Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    in da coochie!
    Posts
    15

    Need help.. plan not working.. (physics/pressure/problem?)

    Hello everyone. Thanks for checking this thread out. I have been assembling a watercooling unit with my spare time all summer and had what I thought a great plan for removing the water from the loop without having to turn the computer upside down or disconnect any hoses or anything.

    If you check the picture below, that is basically my set up.

    The heatercore is set up vertically in an internal box along with the pump. The reservoir is up at top just as you see in the picture. I created a Y-adapter that allows me to have either one of the two outlets either on or off (both can be on, both can be off, or one of each can be on while the other is off).

    The components I used were:

    CPU - MCW6002-A - 1/2 barbs
    NB - Danger Dan Maze4 - 1/2 barbs
    GPU - MCW50 with 1/2 barb adapters
    RAD - 77' pontiac bonneville heatercore (no a/c)
    Pump - AquaXtreme 50Z-DC12 from Cooltechnica.com with 1/2 barb fittings.
    Pump specs - Maximum Head - 10.5FT, Maximum Discharge 185GPH


    So the problem is that the loop operates fine when I don't have the Y-adapter going to the bucket. But when I want to empty the loop, switching the Y-adapter from the heatercore to the bucket while the reservoir is full doesn't do what I expected.

    I expected it to have the pump pump water from the water left in the loop all the way from the heatercore, around the cpu, gpu, nb, up in to reservoir with the water in there, down back to the pump, out through the hose into the bucket.

    However, this doesn't happen.

    When I do the switch on the Y-adapter, it will spill out of the hose with inital force for like 3 seconds, and then it will go down to a drizzle, although the reservoir does empty at the top and the pump sucks the water from the tube that goes from the res to the pump. But it leaves water in the CPU/GPU/NB loop and in the heatercore.

    Why doesn't the vacuum work where the pump will suck all the water out of the loop and heatercore before emptying out the reservoir ???

    I thought this would work and was told it would! Hopefully you can help with any ideas!


  2. #2
    Member SysCrusher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    622
    You ever looked under your sink counter and noticed the U in the drain. That's what you got going on there.

  3. #3
    Member joelkyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    ARIZONA
    Posts
    452
    Try disabling the line from pump to heatcore and tape the line and the heatcore inlet, make sure the the reservoir cap is tightly closed and so as the funnel cap.

  4. #4
    Member Guderian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Ft Worth - Texas
    Posts
    507
    Does the Y act as a valve, or is it a plain hollow Y?

    If its a valve, you need to give the loop someplace to take in air, and the closer to the Y the better.... though you won't drain the whole loop due to gravity.
    Last edited by Guderian; 10-02-04 at 02:33 PM. Reason: spellin'

    Gigabyte 7N400-Pro2 | +2500 @ 2.2Ghz | 1.70 vCore | Radeon 9600 stock
    Lian-Li PC 60 | 512 Kingston 2-2-2-6 | Swiftech 5002 and MCW20
    FEDCO 2-302 | Cardboard Shroud | 2 Delta 120's @ 7v | Eheim 1250

  5. #5
    Member Aphex_Tom_9's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NY (Long Island)
    Posts
    4,008
    oh i see what's going on...when you start pumping the water out, the res will empty, but the water will remain in the rest of the system because there's no suction. waterpumps cant move air.

    MONOLITH - Xeon W3540 (testing) - Rampage 2 Extreme - 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 - GTX 570 - 120 GB OCZ Vertex - Antec TruePower New 750W - Corsair 700D - Apogee XT - XSPC 360
    Hack1nt0sh - Core2Duo E4600 (11x335 : 3685) - 4 GB G.Skill (894) - HD 3850 (810/2120)- Asus P5W DH - OSX86 10.5.1 / Win 7
    MacBook Pro - i7 2.66 - 4 GB - GT 330M - OSX 10.6.4

    Opty 148 3504mhz
    Core2Duo 3917mhz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •