Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Normal Member Foxie3a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    3,028

    Upgraded from P2 to Cellery 2.2

    I think that I'm the only person here that has a Celeron.. lol

    I got a good deal on it with an Asus P4B266.

    It runs Windows stable at 133x22=2.9ghz. Although, last night I think that it restarted on its own, not sure though. Its kept at 100F-ish temps all the time, and is at 1.575v.

    Currently my RAM is limiting me from going to 3ghz or above.

    Prime95 didn't even last a minute though, and RAM is at stock.

    Think I should even try 1.6v? I'm so familiar with my P2 I dont know anything about this celeron.

    But dont worry guys, I'll get a better mobo with a REAL P4 soon.
    Dual Xeon E5-2643 3.3Ghz/10M/8.0GTs
    Supermicro X9DA7, 32GB ECC/REG
    Radeon 7970 3GB (MSI Lightning version)
    Triple 24" LCDs
    Areca 1680 = 6x Agility 3, RAID5 (~700mb/s)
    Storage: 14TB of WD-RE in Synology, plus SAS RAID1.
    Corsair AX1200i, Digital PSU
    Asus Xonar PCI-E <- Digital -> Denon Receiver -> Floor Standing Speakers

  2. #2
    Registered amical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    19

    Wink

    I have a celeron 2.4@2.8 it is limmited by my PC2700 Ram that is Generic. The cpu temp is 32 C/89 F (air cooled). You have a huge jump in mhz that needs a higher voltage tweek, (you should do a full load test again with the 1.6v or higher). But getting higher rated ram will help if you decide to go higher. My CPU can get up to 3.0Ghz with the ram i have but works slower than at 2.8GHz.

    Hope it works out.

  3. #3
    Member Sjaak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    7,032
    Your CPU will need (much) more voltage.

    Seen cellys hit 4Ghz+ on 1.9v
    'Apparantly reality has a strong liberal bias'

  4. #4
    Disabled CandymanCan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Woodbridge, Va
    Posts
    3,148
    Run prime95 to see ifi ts stable. I usally run ti for about 5 hrs before overclocking the cpu or memory more.

  5. #5
    Member theflyingrat's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Paul, MN, USA
    Posts
    1,094
    The Northwood Cellies are like the Northwood P4s in that you can "safely" (give or take that expression) give them about 1.65v before they begin to either slowly wear out or flat-out die. Of course, they won't always do this; you just run a much greater risk of this happening.

    I had a 2.0 Cellie for a while that ran 2.8 all day and all night. Which reminds me... what did I do with that thing? I can't even remember if I sold it or what! Oh, well. It was a fine machine for some gaming (with my old Ti4200) and miscellaneous putzing around.
    ASUS P8Z68-V LX ; Core i7-3770K @ 4.3GHz ; 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1600 ; ZeroTherm ZT-10D ; Sapphire Radeon HD 7950 ; Samsung 830 256GB + 840 EVO 250GB ; Rosewill HIVE-550 ; Windows 7 Ultimate

    2005 Kawasaki Z750S | 2011 Kawasaki ZX-6R | 2008 Yamaha WR250X

  6. #6
    Lancelot's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    2,056
    I built a rig for my bro-in-law with a Celly2.4 that instantly ran 3.2Ghz 133FSB, and is now not even topped out at 3.25Ghz 135FSB with 1.575Vcore. It's on my old Asus P4P800 board so I guess it's the only Celly with dual-channel RAM in these forums, lol! Still my kids' rig with a P4 1.7Ghz Willamette (256kB L2, 400FSB) and PC133 SDRAM (yeah baby!) is getting the same daily average SETI WU output...
    :: Xeon E3-1220v2 @3745 on Asus P8H77-V with 8GB Corsair DDR3 @1712

    Folding User Stats

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •