Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Member Mr.Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Currently on a silent vacation from overclocking.

    Folding@Once Installer: I need your help devleoping it!

    EDIT: THIS ROUND OF ALPHA TESTING IS OVER. PLEASE DELETE ANY COPIES YOU HAVE LOCALLY. A NEW THREAD WILL BE STARTED WHEN I'M READY TO RELEASE THE FEATURE COMPLETE BETA FOR TESTING.

    I'm writing a FAH4 installer which will have the following features (when it's done):

    *One-Click(TM) type Install - NOT YET
    *Automatic CPU Type/Features Detection & Optomized Flag Loading - WORK-IN-PROGRESS
    *Win98/ME Compatible - NOT YET
    *Automatic Client Download - NOT YET
    *Saves Log File - NOT YET
    I need to test the CPU type/features detection however I only have a non-SSE Athlon, an AthlonXP, a non-SSE Duron, and a 2 GHz Celeron to test with at my house. Attached is a zip file containing the installer (really just a CPU feature detector at this point) and the source code (please respect the copyright notice and do not redistribute this unfinished code, I'll re-release it under the GPL when it's finished). It tests for the following items:

    CPU Vendor (GenuineIntel, AuthenticAMD, others)
    SSE
    SSE2
    Hyperthreading
    (and on AMD CPUs)
    3DNow!
    x86-64 (A64/Opteron/FX 64-bit extentions)

    Just run the attached EXE and see if it correctly reports your CPU's features (to exit press any key). If any of those are detected wrong on your computer please post which one was detected wrong and what CPU you have. If you think something is wrong please double-check it against a CPUID program (like WCPUID, GCPUID, or CPU-Z) before posting.
    Last edited by Mr.Radar; 04-25-04 at 04:21 PM.

  2. #2
    Member Mr.Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Currently on a silent vacation from overclocking.
    EDIT: Attachment deleted
    Last edited by Mr.Radar; 04-25-04 at 04:20 PM.

  3. #3
    On my XP2100 T-bred B:

    Found an authentic AMD CPU
    SSE detected
    No SSE2 detected
    No hyperthreading detected
    3dnow! extensions found
    no x86-64 found
    Mobo: Asus A8N-E
    CPU: Opteron 165 @ 2.5 @ 1.4v
    Cooling: Dtek WW - Maze 4 GPU - (2) HD Coolers - Swiftech MCP350 - BIP III w/ Yate Loons
    Ram: 2 GB GSkill PC3200 Value @ 227 (3-3-3-5)
    Video: eVGA 7800GT @ stock

    2.5 GHz Folding for Team32 (Greg_M.)

    My HEAT (12-0)

  4. #4
    Member JetMech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Folding 24/7 in Newport News, Va. Since Sept. 2001
    On my P4 2.6C
    Found genuine Intel cpu
    sse detected
    sse2 detected
    Hyperthreading detected
    No 3Dnow! found
    No x86-64 found
    Fold Smart
    E6600@2.4x2
    Proud member of Folding@Home Team #32--Folding 24/7
    Avatar by : IMOG
    "Greater love hath no man than to give up his puter(s) for science."

  5. #5
    Member Animal982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    PA
    P3 800 MHz
    Found genuine Intel cpu
    sse detected
    No sse2 detected
    No Hyperthreading detected
    No 3Dnow! found
    No x86-64 found

  6. #6
    Banned ElectroX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Orange County
    Detected correctly on my Athlons, but it said that my Celly 1.8 had HT (I wish).

  7. #7
    Senior Member Maxvla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    OKC
    i'll try on my a64 here in a minute.

    here's my results:

    Found an AuthenticAMD CPU
    SSE Detected!
    SSE2 Detedted! (typo in the program)
    No HyperThreading Detected
    3DNow! extensions found!
    x86-64 extensions found!
    The Black Hole
    Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
    Gigabyte P55M-UD2
    Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
    EVGA GTX460 1GB
    Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
    Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
    Corsair HX850W PSU
    NEC DVD-RW

  8. #8
    Member Mr.Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Currently on a silent vacation from overclocking.
    I've fixed that typo and another one that was causing the program to check for 3DNow! and x86-64 on non-AMD CPUs.

    I think I've fixed the HTT detection problem. I'll upload a new version.

  9. #9
    Miralcos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Sheridan, Arkansas
    Found an AuthenticAMD CPU
    SSE support detected!
    No SSE2 support detected
    No HyperThreading support detected
    3DNow! extentions found!
    No x86-64 support detected

    Seems to have worked here as well.
    PLEASE FOLD FOR TEAM32
    Heatware

  10. #10
    Member matrixzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    CA
    This is what it read off my computer.

    Found a GenuineIntel CPU
    SSE support detected!
    SSE2 Detected!
    HyperThreading Detected. Using 2-client setup.

    I like your program. It says I have HT even though I don't. Heh but hey I'm running a P4b so it shouldn't have said it had HT?
    Team 32 Contributor.

  11. #11
    runnin > P4 2.6c abit IC7 then ran it on 2.4c ic7-G
    found ht
    sse and sse 2 on both

  12. #12
    Member Mr.Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Currently on a silent vacation from overclocking.
    Hmm... I'm going to upload another version that will display the raw feature info as a hex number. Could someone experiencing problems with the HTT detection and someone with a HTT enabled processor post theirs?

  13. #13
    Member Mr.Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Currently on a silent vacation from overclocking.
    Status Update: After wrestling with GCC and libcurl I've finally gotten the automatic download function completed and I'm starting on the actual install portion of the code.

  14. #14
    Member NiTrO bOiE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    On my P4 1.4 it says:

    Found a GenuineIntel CPU
    RAW FEATURE DATA: 3FEBFBFF
    SSE support detected!
    SSE2 Detected!
    HyperThreading Detected. Using 2-client setup.

    Even though this P4 doesn't have hyperthreading.
    CPU: AMD 64 3000+ DTR @ 2750
    MB:
    DFI Lanparty UT 250GB

    Memory: 2x 1GB G.Skill PC3200

    Video:
    Radeon X800XT-PE w/ Maze 4 GPU

    Hard Drives:
    36GB Raptor (Main) 160GB Hitachi (Storage)

    Optical Storage:
    44x CD, 8x DVD-RW

    Sound:
    Audigy 2 ZS
    Case & Power: Black Chieftec FT w/ Window, Antec TP 430
    Watercooled WW, Pro Core (2) 120mm Deltas, Hydor L20
    Windows XP Professional x64 Edition

  15. #15
    Member Mr.Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Currently on a silent vacation from overclocking.
    I've finally figured out what's wrong with the HTT detection. I just searched Intel's site for information on cpuid. Apparently it returns true on the HTT bit if the processor's microarchitechture supports HTT, reguardless of weather or not it's enabled. You have to make a seperate cpuid call to get information on weather HTT is enabled.

    I'm going to declare this round of debugging/testing over. I'll repost a new beta version when I have all the features added. So far I've got CPU detection, logging, and automatic downloading working and I should have the rest of the inastller finished by the end of the week at the very most.
    Last edited by Mr.Radar; 04-25-04 at 04:37 PM.

  16. #16
    Member Xenocide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    looks good here on my backup rig, 750 duron @ 825

    found an AuthenticAMD CPU
    RAW FEATURE DATA: 183FBFF
    no SSE support detected
    no SSE2 support detected
    no HyperThreading support detected
    3DNow! extensions found!
    no x86-64 support detected
    A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •