Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 61
  1. #1
    Member Zatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer
    Posts
    2,085

    installing the PROCESSOR

    is the processor just a single chip or is it a actually component. if so is installation easy? like do i just fit it into a slot on the mother board?

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Member dead_man311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Some where in Michigan
    Posts
    2,676
    open the tab and the CPU will only go in one direction, look at the pins one the CPU ans socket and you will tell which way it goes in. set in let is silde in slowly dont force it in and then once all the way in lower the lever to lock it in place. at paste or if using Heatsink with thermal pad then no need for paste. then instal heatsink

  4. #4
    Member Zatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer
    Posts
    2,085
    will i have to clear the cmos also? this seems ALOT harder then it seems worth it. i already have my hardrives and stuff. the cmos and bios part is freaking me out. i thought the most i would have to do it format it. am i wrong?

  5. #5
    Member sagitta85's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    230
    If everything new and never been used? If so, you don't need to clear the CMOS.

  6. #6
    Member Zatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer
    Posts
    2,085
    the processor and motherboard and ram and case is new

    my 2 hardrives, cd burner, power supply, and video card have been used

    what does this mean

  7. #7
    Member Zatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer
    Posts
    2,085
    *waits*

  8. #8
    Member speed bump's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Montana tech Butte mt.
    Posts
    2,761
    Ok you should have no problems booting, However after you boot you will probably get a CMOS error of somekind and the the options of entering setup or ignoring it. When this happens select the enter setup. You will be sen't into the bios of your Mobo. To find out exactly what you need to configure consult your Mobo manual. This should hopefully explain what you needed.

    If this doesn't help or you don't get exactly what I said then I would google "how to build a computer" you will probably find several guides that break this down to extremely simple steps.
    Happy O?c
    Big changes coming: Intel e4300, DFI Blood iron, Crucial DDR2-8500, ATI x859xt, MCW-6002>Ehiem 1250>Bip3 with 3 nidec beta Vs, Sunbeam Zorro, Corsair 650 watter
    Stuff I should be using but don't: Finally got around to running that stuff.

    Ever run a benchmark? support our forums by posting it in the 3dmark team and system benchmarking team sections.
    My heatware

    Silence may be golden but performance is platinum

  9. #9
    Member Zatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer
    Posts
    2,085
    what happens if ignore it?

  10. #10
    Member SavageBasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Northeast PA
    Posts
    2,311
    then your computer will BLOW UP!!!!

  11. #11
    Member speed bump's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Montana tech Butte mt.
    Posts
    2,761
    Your CPU will probably have been booted at 66mhz or 133mhz bus speed since it is your first boot it will probably stay that way unless corrected and all the little stuff that you will really need to have set correctly for optimum performance might not be right. I.E. graphics apature size, cas latency, and hardware monitoring capabilities.

    the bios is also where you will be changing your our different settings to O/C
    Big changes coming: Intel e4300, DFI Blood iron, Crucial DDR2-8500, ATI x859xt, MCW-6002>Ehiem 1250>Bip3 with 3 nidec beta Vs, Sunbeam Zorro, Corsair 650 watter
    Stuff I should be using but don't: Finally got around to running that stuff.

    Ever run a benchmark? support our forums by posting it in the 3dmark team and system benchmarking team sections.
    My heatware

    Silence may be golden but performance is platinum

  12. #12
    Member Zatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer
    Posts
    2,085
    is it pretty straight foward the bios? and do i change the bios BEFORE i format OR AFTER!

  13. #13
    Member SavageBasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Northeast PA
    Posts
    2,311
    Read the manuals!!!!!!!

  14. #14
    Member gustav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Folding in Illinois
    Posts
    1,511
    Quote Originally Posted by Zatrix
    is it pretty straight foward the bios? and do i change the bios BEFORE i format OR AFTER!
    shouldnt overclock until after a fresh install. if your OC isnt stable it can currupt your install.

  15. #15
    Member Zatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer
    Posts
    2,085
    ? im not gonna be overclocking at all. i never overclock my cpu. maybe my videocard but not my cpu. YAY no format for me

  16. #16
    Member SavageBasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Northeast PA
    Posts
    2,311
    If your not going to overclock then why the heck are you on this message board?

  17. #17
    Member gustav's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Folding in Illinois
    Posts
    1,511
    Quote Originally Posted by Zatrix
    ? im not gonna be overclocking at all. i never overclock my cpu. maybe my videocard but not my cpu. YAY no format for me
    wait, are you saying your just going to plug in your hard drive from your old rig into your new one? if thats the case, yes you have to format because your drivers from your old computer will be on the drive. always reformat after building a new rig or replacing a major hardware component (except the cpu, but things like motherboard, vid card, sound card always reformat).

    i have to agree with savage basher. these forums are all about overclocking. sure theres some help with general things, but the name of the forums should give you a clue what we're all about. theres other forums out there that are made specificly for general hardware questions which would be a better place to get some help IMO. why wont you overclock the processor? at stock, todays processors will probably last 15 years or so. if your run it at load all the time (distributed computing) then it might go down to 10 years. if you overclock and run it at load, probably 5-10 years. your not planning on keeping your new rig for that long are you?

  18. #18
    Member Zatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer
    Posts
    2,085
    no im not. maybe 3-5 years.

  19. #19
    Member Zatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer
    Posts
    2,085
    can someone tell me some forums for help on hardware? im not allowed to post here anymore? or ask these questions?

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    296
    not all the computers here are overclocked your good to ask questions and such don't worry about it

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •