Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Zerileous's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Kansas City, MO

    2 computers and 1 PSU??

    RetroUO and I have been looking at putting a mini-ITX secondary system into the upper regions of his massive antec server case. He will be getting a new 530watt fortron and would like to power a P4 3.0c, 2 hdds, 3 opticals, a vid or two, and case fans, along with the secondary via setup, from this single PSU. I am about 90% sure that the PSU has enough power. My first question is whether i am correct in this assumtion

    My second question is how would we go about setting up two computers to operate from a single PSU. Would this be possible? How could it be done?

    Thanks,
    Z.
    Main Rig
    |Athlon XP Barton 2500+ @ 200x11=2200 MHz @ Stock Vcore ~ SLK-947U w/ 92mm Enermax (64CFM) ~ Abit NF7-S Rev. 2.0 ~ 512MB PC3200 Mushkin Black Level 1 @ stock vdimm. 2-3-2-11 ~ ATI Radeon 9800 Pro with XT hardware and XT bios Mod ~ Onboard Soundstorm ~ Logitech Z640s ~ WD Special Edition 120GB ~ Samsung 5400rpm 40GB file drive ~ Sony DRU-710A Dual layer +/- DVD Burner ~ 16x LiteOn DVD-ROM ~ Logitech MX500 Optical Mouse|
    Lappy: Dell Inspiron 9300
    |Pentium M 1.86 Ghz ~ 1GB DDR II ~ nVidia GeForce FX Go6800 256MB ~ 17" Widescreen 9200x1200 ~ 60GB 7200RPM HDD ~ DVD Drive/CD Burner combo ~ Centrino a/b/g interal WiFi and internal Bluetooth ~ 2x 80watt/hour batteries|

  2. #2
    Member Lejend's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Well I wouldn't try it unless that Fortron could put out at least 40 amps on each of the +3.3, +5, and +12 rails. If it could, then I guess you'd have to split the motherboard leads into two splits. The easiest way to do it would be to hack up another psu to get the plugs and then splice it into the rail. Of course if you had another psu, I'd be easier to just install the 2nd psu.
    Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0Ghz
    Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4 Motherboard
    MSI Radeon HD 3870 512MB
    G.Skill 8GB DDR2 (PC2 6400) 5-5-5-15
    2x500GB WD Caviar SE16 7200RPM SATA HD (RAID 1)
    Windows Vista 64-Bit Home Premium

  3. #3
    Member ClarkKent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    I have no idea about power consuption problems. I do know that it is fairly easy. using 2x20 pin ATX power extension cables, to mod a 'y' adaptor cable to power 2 PSU's off of the same power supply. I haven't seen one retail but they might sell them. Let me stress again that I have no idea if it's possible to actually power the motherboards. I was just answering the second question.

    EDIT: I don't recomend hacking up you PSU. Just mod the extension cables to plug into your PSU and then out to both motherboards.

  4. #4
    Zerileous's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    How would turning on each computer work? any idea? Would turning on one turn on both, or could you still turn them on and off seperately?

    Lejend, i dont think the requirements are going to be that hefty. On mini-ITX.com they use small powersupplies that only supply about 40 watts to power one disk drive, one optical drive, and the board. Why would the massive power of a 530w fortron not be able to handle that much of an extra load?

    Thanks,
    Z.
    Last edited by Zerileous; 08-12-04 at 09:10 PM.
    Main Rig
    |Athlon XP Barton 2500+ @ 200x11=2200 MHz @ Stock Vcore ~ SLK-947U w/ 92mm Enermax (64CFM) ~ Abit NF7-S Rev. 2.0 ~ 512MB PC3200 Mushkin Black Level 1 @ stock vdimm. 2-3-2-11 ~ ATI Radeon 9800 Pro with XT hardware and XT bios Mod ~ Onboard Soundstorm ~ Logitech Z640s ~ WD Special Edition 120GB ~ Samsung 5400rpm 40GB file drive ~ Sony DRU-710A Dual layer +/- DVD Burner ~ 16x LiteOn DVD-ROM ~ Logitech MX500 Optical Mouse|
    Lappy: Dell Inspiron 9300
    |Pentium M 1.86 Ghz ~ 1GB DDR II ~ nVidia GeForce FX Go6800 256MB ~ 17" Widescreen 9200x1200 ~ 60GB 7200RPM HDD ~ DVD Drive/CD Burner combo ~ Centrino a/b/g interal WiFi and internal Bluetooth ~ 2x 80watt/hour batteries|

  5. #5
    Member Loud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Lynchburg, Virgina
    This sort of thing has been done quite successfully over in the Folding Forums. Look for threads over there on Folding Farms. In a nutshell, you buy two ATX extenders and build a 'Y' connector out of them. But there are more details ... some wires get connected ... others don't - better you should go read the posts by people who have actually done it.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    NJ,USA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •