Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    ||Console||'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Halifax, NS

    MOD for desktops to become Mobiles

    Asus z87-Plus
    4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
    Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
    Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
    Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
    Corsair Tx750 V2


    " If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn

  2. #2
    ...

  3. #3
    Disabled theMonster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    At the pub
    Ok, read the article and this is my conclusion:
    Putting an XPM into a desktop makes sense because lower watts+less heat=massive overclocking.
    Putting an XP desktop proc into a laptop is just doing the reverse of the above, which serves what purpose? To say it can be done? To get a higher PR rated chip into a laptop??

    Very interesting, but stupid.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Amsterdam, NL
    ....I just saw toms hardware call the slk800a "low end" compared to a zalman 7000Cu. Maybe low end in cost, but far from low end in qualiity and ability

  5. #5
    Member cetoole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    There are many problems in that article, like mobile chips being much smaller than desktop chips. While there are some that are much smaller, mine is the same size. I have heard about this mod before, but I think it only works on via chipsets.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Amsterdam, NL
    In other words, completely worthless for overclockers. Honestly though, what's the point of underclocking something to 300mhz? Setting a record for underclocking! Great, unfortunately, however, AMD already showed an athlon running at that speed, it's called the Geode. Ya, I really do not like Tom's hardware guide, but whatever, however I don't see too many people really worrying about modding into a mobile, as a pure bread mobile will offer much better overclocking due to the binning than adding multipliers.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Canberra, Down Under
    Nothing particularily new in that article ... people have been doing this for close to a year now, and it was known what to do right back in the Palomino days (though there was no reason to do it back then). The main reason to do this is that if you live outside the US, it's very hard or impossible to get mobile Athlon XPs. For example, here in New Zealand, a Barton 2600 (which is cheaper than a 2500, ironically enough) costs around $NZ130. Since there's no local retailer who sells mobile CPUs, the only option is to order it in from overseas (and even that isn't easy as very few retailers will do international orders). Last time I checked, this would have cost in the order of $NZ300. I kid you not.

    So, if you're wanting to have a mobile-like chip for power-saving reasons, then filling the bridges is your only option. Also, if you want to run a modern chip at its full potential in older boards, then you need to mobilise the chip to be able to use non-stock multipliers. This particularily applies to dual Athlon boards, which are limited to a 150MHz FSB or lower.

  8. #8
    Member oc_byagi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Quote Originally Posted by theMonster
    Ok, read the article and this is my conclusion:
    Putting an XPM into a desktop makes sense because lower watts+less heat=massive overclocking.
    Putting an XP desktop proc into a laptop is just doing the reverse of the above, which serves what purpose? To say it can be done? To get a higher PR rated chip into a laptop??

    Very interesting, but stupid.
    isn't this mod all about unlocking desktop chips???

  9. #9
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Oil Country
    THAT wasted 6 minutes of my life I won't get back.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Prague, Czech Republic, European Union
    Quote Originally Posted by oc_byagi
    isn't this mod all about unlocking desktop chips???
    I found this nearly a year ago. THG simply put it on their website, used my chipset registers info and description of the problem and "forgot" to mention source of that info. Answer to your question:

    1. It is useful on superlocked CPUs because this way you can change multiplier even on those. FSB, however, is still a limit.

    2. You can control max. performance and that is also max thermal power with this. For example difference between 2000 and 1000 MHz at full load can be more than 10 degrees Celsius.


    But... what is important - with this you do not alter idle power consumption (eg. what is the most important factor for silent PC in night, for notebooks ect.). That is because normal situation is CPU is in Stop Grant state (when it is not disabled and it isn't on most of newer boards) and it's frequency is reduced to much lower values than 300 MHz. For idle power reduction you would need SoftVIDs to be supported by motherboard but as I do not know of any such a mobo...

  11. #11
    Member cetoole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    So you still need 1.65v to run at 300mhz, right?

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Prague, Czech Republic, European Union
    You can lower voltage but not on-the-fly what means basicaly you can not change voltage.

  13. #13
    Member cetoole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    But don't you still have to boot at stock speed, so need the voltage that is required for that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •