Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member MuEagle05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    494

    HELP! flash drive problem

    Ok so yesterday i formatted my USB flash drive to NTFS. Well i removed it by clicking the taskbar icon and stopping it. So i come in this morning and plug the USB drive back in, and it just keeps giving an error 'no disk in drive'!! I can't format it, open it, anything. Same thing on several computers.

    Does someone know how to fix this? OMG i hope so i'm desperate

  2. #2
    The Half Asleep Member Stedeman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Lewiston Maine
    Posts
    2,408
    Not 100% on this but I think most flash is not meant to be formated too NTFS, only FAT and FAT32? I would call / check the web site of the maker of the flash mem to see if there is a tool you can use. Or try another reader.

  3. #3
    Member MuEagle05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    494
    Yeah it's reading as a removable drive but says there's no media in it, so the web-site utilities won't even work. Well, I'll try DOS or Linux, i have a slight hope it might get me somewhere. If not, i'll kick and scream for a bit, buy a new one, and be able to post what the inside of a thumb drive looks like when i smash the old one against the wall.

    : :

  4. #4
    Member MuEagle05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    494
    Nope, no luck with Linux, can't mount it. F I'm screwed. AND a kick in the balls is not only do i lose all my data, I have to buy a new thumb drive. Snap.

  5. #5
    The Half Asleep Member Stedeman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Lewiston Maine
    Posts
    2,408
    You could try to RMA it. I know all my thumb drives have some level of warranty and I would think they have a way to "low level" (take it back to original) format them.

  6. #6
    Senior Member el's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    USA Capital
    Posts
    2,650
    does it show up in Admin tools->computer management-harddrive?
    MOBO > Asus Sabertooth 990fx r2 bios
    CPU & Cooler > 8350 vishera
    MEMORY > Corsair 16gb ddr3
    POWER SUPPLY > Corsair 600W CX600
    VIDEO CARD > Sapphire 5450 1GB ram
    HDDs/Optical drives > 8 drives over 8TB
    SOUND DEVICE > Onboard
    USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
    O/S > windows 7 Ultimate
    Case > Antec P180 with lots of 12cm fans running

  7. #7
    Member MuEagle05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    494
    Yes it does. Instead of under the Removable storage section. I can see that it's plugged in, but it wants me to insert media, kind of like a zip drive would work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •