Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004

    Strange Memory Error when playing CS

    Error: "The instruction at [XXXX] referenced memory at [XXXX]. The memory could not be read."

    That is the error I keep getting after about 2 minutes of playing Counter-Strike through steam. CS then quits automatically. I never got this error before and I have not changed anything on my computer. Anyone seen anything like this before? I primed my computer for about 8 hours with no errors so I should be stable. I want to test the memory and I know everyone likes to use memtest86, but what version do you use and how do I use it to test my memory. Sorry for being such a noob.

  2. #2
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    a few others are having this issue. See this post on the Steam forums: http://www.steampowered.com/forums/s...threadid=96483

    I did not read through the 380 odd posts to find a solution however.

  3. #3
    Member Tebore's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Toronto,Canada(I can see you....)
    Those kind of errors are usually software errors. Blue screens will mean it's hardware.
    UMPC:
    Asus EEE 701(4G)
    Laptops:
    Lenovo T60p
    Servers:
    IBM XServ
    Heatware

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Thanks for the help guys. According to the steam forum, this problem is happining to lots of people. I went to my friends house and updated his steam and the same thing happened to him. So I am assuming that Steam is messed up and they need to fix that crap ASAP!!!!

  5. #5
    Yeah, it happened in all of our scrims yesterday. Stupid bug needs to be fixed ASAP

  6. #6
    Member [DAD]MeR|iN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Nebraska
    same here. Its the update... we get to have fun until they fix it....

  7. #7
    I also get this i just thought it was thanks to my 256 stick of dell ram

  8. #8
    Senior Overclocking Magus felinusz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Taiwan
    I have had this problem as well, although not in CS.

    It has only ever happened to me on one specific map in Warcraft III - weird, eh?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •