Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004

    HELP! building new rig for 2 grand

    Case:
    ANTEC Black Solution Series ATX Mid-Tower Case with 350W Power Supply - $89

    CPU:
    Intel Pentium 4/ 3.2E GHz (prescott) - $275

    Mobo:
    CHAINTECH "9CJS ZENITH" i875P - $159

    Videocard:
    Radeon X800 XT Platinum edition - ~$500(whenever the heck i can get ahold of one )

    Soundcard:
    Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS - $88

    Primary HD:
    Western Digital Raptor 36.7GB 10,000RPM SATA Hard Drive - $111

    Secondary HD:
    Western Digital 120GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive - $99

    Optical drive:
    Plextor Black 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive - $85

    RAM:
    4x Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200 - $528

    FDD:
    SONY Black 1.44MB 3.5inch Floppy Disk Drive - $15

    Keyboard/mouse:
    Microsoft Black Multimedia Keyboard & Wheel Mouse Optical Bundle

    im photoshop fiend and a gamer and also enjoy downloading massive amounts of music and i love digital photography. ill be engaging in a smidge of overclocking, probably nothing crazy (nothing that requires crazy amounts of cooling).

    Comments/suggestions/questions please! thanks guys

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Hmmm... looks very nice.
    You should definitly get a new power supply tho. You need AT LEAST 400W to run all that stuff... you might have no problems with 350W, but I don't think that a good idea... at all.

    Maybe get another raptor and put them in RAID 0?
    And maybe get a DVD drive?

    Everything else looks awesome.

    Btw, welcome to the forums.
    E8400 @ 3.6GHz
    Asus P5Q Pro mobo
    Corsair Dominator 4GB PC2-8500
    Sapphire HD 4850 @ 650/1075
    2x320GB Samsung RAID 0
    Audigy 2 ZS
    Enzotech Xtreme-X CPU cooler
    Corsair 650TX Power Supply

  3. #3
    Insatiably Malcontent
    Senior Member
    johan851's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Looks pretty good to me. DVD drive would be nice, like termin@tor said. Otherwise...go with it.
    ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
    y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
    Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004
    just found a dvd drive for 25 bucks so ill probably add that on.

    i would do 2 raptors in raid 0 if it werent for the cost. i think a smaller yet ultra fast drive for my OS games and apps and a slower but larger drive for media is a decently cost effective way to go, would you guys agree?

    good tip on the powersupply, i was worried about that myself. any suggestions? looks like i can get some fairly beefy ones on newegg for under 80 bucks, just dont know how accurately some of these are rated. what are some good PS brands?

    thanks for the help and the welcome

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    For power supply, good brands are Antec, Forton, Sparkle, Enermax, and Thermaltake.

    Personally, I think Antec is the best.

    Here are 2 pretty good Antec ones:

    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-914&depa=1

    or, if you want cheaper:

    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-908&depa=1
    E8400 @ 3.6GHz
    Asus P5Q Pro mobo
    Corsair Dominator 4GB PC2-8500
    Sapphire HD 4850 @ 650/1075
    2x320GB Samsung RAID 0
    Audigy 2 ZS
    Enzotech Xtreme-X CPU cooler
    Corsair 650TX Power Supply

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    thats an expensive cdrw.

    did you look into dvd-rw? for .raw images, mp3s, and whatever else. you can get a dvd rw for cheaper than that cdrw you listed.

    I got a liteon dvd/cdrw for 51$.

    nice PC otherwise. I learned my lesson 3 years ago about 2000$ PC's. after a year it was just slightly more advanced than a year old 1000$ PC.

  7. #7
    Member tom10167's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT
    Two gigs of ram? Not needed AT ALL, one gig is enough, I promise, you will not use it all, there's $250 saved.

    You're doing video editing, so I would not recommend RAID 0 AT ALL, I rather like your setup, but with the money you saved you can get a 250GB hard drive now, AND change out the 36gig Raptor for a 74 gig.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Two gigs of ram? Not needed AT ALL, one gig is enough, I promise, you will not use it all, there's $250 saved
    My bro had 2 gigs in one of his rigs.
    That PC runs smoother than anything I've ever seen in my life.
    For the stuff he's doing, I think 2GB would be very nice.
    E8400 @ 3.6GHz
    Asus P5Q Pro mobo
    Corsair Dominator 4GB PC2-8500
    Sapphire HD 4850 @ 650/1075
    2x320GB Samsung RAID 0
    Audigy 2 ZS
    Enzotech Xtreme-X CPU cooler
    Corsair 650TX Power Supply

  9. #9
    Member R0CK3TM4NN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Columbus, OH - GO BUCKS!

    Re: HELP! building new rig for 2 grand

    Originally posted by LoN


    FDD:
    SONY Black 1.44MB 3.5inch Floppy Disk Drive - $15
    Floppy drive? People still use these things? I've never been in a situation where I've needed a floppy for almost 3 years now. If I'm not mistaken, that chaintech board comes with a media card reader...that would be enough, right? Save the $15 for some super-cool cables, I guess.

    Other than that, you're system looks sweet. If you're not gonna overclock, then I think the ram would be fine. If you were going to o/c wouldn't it be better to get 1 GB of faster ram? (3500-3700)? Or if money is no object, 2 GB of the "good stuff?"

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Thanks for all the comments and suggestions guys, im taking them all to heart and trying to finalize this thing

  11. #11
    Member t_biggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Appleton, Wisconsin
    Have you looked at the Athlon 64 route? If you're a gamer (which I'm guessing by the fact there is a X800 XT Platinum) it should perform better. You'd be able to get a 3200+ and save $5 for the processor, and a Gigabyte GA-K8NS PRO and save $20. That kind of money is just a drop in the bucket if you're building a rig for $2,000, but hey, it's $25 you can put to buying another game, and almost every benchmark I see for gaming, Athlon 64s beat Pentium 4s.

    But, if you're going to do a lot of video editing and media encoding, ignore me.

  12. #12
    Member tom10167's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT
    In his first post he states that he does a lot of Photoshop as well, too "all-around" for AMD in my eyes. I still do not recommend two gigabytes of memory for a Photoshop system, has anyone ever used more than 1 gig?

  13. #13
    Member secretweapon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Edmonton
    You can easily use up 2 gig of ram if you do open a few projects with multiple layers in photoshop. For photo editing the more ram the better.

  14. #14
    Member Sophisticated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Missouri
    with the MOBO you should go with Asus P4C800-E Deluxe for $179.....i wouldnt go with the prescott as it will be HOT mayb go with a regular 3.0c and do an EASY oc to 3.2 ..this will be faster then buying a stock 3.2 plus it's cheaper...you should also go with PC POWER & COOLING Turbo-Cool 510 Deluxe...this will be a bangin system!!
    AMD Athlon XP 2.1 GHz
    1gig pc3200 hynix & generic
    120GB samsung HD
    48X DL Lightscribe
    A7V8X-LA (Kelut)

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004
    http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.c...id=1535&page=1

    pretty much convinced me to dump the 3.2 prescott in favor of an at least an athlon 64 3200+ if not the 3400.

    i would say gaming performance is more important than photoshop performance. with 2 gigs of ram i dont think the cpu will make the real difference in photoshop performance.

    would anyones suggestions change if this were viewed more as a pure gaming rig than an image/video editing rig?

    again, thanks for all the attention, you guys are really helping me alot

  16. #16
    Member tom10167's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT
    All right, if this is like a 75/25 or even a 60/40 don't bother with two gigs of ram, seriously, that's such a waste of cash, I don't know what type of Photoshop work you do, but one gigabyte is definitely enough, it just might not be the absolute amount you'd ever need, you know? The 3400+ is also a waste, the difference in performance between the 3400 and the 3200 is minimal, the price difference is not. Same can be said about the 3000 and the 3200, though I'd take the 3200 if I could afford it. I don't even think AMD boards support four sticks of ram.

  17. #17
    Member Agent_Mull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Leawood, KS
    I know my old GA-7N400 had 4 DIMM slots. I agree with Tom tho, 1 gig of ram is fine, and with that extra $200 you save, get another Raptor.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Originally posted by secretweapon
    You can easily use up 2 gig of ram if you do open a few projects with multiple layers in photoshop. For photo editing the more ram the better.
    Exactly!

    And, if you're gonna go A64, get a chaintec nforce 3 250 mobo, you'de be really happy just like this -->
    E8400 @ 3.6GHz
    Asus P5Q Pro mobo
    Corsair Dominator 4GB PC2-8500
    Sapphire HD 4850 @ 650/1075
    2x320GB Samsung RAID 0
    Audigy 2 ZS
    Enzotech Xtreme-X CPU cooler
    Corsair 650TX Power Supply

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004
    ill admit that 2 gigs of ram is overkill, but i dont think i can be talked out of it

    now i need a good mobo for the athlon 64 3200+...
    the chaintechs look very nice, but also very pricey (for the top model) and only 3 slots for ram which means i would have to change to 1 gig sticks which means even more money

    anyone know of a nice athlon 64 mobo under 150, with 4 slots for ram and onboard ethernet?

  20. #20
    Registered fatccrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    the deep south
    i like the gigabyte nforce 3 250 chipset personally... its about 135 on newegg but it only has 3 ram slots... and it does have onboard ethernet... ive been looking for a mobo with 4 ram slots myself but cant seem to find one

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •