Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member realtadiquantu's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Irvine, CA

    2 linksys routers? extend signal

    First of all
    I have a Linksys BEFCMU10 cable modem connected to my Linksys BEFW11S4 V.2 router
    everything is working fine, but I have some wireless clients and with 128 bit encryption the singal strength is a little sketchy.
    The 2nd router I have is a Linksys BEFW11S4 (no version # like my other).
    Could I plug it into the 1st routers uplink port and set the encryption to the same and point the extra antennas? any thoughts on what else it could be used for
    serious uses plz.

    -thanks
    Last edited by realtadiquantu; 10-29-04 at 12:05 AM.

  2. #2
    Member realtadiquantu's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    come on, thought you guys were smart

  3. #3
    Member matrixzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    CA
    To my knowledge, no you can't boost the signal of one SSID with another wireless router. You'd be best buying some distance boosting antennas and/or you can put one wireless access points on one side of the building, and run a cable to the other access point and viola, instant broader access. The only bad thing to that is you'll have to switch to the other access point. You can set windows xp to automatically switch once you lose signal from the other one. It'd just be a problem if you have the SSID broadcast turned off. Good luck with it. I know I'm having a heck of a time with my wireless network.
    Team 32 Contributor.

  4. #4
    Member Kaso's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    England, Yorkshire
    If you have Multiple APs that have RJ-45 ports, you can wired them together (i think you'd have to use Crossover cable) then if you set em all to the same SSID i should work.
    There may be some other thing you hav to do i've never tryed this

    But it can be done, i mean at college they have 7 different APs on the same network

  5. #5
    jcw122's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    USA
    isnt there such thing as a wireless network extender made by linksys? most wireless companys sell those....
    "YES! I AM INVINCIBLE!!!"
    Folding for Team 32!
    Gaming Nick: new_Faction64 or CharminULTRA
    CPU-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 2.0Ghz@2.2Ghz (was 2.4) Socket 754, VENICE
    Memory-Crucial Ballistix 2x512MB @ 220mhz 2.5-2-2-5
    Motherboard-No Idea My DFI Died
    Video Card-MSI ATI 9800XT---412/390(was 424/395)---w00t! Flashed
    PSU-Forton Blue Storm 500w

    Currently Air Cooled w/ Scythe Ninja and AC VGA Silencer
    R.I.P. Project: Humidity
    Heatware

  6. #6
    Member Kaso's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    England, Yorkshire
    There is the wireless relay thingy, i'm not sure but i think its only linksys, However its wifi so it'll work with anything.

    However from what i head they pritty much suck and they kill the bandwidth

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    I didnt like my first post so here it goes again..

    You could try to use this firmware www.sveasoft.com. With this firmware you can do anything you ever wanted to with your router... currently i only think it supports the WRT54G and the WRT54GS and some other routers. But you might not even have to extend your network because

    "The Sveasoft firmware adds a host of new features to your Linksys WRT54G or WAP54G router - including power boost up to 900% from stock firmware!"

    But if you wanted to you could just buy more WRT54G(S) and they can act as repeaters for you with this firmware.. just read the faq if you have questions.. and if that doesnt answer them then email the sveasoft ppl

    Eddie

  8. #8
    Member chittnp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Sandy Creek NY
    I agree with Cytomax, grab a wrt54g and some 2nd party firmware, but beware, if you crank up the signal strength too much, you could toast your router, and may be in vioaltion of the limitations the FCC has on wireless transmitters. you can also check out firmware from www.wifi-box.sourceforge.net or www.openwrt.org
    there was a little write up about 2nd party firmaware in this months maximum pc, if you want to check that out, hope this helps

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •