Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    25

    AGP aperture size?

    What is agp aperture size, and what is the proper setting for a 9700 pro 128 MB card?

  2. #2
    OSPF Loving Member Midnight Dream's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lawrenceville, Georgia
    Posts
    2,420
    http://www.ocfaq.com/article.php/ove...ing/vidcard/43

    Explains AGP Aperture size. I dont have a 9700 Pro yet, so I cant tell you that one.
    Gigabyte GA-EP43-UD3l - 6GB Patriot 6400 DDR2
    Intel Core 2 Duo E7500 2.93GHz - XFX HD 6850 Black Edition

    Learn to Fold - T32

    A little bit of Heat


    Still hate JoT

    But I love you! And so does OSPF! Why do you turn us away!

  3. #3
    You can't fire me, I have tenure!
    MODERATOR
    JoT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,869
    There really is no right size, but the most common setting is half of what your card is (64MB for you). That's what I have my 9700 Pro at.
    "There it is, ladies and gentlemen: the most expensive car in the world, dressed up like a mouse."

    Why yes, I do have Heat!


    ---
    Welcome to the forums. Please read all of the forum rules. Thank you =) --- What mods are active that I can PM my concerns to?

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    25
    am i to understand that the agp aperture is a section of the system ram, that is used as a buffer for texture loading?

  5. #5
    Member termin@tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    828
    From what I understand, aperture size is how much from your system RAM will be used to help your video card when it can't display/load (or whatever) all the textures. I would recommend 128MB for the size. That's what I use on my Ti4600 128MB.
    E8400 @ 3.6GHz
    Asus P5Q Pro mobo
    Corsair Dominator 4GB PC2-8500
    Sapphire HD 4850 @ 650/1075
    2x320GB Samsung RAID 0
    Audigy 2 ZS
    Enzotech Xtreme-X CPU cooler
    Corsair 650TX Power Supply

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    202
    64 is best for 128mb and up cards, has to do with spped, lower =better most cases, just my opinion

  7. #7
    Member Steven4563's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Northants England
    Posts
    4,392
    i have mine set to 128meg and with 64meg i get about 500points lower is 3DMark
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester @ 250x10 = 2.5ghz 1.55V Cooled By XP-120 & YS-TECH FD1238 Fan
    MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum Edition
    Corsair XMS TwinX 1Gig 2x512Meg PC4400 Ram @ 416Mhz 2,2,2,6 1T
    Hercules 3D Prophet 9700NP 128Meg ( Bios Flashed To 9700Pro With VGA Sliencer )
    480Gig Hard Drive Space
    MSI 16x DVD Drive
    Artec 52x CD-RW Drive
    Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
    Antec PlusView 1000AMG Metallic Gray Case
    Antec TruePower 550watt PSU ( New Version )
    Windows XP Pro SP1
    3DMark2001SE: 23014


    4.9GHZ Of AMD Power For Overclockers.com Boinc Seti Team.

  8. #8
    Member termin@tor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    828
    Originally posted by Steven4563
    i have mine set to 128meg and with 64meg i get about 500points lower is 3DMark
    I get similar results.
    E8400 @ 3.6GHz
    Asus P5Q Pro mobo
    Corsair Dominator 4GB PC2-8500
    Sapphire HD 4850 @ 650/1075
    2x320GB Samsung RAID 0
    Audigy 2 ZS
    Enzotech Xtreme-X CPU cooler
    Corsair 650TX Power Supply

  9. #9
    Member crull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    479
    The AGP aperture is system memory that is used as video texture memory. It will only be used if it needs to be used because the video card doesn't have enough.
    You can set it for anything you want and won't see any performance gains in benchmarks if your using a video card with a good amount of memory. So I just set it at 128.

  10. #10
    Member crull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    479
    Originally posted by Steven4563
    i have mine set to 128meg and with 64meg i get about 500points lower is 3DMark
    That could be from anything. I've tested and didn't see any difference no matter what it was set at. I've also seen testing on websites that didn't show any improvement.
    You should ponder this.
    Why use system memory for video card textures when video memory is faster then system memory?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •