Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 64 bit

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NE Ohio

    64 bit

    I have a P4 2.6
    ASUS P4800 DELUXE
    Would it it be worth it to upgrade to a AMD 64 BIT System?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Abington, PA
    I wouldn't say so. You can overclock that now and buy a A64 later when prices fall.

  3. #3
    Member Aphex_Tom_9's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NY (Long Island)
    yep

    MONOLITH - Xeon W3540 (testing) - Rampage 2 Extreme - 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 - GTX 570 - 120 GB OCZ Vertex - Antec TruePower New 750W - Corsair 700D - Apogee XT - XSPC 360
    Hack1nt0sh - Core2Duo E4600 (11x335 : 3685) - 4 GB G.Skill (894) - HD 3850 (810/2120)- Asus P5W DH - OSX86 10.5.1 / Win 7
    MacBook Pro - i7 2.66 - 4 GB - GT 330M - OSX 10.6.4

    Opty 148 3504mhz
    Core2Duo 3917mhz

  4. #4
    Member Yuriman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    The OCFORUMS
    If you overclock your current cpu you can keep up with the A64's fairly easily. You can use the extra registers yet anyway, because XP 643 isnt out yet. That is, unless you are a linux buff.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NE Ohio
    How long do you think it will be before a 32bit processor will be obsolete?

  6. #6
    Member kiyoshilionz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Wheaton, IL
    LONG time. There's people still out there with Pentium III's. Not to mention that the P4's are going to be around for a long time. Once Intel starts making their new processors 64 bit, then it'll start to phase over into 64 bit. But even when that starts happening it'll take a while for the P4's to become outdated.

  7. #7
    Member Contra's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    The Alamo City
    Author Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by kiyoshilionz
    LONG time. There's people still out there with Pentium III's. Not to mention that the P4's are going to be around for a long time. Once Intel starts making their new processors 64 bit, then it'll start to phase over into 64 bit. But even when that starts happening it'll take a while for the P4's to become outdated.

    heck i see people with PII's and older like 386 and can you beleave they
    use this for everyday computing like we use ours...lol


    i guess if it is good enough, and fast enough, (for them) then why change

    lol
    AMD Athalon II X4 630 2.8, Gigabyte-GA890XA-UD3
    Radeon HD 4850 2 GiG, G.SKILL Sniper 8GB DDR3 1600, 2 TB HDD, Thermaltake TR2 RX850, 40" Widescreen LCD

    Ubuntu 13.10/Windows 7 Ultimate

  8. #8
    Member JCLW's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Back in Toronto
    PIIIs forever!!!

    um... yeah...

    Back to the subject at hand...

    No, I don't think it would be worth upgrading.
    ♫♪ ☺ ♫♪

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Planet Mars
    You buy Athlon64 for current 32-bit performance = good idea.

    You buy Athlon64 for future 64-bit OS / computing = bad idea.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •