Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 34
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    220

    Horizontal or Vertical Rad?

    In the planning stages now, was wondering on placing a rad horizontal vs vertical? I have heard of a few people claiming that it is hard to bleed a rad that is horizontal? I have a Chieftec Dragon Full tower, and have contemplated putting a 77 Bonneville heatercore in the top and either exhausting the air out the top or pulling the air in. The other alternative would be to remove the lower drive bay and place this rad vertical in the front of the case. All feedback greatly appreicated!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Parma, OH
    Posts
    932
    If you use the bonneville heater core, you might lose both drive bays. I'm putting one in an Antec SX835 case which is the same basic frame work as the Dragon. Here are a couple photos

    Last edited by fhanderson; 08-07-04 at 05:50 PM.
    1.2G Celeron at 1740
    Asus TUSL2-C
    P4 650, 4.42G
    DFI LP 875-PT
    OCZ PC 4200
    P 930D at 4.2G
    P5WD2 P OCZ DDR2 667

  3. #3
    Member thorilan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Japan/Daytona Beach
    Posts
    3,819
    yes bleeding is more dificult.
    fundimentaly you should have your rad at the mid point in your loop as you want the air to leave the rad but air travels upwards so its hard for it to get out of the highest point of the loop

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    220
    Quote Originally Posted by thorilan
    yes bleeding is more dificult.
    fundimentaly you should have your rad at the mid point in your loop as you want the air to leave the rad but air travels upwards so its hard for it to get out of the highest point of the loop
    Makes sense. Has anyone ever modded a rad to have a neck like a real auto radiator, so it could be bled and filled from the neck?

  5. #5
    Member Guderian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Ft Worth - Texas
    Posts
    507
    Has anyone ever modded a rad to have a neck like a real auto radiator, so it could be bled and filled from the neck?
    I know someone put a third barb in the tanks, if thats what you mean.

    Wasn't that you Thorilan? Or Weapon?

    Gigabyte 7N400-Pro2 | +2500 @ 2.2Ghz | 1.70 vCore | Radeon 9600 stock
    Lian-Li PC 60 | 512 Kingston 2-2-2-6 | Swiftech 5002 and MCW20
    FEDCO 2-302 | Cardboard Shroud | 2 Delta 120's @ 7v | Eheim 1250

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    220

    Want me!

    Quote Originally Posted by Guderian
    I know someone put a third barb in the tanks, if thats what you mean.

    Wasn't that you Thorilan? Or Weapon?
    Wasn't me. I wasn't actually thinking of a third barb. Just a neck out the top of a vertical mount res with a cap, just like a car radiator.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    220
    Quote Originally Posted by fhanderson
    If you use the bonneville heater core, you might lose both drive bays. I'm putting one in an Antec SX835 case which is the same basic frame work as the Dragon. Here are a couple photos

    Ive got the full tower version, but it looks like the dimensions are the same below the 5-1/4 cages. Roughly about 13 inches.

  8. #8
    Member Como's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,642
    i'm in the process of putting a 77 benneville rad in my case (like yours only not the full version) that puts it in the bottom but will not remove iether drive bay.

    Notice the 2" gap between the drive cages and the mobo tray. Notice the 6" gap between the mobo and the front of the case. Notice the 12" gap between the bottom of the case and the 5.25" bays.

    Its gonna be a tight one, but thats where i'm putting one. (i'd like to add two more later, and i know where to put em )
    This space is for rent.*


    *I'm Lying

  9. #9
    Member thorilan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Japan/Daytona Beach
    Posts
    3,819
    wasnt me that put the drain valve in rad tank but was a good idea and i remember someone posting it too just cant remember name

  10. #10
    tricknasty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    468
    nice job on the heatercore. im using the same one in my case. just finished cutting off the bends and painting it
    Last edited by tricknasty; 08-08-04 at 12:47 PM.

  11. #11
    Member DeViL_909's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    1,144
    Not sure, but painting the fins could be a bad idea. May hurt temps a little bit. I painted the outside of mine, but had masked all the fins off.

    Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4
    ----- Water Cooling with D5 Pump
    E8400 (3.0 ghz)----- On Storm CPU
    VisionTech 3870------- On Maze 4 acetal GPU block
    4 gig Gskill DDR2 (2x2)
    2x 80 gig SATA HD (raid 0) and 1x 80gig Raptor

    HEATWARE

  12. #12
    tricknasty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    468
    oh my fins arent painted, i covered them, only the sides/top/bottom are painted.

  13. #13
    Member trip0d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Michigan State Uni
    Posts
    367
    the only thing im wondering about is how u wuld mount the drives again..i know there are 3.5 to 5.25 adapters..but im not sure of how else to put the drives in...3+ drives and 1 or 2 roms would be very very tight

  14. #14
    Member CAPiTA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    225
    I'm in the process of placing the rad vertical instead of horizontal. Having the rad at the top was making things too difficult: The system was too hard to bleed and temps were not what they could be. I would rather loose all my 3.5" bays than my 5.25" ones. I lost two 5.25" bays when I mounted the rad at the top, which caused me to lose my fan controller and my DVD drive.

    Mounting it vertically is going to make it a lot easier for a number of reasons. First off, you'll be able to bleed the system much better and quicker than with the rad mounted horizontally.

    Secondly, It'll be able to silence the HDDs by using elastic bands that are stretched between the 5.25" bays. There was an article here on OCforums but I can't remember where it was. Can anyone provide a link?

    Additionally, temps will improve. You'll have enough room to install a shroud; something that I couldn't do with the rad mounted at the top.

    Finally, the noise level will drop due to the absence of the 80mm fans and the shroud.

    Hope that helps.

  15. #15
    Member Guderian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Ft Worth - Texas
    Posts
    507
    Can anyone provide a link?
    I know this isn't the one your thinking of, but its the same idea

    NOTE: Pics approx. halfway down the page.

    Gigabyte 7N400-Pro2 | +2500 @ 2.2Ghz | 1.70 vCore | Radeon 9600 stock
    Lian-Li PC 60 | 512 Kingston 2-2-2-6 | Swiftech 5002 and MCW20
    FEDCO 2-302 | Cardboard Shroud | 2 Delta 120's @ 7v | Eheim 1250

  16. #16
    Member Como's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,642
    i really hate to nag, but you can mount it vertically without loosing any drive bays, i'd be finishing mine today but i have a job interview i have to get ready for (yeah...time for a shower)

    my earlyer post described it...

    and instead of a shroud i'm using case intakes at 7V and using hte rad as an exaust. cant spread the air out better than that
    This space is for rent.*


    *I'm Lying

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    352
    I'm lucky to have a huge Antec 1240 case where I can place my hc at the top. Lost 3 bay spaces but that case has lots of bay spaces. to avoid bubbles, I try to fill as much as possible with the computer on it's side. It works pretty well.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    220
    Quote Originally Posted by nartac
    I'm lucky to have a huge Antec 1240 case where I can place my hc at the top. Lost 3 bay spaces but that case has lots of bay spaces. to avoid bubbles, I try to fill as much as possible with the computer on it's side. It works pretty well.
    My case is similar, a Chieftec Dragon full tower. I was thinking about putting
    it directly over the power supply. I have a 120mm blowhole centered in the top now, I may utilize that one and drill another one next to it back towards
    the psu.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    352
    Quote Originally Posted by 2Busy
    My case is similar, a Chieftec Dragon full tower. I was thinking about putting
    it directly over the power supply. I have a 120mm blowhole centered in the top now, I may utilize that one and drill another one next to it back towards
    the psu.
    that's exactly where I placed my 2-302 hc, brotha

  20. #20
    Member Cyrix_2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    College Park, MD (School) - Westminster, MD (home)
    Posts
    3,629
    Quote Originally Posted by 2Busy
    My case is similar, a Chieftec Dragon full tower. I was thinking about putting
    it directly over the power supply. I have a 120mm blowhole centered in the top now, I may utilize that one and drill another one next to it back towards
    the psu.
    I put mine there...
    Attached Images Attached Images  

    ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen3

    2500k @ 4.9ghz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

    vCore
    1.287 |Idle: 33c | Full load: 68c
    16gb Corsair XMS 3
    | Sapphire 6950 2GB UNLOCKED
    F O L D For Team 32!!

    Black belt Ubercloxx0r

    Audio Technica ATH-A900's
    "yet another issue with the R-series. If I actually use it on my lap, I can feel my sperm count dropping."
    SANS GSEC Certified

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •