Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Member Octoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    302

    Question Purpose of copper cold plate?

    Whay is the purpose of a copper cold plate? It goes between the water bloack and the CPU core correct? What purpose does it server?
    Thanks.
    Octavious Chacon

    "the smoke is the magic part of the chip and if it gets out you can't run the puter anymore." -el

  2. #2
    Administratively Deficient Thelemac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Canton, MI
    Posts
    4,806
    You only want to use a cold plate if you're using TECs....

    It does a couple of things. First, it spreads the heat from the cpu over the entire surface of the TEC as the TEC isn't terribly good at spreading the heat.

    Second, it allows you to put the necessary 300 some odd pounds of pressure on the TEC without crushing your chip.
    42 | Sig Assassin

    *click*

  3. #3
    Member Monaco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    2,164
    I've been wondering that too. Does the plate go between the CPU and pelt, or what? And do you really need 300lbs, I've been using 50 tops.

  4. #4
    Senior Member LimeyGreg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    386
    150~300 lbs depending on manf specs. It really does make a difference to the performance. Cold plate goes between cold side of peltier and the cpu. It also helps prevent thermal shock as it acts as a buffer and prevents wildly fluctuating cpu temps.

  5. #5
    Member FerrariF50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Greenwich,CT,USA
    Posts
    1,014
    300Lbs?? 300 pounds for what?!?!?!?
    In memory of the lives lost at the World Trade Center. R.I.P

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Harford, WI.
    Posts
    1,807
    Theres supposed to be 150 to 300lb's pressure when you tighten the tec down. Not on the core though. Unles you want to make a keychain. Thats whats nice about the DD Maze 2-2's (I think thats right). You can torque down the tec and then put the assembly on the cpu seperately to get the correct torque on the tec without crushing the core.

  7. #7
    Member FerrariF50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Greenwich,CT,USA
    Posts
    1,014
    wow thats alot of pressure I never thought it would be that much.... Btw does anyone else find that if they been awayf for this fourm for an hour or so they have to log back in?
    In memory of the lives lost at the World Trade Center. R.I.P

  8. #8
    Member cjtune's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    502

    Exclamation

    Originally posted by LimeyGreg
    150~300 lbs depending on manf specs. It really does make a difference to the performance. Cold plate goes between cold side of peltier and the cpu. It also helps prevent thermal shock as it acts as a buffer and prevents wildly fluctuating cpu temps.
    The upper limit will still be for the weakest component -the CPU core. Since the whole assembly is in a stack, the force is the same for all components -waterblock, pelt, cold plate, CPU. The max. then would be 24 lbf. Any more and you're walking on thin ice... *crack* BTW, pressure is defined as force per area -unit: psi (Pound-forces per Square Inch).

  9. #9
    Member Mord-Sith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    464
    so should we all go out and buy torq renches or are you guys just guestimating this 300lb

    After I set up my cookies and everything in user cp I havent had to log back in once.

  10. #10
    Arctic Silver Senior
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Kalifornia
    Posts
    2,479
    Many of the newer waterblocks feature bolt on cold plates so you can get the 150 PSI a pelt requires without crushing your CPU. You can look up the specs for a bolt in a Machinists Handbook. The bolts on a Danger Den cold plate require only 2 ft lbs of torque allthough with dual pelts. I have found more torque helps.

    Another function of the cold plate is to keep the hot side of the pelt further from the object being cooled.
    Knowledge is useless, itís what you do with it that counts.

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    68
    Originally posted by FerrariF50
    Btw does anyone else find that if they been awayf for this fourm for an hour or so they have to log back in?
    Do you have "cookies" set to off? It seems a cookie is the way they log you on automatically so you don't have to relog.

    The forum dumped me entirely. Changed my user name and password, then would not let me register again because my email address was in use. I had them send my name and password to the email address, which they will do, to find out the new password they gave me. I found out they also gave me a new name! Maybe it was the new software after the crash or maybe they didn't like something I said (sorry!), I don't know.
    Last edited by CalCoolage; 08-07-01 at 10:23 AM.

  12. #12
    Member FerrariF50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Greenwich,CT,USA
    Posts
    1,014

    Smile

    Yeah they were set off but I fixed it now thanks!

    Originally posted by CalCoolage


    Do you have "cookies" set to off? It seems a cookie is the way they log you on automatically so you don't have to relog.

    The forum dumped me entirely. Changed my user name and password, then would not let me register again because my email address was in use. I had them send my name and password to the email address, which they will do, to find out the new password they gave me. I found out they also gave me a new name! Maybe it was the new software after the crash or maybe they didn't like something I said (sorry!), I don't know.
    In memory of the lives lost at the World Trade Center. R.I.P

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •