Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member stratcatprowlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    MG,Brazil

    Question Chipset voltage on NF7-s vers 2

    When i was overclocking i would set it to 1.7v.

    Now i'm running my desktop 2500 at stock speed and have the cpu voltage @1.625.I was wondering if i can safely take down the chipset voltage a notch to 1.5v as well?

  2. #2
    Member THunDA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    NY
    If your running stock then yea 1.5vdd should be fine.. maybe even 1.4v.. but that might be unstable.. If you set it stock and to 1.5vdd I would still run prime to see if its stable.. Right now with my settings in sig im at 1.5vdd..

    Thunda

  3. #3
    Contributing Member Sentential's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Midland, Texas
    Heatware Profile
    Ignore the chipset voltage.

    Some boards must have it on a certian setting to work properly. Mine for example MUST have 1.7 all the time

  4. #4
    Member JerMe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    New York City
    I wouldn't blatently ignore the chipset voltage. Yes, different NF7 boards will have varying responses to changes in Vdd, but it doesn't mean you can disregard it as a source of instability.

    stratcatprowlin, if you want to know if you can take the chipset voltage down and still have a stable setup - lower the chipset voltage, then do a stability test with Prime95 and see if you system crashes.
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Folding User Stats

  5. #5
    Contributing Member Sentential's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Midland, Texas
    Heatware Profile
    but it doesn't mean you can disregard it as a source of instability
    WOA no! Thats not what I meant.

    He means to say they he is uncomfortable using high voltage. I meant to say Ignore the voltage and use what is stable.

    The VDD voltage is the PRIMARY source of instability. I'd keep that in check first

  6. #6
    Member james.miller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Dunstable, uk
    TBH the chipset voltage really wont effect lastability or system temps in any real noticable way, so i wouldnt worry about it. 1.5v shouldnt be a problem though.
    The HTPC

    E2160 @ 2.7ghz | Thermaltake The Orb cooler | Asus p5w-dh | 4Gb DDR-II pc6400| 1.00Tb of WD AAKS storage | Asus Xonar D2| 360 HD-DVD drive
    Pioneer bd204 bluray sata drive | Corsair HX620w PSU | BFG GeForce 8800GTX | Silverstone SST-LC17b
    | 22" dell e228wfp | 40" 1080p SONY 40w2000

    ONKYO TX-SR805 | bi-amped mission m71i fronts | eltax center & bipolar rears
    2x 12" custom built subwoofers powered by a denon pma-100m | PS3 with linux and a 250gb 3.5" internal drive | Nintendo wii



  7. #7
    Member JerMe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    New York City
    Originally posted by Sentential

    WOA no! Thats not what I meant.

    He means to say they he is uncomfortable using high voltage. I meant to say Ignore the voltage and use what is stable.

    The VDD voltage is the PRIMARY source of instability. I'd keep that in check first
    LOL, you can't ignore the voltage and use what is stable, either No need to overkill, right? So no need to use more voltage than what you need.

    In my world, Vcore & temps were the primary sources of instability...

    I understand what you're trying to say. Stratcatprowlin is asking since he's running the chip at stock, can he take down the Vdd and still have a stable setup. The answer is most likely yes.
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Folding User Stats

  8. #8
    Contributing Member Sentential's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Midland, Texas
    Heatware Profile
    I dunno man....it depends. Some mobo prefer it one way or another.

    Mine hates running @ anything lower than 1.7v. Some mobos prefer to run @ 1.4. It all depends on what his PC likes

  9. #9
    Senior Member stratcatprowlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    MG,Brazil
    Tx for all the responses,Yeah if i take the fsb over 181 i have to set the chipset voltalge to 1.7v and i see a temp increase with that,so i was thinkin if i can lower it at stock speed,why not?

    So.i'll try it at 1.5v and see what happens. TX again.

  10. #10
    Contributing Member Sentential's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Midland, Texas
    Heatware Profile
    NP....

    let us know how it goes

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •