Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22
  1. #1
    Disabled Myself and I's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Savannah ,GA
    Posts
    462

    Exclamation 1.5GHz AMD Athlon Palomino Overclocks To 2.4GHz !!

    Yes....i'm drooling all over my keyboard again...as Mike Magee brings us news that the upcoming desktop version of the AMD Athlon Palomino.....flying at a default speed at 1.53GHz...this Palomino will be the most awesome overclocker we have ever seen.....get your money ready for this puppy !!!


    That means overclockability on the mobile Athlon 4 family of a 1.8GHz clock speed (18 times 100MHz), and as much as 2.4GHz (18 times 133MHz) on the up and coming 1.5GHz Palominos.

    So the overclockers had better oil their fans and lubricate their heat sinks ready for the day.


    Source: The Inquirer - More Information http://www.theinquirer.net/10080101.htm

    amdmb.com is the source of the info

    I will be upgrading my slot a motherboard currently running a 1000mhz to a DDR when this chip comes out. I feel sorry for the people who just bought the 1.2 or 1.333 chips LOL

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    849

    Re: 1.5GHz AMD Athlon Palomino Overclocks To 2.4GHz !!

    Originally posted by Myself and I
    Yes....i'm drooling all over my keyboard again...as Mike Magee brings us news that the upcoming desktop version of the AMD Athlon Palomino.....flying at a default speed at 1.53GHz...this Palomino will be the most awesome overclocker we have ever seen.....get your money ready for this puppy !!!


    That means overclockability on the mobile Athlon 4 family of a 1.8GHz clock speed (18 times 100MHz), and as much as 2.4GHz (18 times 133MHz) on the up and coming 1.5GHz Palominos.

    So the overclockers had better oil their fans and lubricate their heat sinks ready for the day.


    Source: The Inquirer - More Information http://www.theinquirer.net/10080101.htm

    amdmb.com is the source of the info

    I will be upgrading my slot a motherboard currently running a 1000mhz to a DDR when this chip comes out. I feel sorry for the people who just bought the 1.2 or 1.333 chips LOL
    you dont have to be sorry for us
    we only paid a Maximum of about $180
    we could get these and put it in our mobos
    we might "accidently" fry our Tbirds

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    85

    Cool

    Just because it supports higher multipliers doesn't mean it will overclock farther. It's a natural progression. Right now the limit is 12.5 which means you could only overclock your 1.53 by a little over 100 MHz. Just because the multipliers support up to 18 doesn't mean it will overclock to 2.4 GHz!

    Here's a good example. Joe Schmoe goes and buys an AXIA Y 1.0 GHz. His multipliers go up to 12.5. Will his CPU overclock to 1.66? VERY unlikely unless he has some SERIOUS cooling and voltage mods. Most people boost their FSB. Say Joe tries to run it at 150 x 12.5. Will it work? HELL NO! (okay, maybe 1 out of 100 will work at this speed)

    Also, from what I've heard, early tests of the Palominos show they don't overclock as well as the Thunderbirds. But Palominos are still faster so they'll probably be just about even. The Palominos will probably have a slight edge over the Thunderbirds, but they won't overclock to 2.4 GHz. I promise you that much.

    BTW... the inquirer isn't a very reliable source of info. For months they proclaimed that the A7A266 was a horrible mobo cause it ran CPU's 10 degrees hotter and therefore should not be bought. That whole time Asus was acknowledging that there was a problem but the problem was that the temp was simply read 10 degrees higher then it really was.

  4. #4
    Member Alex99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Chanhassen, MN
    Posts
    394

    Talking

    Well put Vecchk, my thoughts exactly. Some people just get too excited too soon.

  5. #5
    UnseenModerator UnseenMenace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    5,433
    Very well said VecchK
    one M15x is never enough

  6. #6
    Senior Member KaHNZa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    West Central MN
    Posts
    1,730
    Nicely said vecchk. I don't think it will do 2.4 I just don't think its even physically possible.

  7. #7
    Big Daddy Bear Senior TranceBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,242
    Originally posted by VecchK
    Just because it supports higher multipliers doesn't mean it will overclock farther. It's a natural progression. Right now the limit is 12.5 which means you could only overclock your 1.53 by a little over 100 MHz. Just because the multipliers support up to 18 doesn't mean it will overclock to 2.4 GHz!

    I have multiplier to 15 and have posted as high as 13.5. Most MSI boards have the option up to 15, especialy if you are running a 200mhz FSB CPU. It all boils down to getting that one lucky stepping that will rock. As a whole I would not get all that excited about the Palomino, but remember that all steppings are not created equal.
    AMD 9950BE Phenom 3.5ghz 1.47v 250x14 CPU For Sale
    Coolermaster V-8 41c Idle-51c Load
    Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX/SB750
    G-Skill 2x2gb DDR2-800 5-5-5-15-24
    2x74gb Raptors-2x750gb WD Raid-0
    Antec 1200 Case/ Antec 1000 Watt P/S
    What's Fragging? I Don't Play Games
    It's About Bragging Right's, Right?
    My Heatware 100% since 2002

  8. #8
    Official Weight Watcher Staff
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    706
    The Theoretical versus what is accomplishable is 2 different stories . I do agree the maximum in theory is incredible but doubtful it will happen. Good reading though.


    Maestro

  9. #9
    Member Speed_Freak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Cali
    Posts
    154
    Assuming you could overclock that fast, the heat generated and the cooling required would be insane.

  10. #10
    Senior Member kat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    belding,MI,United States
    Posts
    773
    cooling the Palomino..... is a very interesting proposition

    the die is bigger and the stock voltage is lower

    hmmm we`ll see
    kat
    knowledge is the key to a successful OC:D

  11. #11
    Disabled Myself and I's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Savannah ,GA
    Posts
    462
    i think your baseing your theory on the old t-bird core. The palimino is totally different when it comes to power consumption. I bet the 1530 mhz chip will overclock easy to 2gigertz plus with the sk6 heatsink or even water cooling. If you have up to 18x multiplier and you start out with a voltage of 1.4 or even 1.55 at 1530 mhz why do you think raising the voltage to 1.8 wont work for another 470mhz. Raise the FSB to 150 and your up to 2100mhz easy.

  12. #12
    Member Alex99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Chanhassen, MN
    Posts
    394

    Thumbs down

    You pump 1.80 volt into a .13 micron Palimo core, with its transistors so tightly packed, and you'll fry the mother in 30 seconds. That's why it's spec'd to run at 1.4 volts or lower.

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    35
    Um... Isn't the palomino still a 0.18m process?

    Unless I'm mistaken the P4 will be making the 0.13m jump this year, followed by AMD in early-mid '02 (think its called throughbred?).

    The desktop palomino runs at nearly the same voltage (if not the same) as the thunderchicken (t-bird). The 1.4v is for the 'moblie' version.

    cheers!

  14. #14
    palomino is .18micron and a 1.2 is priced slightly higher then a 1.4 tbird. it runs 1.2v@500Mhz and 1.4v@rated speed (speedstep/auto shutdown - whatever).

  15. #15
    Disabled Myself and I's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Savannah ,GA
    Posts
    462
    lol

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    384
    Where did you here this?


    The current Athlon 200 bus processor's that are 1300 and 1400MHz use 5 L1 bridges which can get a possible 17X Multiplier at MAX. Now, the Palamino's also use 5 bridges for the CPU, and this means theycan have a 17X limit as well. Unless CPU's move to 6 bridges for L1, you aint going to be able to get higher than 17X, no matter what!

    The 200MHz Front side bus will end at 1.7GHz, I'm not to sure about the 266FSB thou, they might keep it going with throughbred and possibly countinue behond 2GHz mark.

    With the current Palamino core, the highest possible attainable CPU speed with 266FSB is 2266MHz

  17. #17
    UnseenModerator UnseenMenace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    5,433
    LMAO will someone please wake me, when we all stop dreaming
    one M15x is never enough

  18. #18
    Disabled Myself and I's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Savannah ,GA
    Posts
    462
    I think this new 1.53 chip will have a new stepping with more bridges

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    221
    I belive its possible but its going to be realy realy hard to cool down a cpu tahts overclocked like allmost a 1ghz more then spec......i dont know anybody in there RIGHT MIND that would spend lets say about 500US on this 1.5ghz palomino when its first out and then overclock it that much....i think there is a high probility that it was fry and there is 500 down the drain..well i am waiting for somebody rich to do this just because wehre i live ect... and my current hours PT it would take me about 2 months to buy that chip its around 750 my dollars if i am close on 500$ a chip in 1000s qty

  20. #20
    Official Weight Watcher Staff
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    706
    AMD will hit 2.4 ghz very soon I think ! End of Next Year ?


    Maestro

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •