Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Philadelphia

    Radeon 7500 Overclocking

    I am overclocking my Built By ATI Radeon 7500 64MB DDR with stock settings of 290MHz/230MHz (460MHz). It has 4ns hynix memory, and from what I have heard ATI unclocked the memory speeds from 250MHz to 230MHz when 4ns memory should equal 250MHz.

    Sofar I have only touched the memory overclocking wise, I have it up at a stable 236MHz (472MHz) and I want to get it to 250MHz so I get my money's worth, although I wish I would have tried this 2 years ago when I bought it.

    Anyway I have stock cooling on the card and I just hung a 80mm fan on the side of the card to blow the heat from the card away (although the card never gets hot) I did it just incase it needed the extra cooling. I want to know if adding that fan on the side of it will help in overclocking at all and if I should have no problem overclocking my memory to 250MHz from 230MHz where it shouldn't be.

    Here's a similar pic of how mine is setup,

    http://s90699750.onlinehome.us/media...oler-small.jpg

    Thanks for any input.

    Oh and I saw from searching these forums that the 7500 has some directx8 features, I was wondering what they were.
    Last edited by Special7; 04-15-04 at 07:13 PM.
    My Gaming Rig: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition @ 3.8GHz Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Dual Fans (push/pull) || 2.6GHz CPU-NB || ASUS M5A97 || Samsung 8GB DDR3-1600 8-8-8-22 1t || eVGA nVidia GTX 285 1GB || ASUS VE247H 23.6" || Western Digital Black 1TB 64MB Cache || Windows 7 Ultimate 64

  2. #2
    Member Daegon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rockville,MD
    Welcome to the forums!

    concerning the lower memory clock then what the ram is rated, manufacturers do that usually for stability. It also helps differentiate between the different models, they might put the same ram on two different boards and clock one at a lower then stock speed because it should cost less, therefore it should be slower. Some small heatsinks on the ram certainly should allow you to hit speeds above that 250 point.
    YEAH!! BABIES!!!
    E8400@4.0 / GTX460 / Asus P5K / 4GB Corsair XMS2 / WD 500
    Dell Vostro 1500 (C2D, 8600GT)
    Black Belt ‹bercloxx0r

    Heatware

  3. #3
    Member brennan77's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    New Orleans
    Ahh, the 7500. I had mine clocked at 348 on the core and I can't remember on the memory but I think it was nearly 300. That was a great card for the time, giving some competition to the GF2 ultra.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Ugh anyone?
    My Gaming Rig: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition @ 3.8GHz Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Dual Fans (push/pull) || 2.6GHz CPU-NB || ASUS M5A97 || Samsung 8GB DDR3-1600 8-8-8-22 1t || eVGA nVidia GTX 285 1GB || ASUS VE247H 23.6" || Western Digital Black 1TB 64MB Cache || Windows 7 Ultimate 64

  5. #5
    Member brennan77's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    New Orleans
    The only way to know is to try it. Everycard is different from the next.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Well I used ATI Tool to check for the highest core/memory speeds but I stopped the core at 300MHz and the memory at 250MHz, I got no artifacts, ran 3DMark2001 multiple times without issues so I think I am going to leave the speeds here for a little bit before going any higher.
    My Gaming Rig: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition @ 3.8GHz Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Dual Fans (push/pull) || 2.6GHz CPU-NB || ASUS M5A97 || Samsung 8GB DDR3-1600 8-8-8-22 1t || eVGA nVidia GTX 285 1GB || ASUS VE247H 23.6" || Western Digital Black 1TB 64MB Cache || Windows 7 Ultimate 64

  7. #7
    Member Mr.Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Currently on a silent vacation from overclocking.
    Be sure to replace the thermal paste on the heatsink. There was a thread a while ago where a guy took the heatsink off his 7500 and there was only a tiny drop of white generic thermal paste on it.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Since my other questions are no longer valid I would like to ask this again,

    I saw from searching these forums that the 7500 has some directx8 features, I was wondering what they were.

    Thanks.
    My Gaming Rig: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition @ 3.8GHz Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Dual Fans (push/pull) || 2.6GHz CPU-NB || ASUS M5A97 || Samsung 8GB DDR3-1600 8-8-8-22 1t || eVGA nVidia GTX 285 1GB || ASUS VE247H 23.6" || Western Digital Black 1TB 64MB Cache || Windows 7 Ultimate 64

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    The 7500 is a DX7 part. It is DX8/9 compatible, but does not support any features beyond DX7.

    Can you link the threads which state it supports DX8 features?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Port Moody BC "West Coast Canada"
    Originally posted by kct2
    The 7500 is a DX7 part. It is DX8/9 compatible, but does not support any features beyond DX7.

    Can you link the threads which state it supports DX8 features?
    the 7500 supports 2 DX8 features, can not remember exactly what they are will try to find that info for you.

    A decent card still on par to a G2 Ultra in performance, I reached 5370 in 3D01 and had my mem overclocked to about 310 if I remember right and it was a BBA card.

    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=3066421

    CK

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Philadelphia
    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7778735 here is my 3DMark2001 results, considering my processor is 204MHz slower I think my card is pretty good.
    Last edited by Special7; 04-23-04 at 07:57 PM.
    My Gaming Rig: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition @ 3.8GHz Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Dual Fans (push/pull) || 2.6GHz CPU-NB || ASUS M5A97 || Samsung 8GB DDR3-1600 8-8-8-22 1t || eVGA nVidia GTX 285 1GB || ASUS VE247H 23.6" || Western Digital Black 1TB 64MB Cache || Windows 7 Ultimate 64

  12. #12

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    The Radeon 7500 chip (RV200) is the same as the original Radeon chip (R100) in terms of 3d features. It was just manufactured on a smaller process allowing it to run faster. It also added support for hydravision (from the Radeon VE) and HyperZ (new memory controller).

    Iím not sure what features you are thinking of, but the main thing is the 7500 doesnít support pixel or vertex shaders, the most important DX8 features. If you are thinking of Environmental Map Bump Mapping (EMBM) it was part of DX6.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Philadelphia
    It has TnL Vertex Shaders.
    My Gaming Rig: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition @ 3.8GHz Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Dual Fans (push/pull) || 2.6GHz CPU-NB || ASUS M5A97 || Samsung 8GB DDR3-1600 8-8-8-22 1t || eVGA nVidia GTX 285 1GB || ASUS VE247H 23.6" || Western Digital Black 1TB 64MB Cache || Windows 7 Ultimate 64

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •