Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    207

    Anyone Benchmarked Hyperthreading.....

    I was just wondering if there have been any solid comparisons of various multitasking programs with A64 and a P4 with hyperthreading, all the reviews of processors have one program or another running, but no two at once. I know P4 should have better results, but I want to see how much better. Any personal insights are always welcome too.

  2. #2
    Senior Seti Addict TC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    7,504
    Quote Originally Posted by @/2ct!<
    I know P4 should have better results, but I want to see how much better. Any personal insights are always welcome too.
    Better at what? That's a very broad statement. The top of the line P4 and A64 are relatively close in many things. The A64 wins some and the P4 wins some. A lot of reviewers have included benchmarks with HT enabled. Are you looking for a particular program?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    207
    I just meant with two + large programs in general, I was looking for like a suite of tests with like encoding& gaming, photoshop and encoding, etc. I just want to know how much better hyperthreadings is on average than non hyperthreading.

  4. #4
    Senior Seti Addict TC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    7,504
    Anandtech would be a good place to start. If you like soap operas head on over to [T] or [H]

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    129
    Here's a thread that deals with the subject:

    http://forums.anandtech.com/messagev...&enterthread=y

    Typical gains from running two CPU intensive applications simultaneously on a HT processor are about 10-30% increase in throughput.

  6. #6
    Disabled CandymanCan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Woodbridge, Va
    Posts
    3,148
    That a big increase, AMD should have put something on the cpu's like Hyperthreading, cuss if they did they would be leadng in 3d apps which they are now and tied or better in Multi apps.

  7. #7
    Member DayUSeX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    1,656
    just wondering, is it legal for amd to put somethign like hyper threading in? isnt that like a patent infrignment(even if its a differnt name).

    And again its better to say what you are doing. Personally if you think you are goign to need a system with HT, just get an SMP you will be muhc more happier.

  8. #8
    Disabled CandymanCan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Woodbridge, Va
    Posts
    3,148
    Yea but putting something like that the proc's we all buy is just an Added bonus, specially if the A64 had it, the proc would be just a Unstapable monster

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    207
    Quote Originally Posted by DayUSeX
    just wondering, is it legal for amd to put somethign like hyper threading in? isnt that like a patent infrignment(even if its a differnt name).

    And again its better to say what you are doing. Personally if you think you are goign to need a system with HT, just get an SMP you will be muhc more happier.
    Not really, they have cross liscencsing agreements, which is why AMD uses x86 and why Intel has no problem using x86-64. I personally wouldnt multitask much, I was just curious at how effective it was just in case..

  10. #10
    Senior Member Avg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    NY, Long island
    Posts
    4,503
    Maybe they didn't include it in there processor because they plan to make dual cored cpus instead. (I hope)

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Amsterdam, NL
    Posts
    1,792
    It's called SMT, and no it's not really patented, just some different ways of putting it into a processor are patented.

  12. #12
    Member dguy6789's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Merritt Island FL, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    HT helps a P4, because it has such a long pipeline, some data doesnt get to the end in time, and must start over, leaving extra room in the pipe. HT prepares data to take that place if the first set of data goes back, so that no matter what, the entire pipeline of the cpu is in use, therefore being much more efficient.

    HT would not benefit that athlon 64 at all, as it has a very short, and super efficient pipeline system, and data that gets sent back(if any) will be back where it was before any SMT technology could replace if with something else. That is why amd doesnt use it, nor intend to any time soon.

  13. #13
    Member Yuriman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    The OCFORUMS
    Posts
    8,071
    I was reading this post and was getting ready to reply when I saw dguy's post. I wouldnt have explained it the same way, but in general he is right.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •