Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    D11 Senior
    jonspd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ATL, Ga
    Posts
    7,456

    A64 Max Voltage On Air?

    Just woundering what do you guy's think a safe 24\7 max vcore is for a A64 cpu as long as the temp's arent breaking 50c. The reason I'am asking is I'am already @ 1.7 and temp's seem fine but I would like to work my way up to around 1.75-1.77 to maybe be able to run a clock speed of 2.5ghz or close to it. The IHS is removed so I dont think the cpu will stand as much of a chance of burning up with better cooling as it would with the stock situation.


    Jonspd

    GD70\PII955@1.4-----------------------------------------------EX58\920@1.3v
    17x200\2.2=NB\2k=HT----------------------------------19x200\True@40c\58c
    2x1gb@669@7-7-7-18----------------------------------2x2gb@800@7-7-7-21
    2405fpw\280's\evga\bfg----------------------------------2005fpw\2x9800gx2
    CorsairHX1000\74gbRaptor----------------------------FSP1010\150gbRaptor
    CreativeX-Fi-Plat\DvD-rw\Win-7---------------------------------DvD-rw\Win-7
    3dMark06=17,650-3dMark05=23,908-Aquamark=216k-Wprime32=6.9sc-Sandra=11kmbs
    My Heat---------------------------Folding@Home@Team32-----------------------My WebSite

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    104
    Well as long as your temps arent too high I dont see a problem but do not go above 1.8 on air. I take it you did a vcore mod. Because my max listed is 1.7v in the bios.

  3. #3
    D11 Senior
    jonspd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ATL, Ga
    Posts
    7,456
    Yes I did the vcore and vddim and cooling mod's before I posted with the board

    Most of the time I dont do that but for some reason I was really hoping it was all going to work out ok.

    GD70\PII955@1.4-----------------------------------------------EX58\920@1.3v
    17x200\2.2=NB\2k=HT----------------------------------19x200\True@40c\58c
    2x1gb@669@7-7-7-18----------------------------------2x2gb@800@7-7-7-21
    2405fpw\280's\evga\bfg----------------------------------2005fpw\2x9800gx2
    CorsairHX1000\74gbRaptor----------------------------FSP1010\150gbRaptor
    CreativeX-Fi-Plat\DvD-rw\Win-7---------------------------------DvD-rw\Win-7
    3dMark06=17,650-3dMark05=23,908-Aquamark=216k-Wprime32=6.9sc-Sandra=11kmbs
    My Heat---------------------------Folding@Home@Team32-----------------------My WebSite

  4. #4
    D11 Senior
    jonspd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ATL, Ga
    Posts
    7,456
    /\

    GD70\PII955@1.4-----------------------------------------------EX58\920@1.3v
    17x200\2.2=NB\2k=HT----------------------------------19x200\True@40c\58c
    2x1gb@669@7-7-7-18----------------------------------2x2gb@800@7-7-7-21
    2405fpw\280's\evga\bfg----------------------------------2005fpw\2x9800gx2
    CorsairHX1000\74gbRaptor----------------------------FSP1010\150gbRaptor
    CreativeX-Fi-Plat\DvD-rw\Win-7---------------------------------DvD-rw\Win-7
    3dMark06=17,650-3dMark05=23,908-Aquamark=216k-Wprime32=6.9sc-Sandra=11kmbs
    My Heat---------------------------Folding@Home@Team32-----------------------My WebSite

  5. #5
    Member Jess1313's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    The DFI AMD Forum......
    Posts
    1,898
    i would say 1.7 is a safe asumtion w/ your temps, a64 is still fairly new, and really i dont think that many have tested above 1.7 w/ air cooling. it would be up to you, a personaly pref to try above that. but i really think i would get scared above 1.8 on air......
    Folding for Team 32

    *Heat*

  6. #6
    D11 Senior
    jonspd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ATL, Ga
    Posts
    7,456
    Well I havn't used above 1.8 so far but I think I'am going to shoot for around 1.75 plus with the IHS already removed it's not like I can hurt it anymore then it already is. I'll be happy with 2.5ghz if it takes to much volt's and temp's are to high @ 2.5 then I will probably turn it back to around 2.45 so I can make the cpu last alittle longer.

    GD70\PII955@1.4-----------------------------------------------EX58\920@1.3v
    17x200\2.2=NB\2k=HT----------------------------------19x200\True@40c\58c
    2x1gb@669@7-7-7-18----------------------------------2x2gb@800@7-7-7-21
    2405fpw\280's\evga\bfg----------------------------------2005fpw\2x9800gx2
    CorsairHX1000\74gbRaptor----------------------------FSP1010\150gbRaptor
    CreativeX-Fi-Plat\DvD-rw\Win-7---------------------------------DvD-rw\Win-7
    3dMark06=17,650-3dMark05=23,908-Aquamark=216k-Wprime32=6.9sc-Sandra=11kmbs
    My Heat---------------------------Folding@Home@Team32-----------------------My WebSite

  7. #7
    Member Jess1313's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    The DFI AMD Forum......
    Posts
    1,898
    btw how much better are your temps w/o the IHS?
    Folding for Team 32

    *Heat*

  8. #8
    D11 Senior
    jonspd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ATL, Ga
    Posts
    7,456
    Well I have yet to see 50c+ full load sence I have removed it. With cpu @ 2.45 and 1.72 volt's about 44-46c full load.

    GD70\PII955@1.4-----------------------------------------------EX58\920@1.3v
    17x200\2.2=NB\2k=HT----------------------------------19x200\True@40c\58c
    2x1gb@669@7-7-7-18----------------------------------2x2gb@800@7-7-7-21
    2405fpw\280's\evga\bfg----------------------------------2005fpw\2x9800gx2
    CorsairHX1000\74gbRaptor----------------------------FSP1010\150gbRaptor
    CreativeX-Fi-Plat\DvD-rw\Win-7---------------------------------DvD-rw\Win-7
    3dMark06=17,650-3dMark05=23,908-Aquamark=216k-Wprime32=6.9sc-Sandra=11kmbs
    My Heat---------------------------Folding@Home@Team32-----------------------My WebSite

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •