan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Kingston, NY
    Damn. It's up near $240 already. Why not just buy a 3200+?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    If the price goes any higher, why not just grab an Athlon 64 3200+ instead? Much faster. Like the seller mentioned, he wants to replace this 2.8GHZ barton with an Athlon 64 for himself. In fact for $240, an Athlon 64 3000+ will perform better after overclocking, at least in gaming.

  5. #5
    Member tekOC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Apt 2
    Its the golden stepping

    Thats why.

  6. #6
    Senior A64 Killer {PMS}fishy's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Somethings are worth more to others than you would think. I should sell mine, seeing that price now.
    Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

    Trouble Shooting 101:
    1. RTFM
    2. Repeat Step 1

    6ghz Club Member.


    cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Maybe you should, then grab yourself an Athlon 64 which is superior compare to a 2.8GHZ Barton.

  8. #8
    Member itshondo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Denver, CO
    I didn't need to see that, just getting comfortable with my IQYFA 0343 MPMW. I guess the moral of the story is check the forums often and buy quick.
    MAIN RIG - PCLinuxOS -Biostar A780L3G - Plenom II 560 @ 3.7 Ghz - Cooler Master TX3 - 8 gb Corsair XMS - Zotac GT 430 Fanless - 60gb Corsair SSD + 2 - Sony Optiarc SATA DVD Burner

    Windows / Backup RIG
    - Win 7 64 - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P rev 1.6 - Q9550 @ 3.2 Ghz - Prolimatech Megahalems Rev. B HSF - 8gb GSkill PC2 6400- Evga GTX 260 - Antec 900 Case - Rosewill RP550-2 550W PSU - WD 74 GB Raptor + 2 - Sony Optiarc SATA DVD Burner


    HEATWARE 20-0-0

  9. #9
    Member Hagakure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Altanta, GA
    Truly a legendary stepping, but at that price you practically ****ing the money away at this point. With all the new stuff coming out within the next 6 months the money could be a little better spent IMO.

  10. #10
    Senior A64 Killer {PMS}fishy's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Originally posted by {PMS}fishy
    Somethings are worth more to others than you would think. I should sell mine, seeing that price now.
    Yeah, but then I need a MB too, and more memory.

    Ill wait and see what 939 has to offer.
    Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

    Trouble Shooting 101:
    1. RTFM
    2. Repeat Step 1

    6ghz Club Member.


    cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?

  11. #11
    Contributing Member Sentential's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Midland, Texas
    Heatware Profile
    Grrr thats why Amd Locks their chips. I got a feeling that someone on the forums (the seller) is abusing their knowledge

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Most of mobile batrons can do 2.5 - 2.6+ GHz stable on air.

    To run that chip at 2.8 GHz stable, probably water is needed.

    Unless one wants that chip for some reasons (competition), and already have good water setup, otherwise would have to spend an extra $300 = cost of addup + cost of water to make good use of it, for that 200-300 MHz gain, it would not be price effective at all. Further, the new water block may not be good for the 64-bit chips.

    Also paying $140 extra of a CPU is risky, in case something goes wrong, ....

    Overclocking sandbox for A64 939 systems with Winchester and beyond
    A64 CPUs, chipsets, motherboards
    A64 Overclocking Result Collection
    Overclocking sandbox: Tbred B DLT3C and beyond
    - DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D, Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 3.00 GHz, highest clock 3.30 GHz, XP-90, G. Skill 4800 2 x 512 MB, X800Pro (Winchester 0447 CBBHD 2.83 GHz 314x9 1.52V)
    - ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0, Mobile Barton 2600+ IQYHA 0351 MPMW 2.71 GHz (225x12), 18/37 C, 1.89 V, SLK-947U 80mm Tornado (w/ fan control), 512 MB x 2 3500 C2 2-3-2-5, 9500 np -> 9700 np 360/311
    - ASUS A7N8X DLX, Tbred B 1700+ 0310 XPMW 2.56 GHz (205x12.5) 1.94 V, max at 2.6 GHz, SLK-800U + TT SFII, 48/40 28/26 C, 512MB 3500 C2 2-3-2-5 (retired)
    - Intel 8088 4.77 MHz 8bit CPU, 64KB memory, 1 MB HD, 5 1/4" floppy drive, DOS, 200 bps modem, 80x25 char display

  13. #13
    Member Silent Buddha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bellevue, WA
    I'd take my chances with watercooling and a new Mobile 2500+ instead of that e-bay crap...no matter how golden a stepping it is, it isn't worth $240 compared to $90.

  14. #14
    Senior A64 Killer {PMS}fishy's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Originally posted by Sentential
    Grrr thats why Amd Locks their chips. I got a feeling that someone on the forums (the seller) is abusing their knowledge
    No that is not why. The chip is in no way modded. The seller also stated that it is a 2500+ running a 1ghz O/C.

    AMD was locking chips because people/vendors were hard modding the chips to faster speeds and selling them to unknowing customers.

    There is a big difference between the two issues.
    Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

    Trouble Shooting 101:
    1. RTFM
    2. Repeat Step 1

    6ghz Club Member.


    cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?

  15. #15
    Member Hagakure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Altanta, GA
    You know gus i was looking at this and something seems off, like really off. Take a look at this blown up image of the one the seller posted:
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  16. #16
    Member Silent Buddha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bellevue, WA
    There's nothing suspicious. He easily could've photoshopped it but that's a typical speed on such a good stepping. And unless I'm mistaken, the math adds up too

  17. #17
    Member Hagakure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Altanta, GA
    Crap meant to add more to that before I posted, but Iíll just do a 2nd post so you can all see the image. Ok think about this:

    1. The seller listed the CPU as 9.8GHz, the picture clearly shows 2.9GHz almost 3Ghz, I know they said stable at 2.8GHz but that image just doesnít fit.

    2. Plus think about this, the guy listed the FSB as 266 which is a lot higher than the FSB pictured but think about the math:
    10x266 = 2.6
    10.5x266 = 2.7
    11x266 = 2.9
    11.5x266 = 3.0
    Possible to reach 2.8, indeed but again itís just strange.

    3. Anyone remember a few days ago when someone posted a 2.9 O\C chip a few days ago on the forums? Iím going to search around for it but I swear I remember seeing one posted here recently and the numbers seem very similar to those of this picture.

    Maybe Iím just over thinking this because Iím bored, but something just seems fishy.

  18. #18
    Member Silent Buddha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Bellevue, WA
    Originally posted by Hagakure
    Crap meant to add more to that before I posted, but Iíll just do a 2nd post so you can all see the image. Ok think about this:

    1. The seller listed the CPU as 9.8GHz, the picture clearly shows 2.9GHz almost 3Ghz, I know they said stable at 2.8GHz but that image just doesnít fit.

    2. Plus think about this, the guy listed the FSB as 266 which is a lot higher than the FSB pictured but think about the math:
    10x266 = 2.6
    10.5x266 = 2.7
    11x266 = 2.9
    11.5x266 = 3.0
    Possible to reach 2.8, indeed but again itís just strange.

    3. Anyone remember a few days ago when someone posted a 2.9 O\C chip a few days ago on the forums? Iím going to search around for it but I swear I remember seeing one posted here recently and the numbers seem very similar to those of this picture.

    Maybe Iím just over thinking this because Iím bored, but something just seems fishy.
    lol...man you're thinking too much. AMD double-pumps their FSB, kind of like how Intel quad-pumps their FSB. He is right in listing the stock FSB as 266MHz, since 266/2=133MHz, the real FSB. Apparently he pushed it to 248x12 which about equals 2.9GHz. He said it's fully stable at 2.8GHz so maybe he just posted a 2.9GHz screenie showing windows stability. Or maybe he didn't have time to push it more

  19. #19
    Senior A64 Killer {PMS}fishy's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Originally posted by Hagakure
    Crap meant to add more to that before I posted, but Iíll just do a 2nd post so you can all see the image. Ok think about this:

    1. The seller listed the CPU as 9.8GHz, the picture clearly shows 2.9GHz almost 3Ghz, I know they said stable at 2.8GHz but that image just doesnít fit.

    2. Plus think about this, the guy listed the FSB as 266 which is a lot higher than the FSB pictured but think about the math:
    10x266 = 2.6
    10.5x266 = 2.7
    11x266 = 2.9
    11.5x266 = 3.0
    Possible to reach 2.8, indeed but again itís just strange.

    3. Anyone remember a few days ago when someone posted a 2.9 O\C chip a few days ago on the forums? Iím going to search around for it but I swear I remember seeing one posted here recently and the numbers seem very similar to those of this picture.

    Maybe Iím just over thinking this because Iím bored, but something just seems fishy.
    If its listed at 9.8ghz thats deffinatly a typo.

    266mhz MEMORY BUS. Which is correcet for this chip. That makes it a 133mhz FSB.

    Is this the thread that you are looking for?

    http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.p...hreadid=277454


    I have a 2.9xx screen shot on there, as well as the person that is selling this chip. Ill let you see whos it is.
    Pick 2: Speed -- Reliability -- Cost

    Trouble Shooting 101:
    1. RTFM
    2. Repeat Step 1

    6ghz Club Member.


    cw823 Fan Club Founding Member, are you?

  20. #20
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Land of 10,000 Lakes
    Also in that picture, why doesn't it show the voltage? Also check the 6th post down on your link, it is identical to the ebay pic.
    Main Rig: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3 * Core i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz * 8GB (2x 4GB) Mushkin Blackline PC3-1600 * GeForce GTX 560TI 448 1280MB * 6TB Storage * LG BD/RW * Lian-Li PC-V2000B * Dell 24" 2407FPW & Asus 24" VS248H
    Backup Rig: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P * C2Q Q9400 @ 3.2Ghz * 4GB (2x 2GB) G-Skill PC2-8000 * Sapphire Radeon 4870 512MB * 320GB Storage * Samsung SH-S203N DVD+/-RW * Apex Full Tower Case * 2x Dell 19" LCD
    HTPC: Abit IP35PRO * C2D E6600 @ Stock * 2GB G-Skill PC6400 * Geforce 8600GT 256MB * 640GB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-ROM * 55" Samsung 1080p 3D LED LCD via HDMI

    Media Server: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D * A64 3800+ X2 * 1GB PC3200 * Powercolor X800XL * 14TB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-RW

    Heatware

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •