Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member NiTrO bOiE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, NC

    unlock other 4 pipelines on 9800SE

    Has anyone tried this yet?
    http://translate.google.com/translat...8%26oe%3DUTF-8

    Also, does anyone know how much better the results would be?

  2. #2
    Member Daegon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rockville,MD
    In short, yes. Results are approximate to a 9800pro. Thats because a 9800se is a 9800pro that's been crippled by software.

    See Softmodding guide.

    Hunt around for anything on 'softmodding' The same thing has been done with the 9500np, it softmodded to 9700 and gave excellent results.
    YEAH!! BABIES!!!
    E8400@4.0 / GTX460 / Asus P5K / 4GB Corsair XMS2 / WD 500
    Dell Vostro 1500 (C2D, 8600GT)
    Black Belt ▄bercloxx0r

    Heatware

  3. #3
    Member f00t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    yup, tried it. about a 50/50 chance of success (i wasn't that lucky and got checkers)
    cascade in progress

  4. #4
    Member Nero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brooklyn!
    OT:

    Daegon: No vacuum cleaner should give a human being a double polaroid!

    On-Topic:

    <searchnazi> search button!!! </searchnazi>

  5. #5
    Member NiTrO bOiE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    DOH sry for not reading the soft mod sticky. I read it before, but the last time I read it, it was only about the 9500 -> 9700. I think I'll just buy a 9800SE even if I don't get it to softmod.
    CPU: AMD 64 3000+ DTR @ 2750
    MB:
    DFI Lanparty UT 250GB

    Memory: 2x 1GB G.Skill PC3200

    Video:
    Radeon X800XT-PE w/ Maze 4 GPU

    Hard Drives:
    36GB Raptor (Main) 160GB Hitachi (Storage)

    Optical Storage:
    44x CD, 8x DVD-RW

    Sound:
    Audigy 2 ZS
    Case & Power: Black Chieftec FT w/ Window, Antec TP 430
    Watercooled WW, Pro Core (2) 120mm Deltas, Hydor L20
    Windows XP Professional x64 Edition

  6. #6
    Way Too Jealous Member Supertrucker's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Heatware Profile
    only some 9800se's have a 256bit mem bus, make sure you get a 256bit bus card. i think powercolor makes one. sapphire and bba are 128bit. if you cant softmod the card, that extra ram bandwidth still helps to make it faster than a 9600
    5820k @4250 Asus X99 Deluxe
    Crossfire R9 290 @ 1100/1300
    Catleap 2560x1440 IPS w/120hz pcb
    DT770 pro

  7. #7
    Member Daegon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Rockville,MD
    even the sapphire card that says 128bit, as long as it has the 'L' Shaped layout is really 256bit.
    You won't be able to get full performance out of the 128bit cards, it's one of the limiting factors of the speed of the card.
    YEAH!! BABIES!!!
    E8400@4.0 / GTX460 / Asus P5K / 4GB Corsair XMS2 / WD 500
    Dell Vostro 1500 (C2D, 8600GT)
    Black Belt ▄bercloxx0r

    Heatware

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •