Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    Drifto Mexicano Cerberus2k7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Morris, IL
    Posts
    2,222

    Do I want the highest score or highest clock?

    Now when overclocking, would I want to keep my clock speeds so that I get the highest score in benchmarks, or do I want the highest clock speeds without artifacts?

    Member of OCdriftingNinjas | You gotta' Fold if you wanna turn up the Heat
    Overclocking: My Anti-Drug. | Overclocking my body...one day at a time... | Black Belt Ubercloxx0r | You are the most ripped yo-yo'er I have ever seen. - Seven
    HTPC | i5 2500k@3.8 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 16GB HyperX | GTX 460 1gb@845/1100 | 1.5TB | Silverstone LC10S-M | Corsair 500w

  2. #2
    Member Overclocker550's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,227
    dont run with artifacts, it just hurts your scores and can damage your hardware

  3. #3
    Member shiltz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    551
    highest score, highest clock doesn't really do you much good if it's slower than the lower clock.

    edit: unless you mean highest score but with artifacts, that you don't want.
    Main Rig
    Athlon 64 X2 4200+ @2750Mhz 11X250Mhz 1.45V / Asus A8N-SLI Premium / 4X 1024mb OCZ Platinum, 3-4-4-8 @416Mhz
    Saphire Vapor-X Radeon HD 5770 1GB @925/1360 / Audigy 2 / Acer H233H 23" / Antec TruePower 2.0 TPII-550
    WD Raptor 74GB / Segate Barracuda 500GB / Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
    Water Cooled: CPU Swiftech Storm / Danger Den Double Heater core / Eheim 1250

  4. #4
    Member Cyberwiz01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    hunting wolverines
    Posts
    769
    usually highest clock = highest score, but artifacts are bad, and you don't want them. And besides posting an uber-high bench score that has loads of artifacts is dishonest to the benchmarking community.

  5. #5
    Member Nero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brooklyn!
    Posts
    465
    Highest score. Sometimes you can overclock your card to a point where it's not artifacting, but errors are being made, and enough of them to offset the increased clock speed.

  6. #6
    Drifto Mexicano Cerberus2k7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Morris, IL
    Posts
    2,222
    Originally posted by Cyberwiz01
    usually highest clock = highest score, but artifacts are bad, and you don't want them. And besides posting an uber-high bench score that has loads of artifacts is dishonest to the benchmarking community.
    Actually I can overclock this thing pretty well. But my score starts to go down after 432/372. But it can handle more than that.

    Member of OCdriftingNinjas | You gotta' Fold if you wanna turn up the Heat
    Overclocking: My Anti-Drug. | Overclocking my body...one day at a time... | Black Belt Ubercloxx0r | You are the most ripped yo-yo'er I have ever seen. - Seven
    HTPC | i5 2500k@3.8 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 16GB HyperX | GTX 460 1gb@845/1100 | 1.5TB | Silverstone LC10S-M | Corsair 500w

  7. #7
    Member LtBlue14's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    510
    without artifacts, but scores still go down?

    prob means there are artifacts, but they're nearly undetectable

  8. #8
    Drifto Mexicano Cerberus2k7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Morris, IL
    Posts
    2,222
    Well, the thing is this. If my score goes down, and I overclock it some more, my score starts to go back up.

    Also, is XP or 2k better for games/benchmarks?

    Member of OCdriftingNinjas | You gotta' Fold if you wanna turn up the Heat
    Overclocking: My Anti-Drug. | Overclocking my body...one day at a time... | Black Belt Ubercloxx0r | You are the most ripped yo-yo'er I have ever seen. - Seven
    HTPC | i5 2500k@3.8 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 16GB HyperX | GTX 460 1gb@845/1100 | 1.5TB | Silverstone LC10S-M | Corsair 500w

  9. #9
    Member Overclocker550's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,227
    win 2k is way better for amd rigs. not sure for intel, but keep your current os, dont bother with a reinstall. hows your 3dmarks after the overclock? 430/370 is what the average 9800 pro overclocks to. broke 17k yet? compare link to your best score? make sure everything is set to performance, show me a score that beats the one in my sig

  10. #10
    Drifto Mexicano Cerberus2k7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Morris, IL
    Posts
    2,222
    Eh.. well here is my newest one.

    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7776634

    Member of OCdriftingNinjas | You gotta' Fold if you wanna turn up the Heat
    Overclocking: My Anti-Drug. | Overclocking my body...one day at a time... | Black Belt Ubercloxx0r | You are the most ripped yo-yo'er I have ever seen. - Seven
    HTPC | i5 2500k@3.8 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 16GB HyperX | GTX 460 1gb@845/1100 | 1.5TB | Silverstone LC10S-M | Corsair 500w

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    US
    Posts
    300
    Use 3dmark03 for testing your videocard. 3dmark01 is more cpu/ram dependent, thus less accurate than 3dmark03 when comparing card scores. I only score 11-12k on 3dmark01, but 6100 on 3dmark03. My cpu just isn't fast enough to bring in a higher score on 3dmark01.

    Can anyone confirm that win2k is better for amd? I'm gonna be formating agian soon and want to get best performance. I really like XP features that aren't in win2k, so I'm hoping it's not true.
    ECS A785GM-AD3
    Cooler Master GeminII S
    Athlon II X3 450 (3.64ghz@1.5v)
    4gb Kingston HyperX (1516 9-9-9-24)
    ATI HD 5770 (990/1375@1.212v)
    Corsair VX450
    Asus VE228H

  12. #12
    Way Too Jealous Member Supertrucker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    2,064
    on straight untweaked installs, xp will probably be ever so slightly slower than 2k because of its many features (and bloat). however, you wouldnt be able to notice than .02% performance loss nearly as much as a feature that you want xp and wont have in 2k.

    oc550, my 9800np 400/325 / barton2.2(200x11) on xp with everything set to QUALITY with all of my backround apps running, will still beat your ti4200 in 3dmarks. let it die already
    4670k @ 4.5 w/ apogee HD Asrock Extreme 6
    Crossfire R9 290 @ 1100/1300 EK fc blocks
    Yamasaki Catleap 2560x1440 IPS w/120hz pcb
    DT770pros(modmic) w/ Sound Blaster Z
    Swiftech mcp 35x 120.4 Swiftech XP w/GT ap-14s

  13. #13
    Member Overclocker550's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,227
    thats cause you got a barton and your cpus almost as fast as mine. youd probably get 17k marks or so. Nice score cerebus, thats 7k ahead of your fx5600! your card will last you years to come, a faster cpu will bring the beast within your card

  14. #14
    Drifto Mexicano Cerberus2k7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Morris, IL
    Posts
    2,222
    Oh yea! And now im starting to re-contemplate AMD Damn choices and cheaper AMD CPUs!

    Member of OCdriftingNinjas | You gotta' Fold if you wanna turn up the Heat
    Overclocking: My Anti-Drug. | Overclocking my body...one day at a time... | Black Belt Ubercloxx0r | You are the most ripped yo-yo'er I have ever seen. - Seven
    HTPC | i5 2500k@3.8 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 16GB HyperX | GTX 460 1gb@845/1100 | 1.5TB | Silverstone LC10S-M | Corsair 500w

  15. #15
    Member Overclocker550's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,227
    wait and save up for an a64, I am doing the same. youll be blown away by one of those guys, can we say 25k marks? ill be aiming for like 20k myself

  16. #16
    Member TruckyJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Middle America
    Posts
    637
    Originally posted by Overclocker550
    wait and save up for an a64, I am doing the same. youll be blown away by one of those guys, can we say 25k marks? ill be aiming for like 20k myself
    You going to get a new video card as well so you don't bottleneck that CPU all up?

  17. #17
    Member Overclocker550's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,227
    I forgot to mention that 20k is with my ti4200. I will upgrade when the time comes, but it will be something much better than a 9800 pro. think something like pci-e with 32 pipes and 512 bit ram years from now

  18. #18
    Member micamica1217's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    4,874
    Originally posted by Overclocker550
    I forgot to mention that 20k is with my ti4200. I will upgrade when the time comes, but it will be something much better than a 9800 pro.
    now your talking.

    use the ti4200 if you must with a new system, then when you have the money...get the new card. (or everything all at once.)

    mica
    Q6600 @ 3.0 (3.2 max OC), MSI P6N SLI plat, 4gigs corsair xms2, 2x 9800gtx KO in SLI, X-Fi XGamer, 2x Seagate Barracuda 250gb, Light-on 20x DVD, Thermaltake 750w PSU, air cooled with Ultama-90 and Antec 900 case....Soyo (24D6) 24" wide 14139 vantage

    " Comparing the technical relevance of The Inquirer to Beyond3D is like comparing the technical prowess of Paris Hilton to John Carmack." -Albuquerque


    [OCG] Fraging at it's finest.

  19. #19
    Member Overclocker550's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,227
    glad to see we can agree on something. I have decided I wont bother with a newer agp card, I will just stick my ti4200 in there and wait for pci-e then upgrade all over again when amd goes 65nm. I may get the 130nm if I have the money LOL since 90nm has been delayed

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •