Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2004

    my PC is acting weird [?]

    Hi all...
    I've got a problem since ages but now that Summer is coming here i took more care of it...

    Well yesterday i had an AthlonXP1800+ with GreenCooler(4800rpm) and i had 75C @ IDLE and i really thought it was my motherboaerd or something but well.. as my computer was a bit old i bought Athlon XP (Barton) 2600+ Asus A7N8X-X + Thermlatake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition....

    i was happy cuz i thought iwont have more temperature problems but .... after instlaling those things i got:

    70C @ Bios
    45C @ AIDA32 (CPU)
    82C @ CPU Diode

    wtf means DIODE? and i think i shoudl take care of it, but HOW ??
    cuz its unbelivable for me buying a new procesor, motherboard & volcano and having that huge temperature..

    help me if you can, im really worried

    thanks in advance

    p.s: maybe this helps? http://clanih.free.fr/temp.jpg
    Last edited by Souzou; 05-15-04 at 06:26 AM.

  2. #2
    Disabled CandymanCan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Woodbridge, Va
    For now i would go into the bios and Underblock the Cpu, to about 1100mhz and lower the vcore even more.

    Resset youre Heatsink, did u put AS5 or AS3 or whatever AS you have on thing ? Make sure its a small layer.

    To me it sound like u dont have the heatsink on right. Judging this is the second proc that super high in temps are u sure u dont have the Heatsink on backwords ?

  3. #3
    Member lemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Intel Production Line, Malaysia
    Use your finger! touch your heatsink! is it feel hot to touch? If you only feel slightly warm, I suggest you have to reseat your heatsink and apply some AS5 of regular thermal compound.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    by heatsink you mean my cooler?(volcano)... soz im spanish and my english is not too good

    if you mean that i touched it and its not hot, maybe its nearly cold o_o

    oh and btw i used the thermal compound that was brought with my volcano... dont know if its as5 or as3, or nothing of those?


    p.s: i've put off mycooler and took the thermal compound and put it again... but still the same

    p.s2: i've ran ASUS PROBE and says that my CPU Temp is 45.. but it doesnt show DIODE... Do i have to believe that? or i have to believe BIOS? (i think bios )

    p.s3: p.s: other problem that i haveis that my Mhz are @ 1920 and the norm of 2600+ is 21xx or 20xx right?
    myFSB is 166Mhz and multiplier is 12.5, but its weird cuz 12.5 acts the same as 11.5

    i changed that in bios tho
    Last edited by Souzou; 05-15-04 at 09:43 AM.

  5. #5
    Member lemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Intel Production Line, Malaysia
    If your CPU is hot but your heatsink isn't, that mean the CPU can't properly conduct it's heat to the heatsink, that's made the CPU running hot. Your temp is 45 while idle?

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    my temp is 70C (in bios) and CPU Diode in windows is 80C (atm only navigating)

    im going to try with my old Green Cooler hope me luck :/


    p.s: i've tried my GreenCooler and...... its still the same, no luck CPU DIode's Temp & BIOS are too high
    Last edited by Souzou; 05-15-04 at 10:19 AM.

  7. #7
    Member lemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Intel Production Line, Malaysia
    Good luck to you!

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    not much good luck, with my green cooler, wich runs alot of rpm slower my diodes temp was 88C and processor 56C

    with my volcano its procesor 45C diode 80C
    so it doesnt seem a heatsink problem

  9. #9
    Member Steven4563's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Northants England
    have u got the heatsink on backwards

    the reason your chip only runs at 1.9ghz is becuase it has 512K L2 Cache unlike the t-bred or pallys which have 256K
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester @ 250x10 = 2.5ghz 1.55V Cooled By XP-120 & YS-TECH FD1238 Fan
    MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum Edition
    Corsair XMS TwinX 1Gig 2x512Meg PC4400 Ram @ 416Mhz 2,2,2,6 1T
    Hercules 3D Prophet 9700NP 128Meg ( Bios Flashed To 9700Pro With VGA Sliencer )
    480Gig Hard Drive Space
    MSI 16x DVD Drive
    Artec 52x CD-RW Drive
    Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
    Antec PlusView 1000AMG Metallic Gray Case
    Antec TruePower 550watt PSU ( New Version )
    Windows XP Pro SP1
    3DMark2001SE: 23014


    4.9GHZ Of AMD Power For Overclockers.com Boinc Seti Team.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    now igot my volcano back and im running IDLING at:

    CPU temp: 42C
    CPU Diode: 76C

    yeah i foudn out that later lol thanks anyways...

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Glasgow
    That is still a bit on the warm side.

    Do you have some sort of monitoring program for watching the temperatures in Windows? My Abit came with Hardware Monitor 2.7 or something like that.

    Anyway, it has a case temp reading, you want that low as possible. If you have case temperatures of 40C or something like that then fit more case fans. Just pushing a bit more colder air into the case can work wonders.
    CPU.......... Athlon 3000XP @ 210*12 (1.775V)
    RAM.......... 2x512 MB TwinMOS PC3200 CL2.5
    Graphics.... ATI Radeon 9600 XT 256 MB
    Mobo........ Abit NF7-S
    Storage..... SATA Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 160Gb
    Cooling..... Coolermaster Jet 7


    Help save the world - crunch for Find-A-Drug.

  12. #12
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    I would flash your BIOS to the latest revision--this really sounds like an indication problem to me.
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  13. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    my case is opened at all in the floor lol :/ how would i put fans in it XD

  14. #14
    Member lemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Intel Production Line, Malaysia
    It is better not to keep your case open at all the time and properly install case fans to obtain positive air pressure and air flowing pattern in your case.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •