Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23
  1. #1
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    417

    which fortron 550 or 530

    I like to know which one of these fortron PSU is more reliable and better

    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-968&depa=0

    or

    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-982&depa=0

  2. #2
    Member enduro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Montgomery Alabama Yall
    Posts
    3,305
    What are you going to be using it on? Given several of the most recent threads, the Fortrons, Antecs, and other psu's now don't supply enough amperage on the 12V rail to support a A64 setup. So if you plan on going A64 anytime soon, pick up a OCZ Powerstream 470 or 520W. Both have double the amperage of the Fortron. Otherwise, I own the Fortron 530W, and it works great. Haven't had to adjust my rails yet, because they are still rock steady.

  3. #3
    Senior Warranty Validity Sealed Stick Remover Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Saskatchewan
    Posts
    5,611
    Heatware Profile
    Depends what system you plan to use it with - for really high 12v draws, I'd use the 550w, but for most systems the 530w is more than enough. They're both very sturdy units.
    Asus P8Z68 Pro-V Gen3
    2500K w/ Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
    16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
    Inwin GRone, Corsair AX860i
    MSI 280X, Asus 270 2GB
    250GB Samsung 840 Evo, 640GB WD Black, 2TB Samsung F4, 3TB Seagate 7200.14
    Lite-On iHAS324, LG BH14NS40


  4. #4
    Unoriginal Macho Moderator nikhsub1's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    9,678
    Uhh, the 550W is for dual Xeons only... "Fortron 550W EPS12V PSU, Supports Dual Xeon CPU, Model "FSP550-60PLN" -OEM"

    The 530W is the one to get for AMD or P4. I'm sure you could get some adapters for the 550W, but that is a hassle.
    Loading Signature ...

  5. #5
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    417
    I'm using for A64
    6800gt
    8 high cfm fans
    audigy 2
    1 gig ram,
    so which psu you guys recommand, don't want to spend too much on PSU

  6. #6
    Senior Warranty Validity Sealed Stick Remover Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Saskatchewan
    Posts
    5,611
    Heatware Profile
    Go with the one you can best afford - they will both easily handle the system. The 530's 18a@12v rating is very conservative.
    Asus P8Z68 Pro-V Gen3
    2500K w/ Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
    16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
    Inwin GRone, Corsair AX860i
    MSI 280X, Asus 270 2GB
    250GB Samsung 840 Evo, 640GB WD Black, 2TB Samsung F4, 3TB Seagate 7200.14
    Lite-On iHAS324, LG BH14NS40


  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Sunnyvale, California
    Posts
    219
    Quote Originally Posted by s002wjh
    I'm using for A64
    6800gt
    8 high cfm fans
    audigy 2
    1 gig ram,
    so which psu you guys recommand, don't want to spend too much on PSU
    how many hard drives?

  8. #8
    Senior Benchmark Addict
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Posts
    10,656
    Quote Originally Posted by enduro
    Given several of the most recent threads, the Fortrons, Antecs, and other psu's now don't supply enough amperage on the 12V rail to support a A64 setup. So if you plan on going A64 anytime soon, pick up a OCZ Powerstream 470 or 520W
    I still call big time BS. My Fortron 530W never lets my +12v go below 12v, and my Clawhammer is even more power hungry than the newer Winchesters, especially along with the level of voltage I feed it.
    El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway

  9. #9
    Ad Rock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Montréal, PQ, Canada.
    Posts
    2,030
    Quote Originally Posted by Gautam
    I still call big time BS. My Fortron 530W never lets my +12v go below 12v, and my Clawhammer is even more power hungry than the newer Winchesters, especially along with the level of voltage I feed it.
    Good to hear Gautam I was looking into getting one of these PSU's and then the warning of A64 problems kinda scared me. Good to hear the Forton is still the price/performance king.
    "Because of you my lady named fame, people spot me like nerves spot pain."

    Heatware:

  10. #10
    Member enduro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Montgomery Alabama Yall
    Posts
    3,305
    I still call big time BS
    I'm getting this from Sententials thread. He's having psu problems, and recently purchased the OCZ Powerstream. I'm saying buy that, because you won't have to upgrade your psu at all, for many years. Sen's tried an Antec 430 and 550W, and neither have supplied enough power. That's still up in the air though, because he hasn't recieved his OCZ psu yet. I'm glad to hear the I won't have to upgrade my psu though, I just bought my Fortron about a month ago.

    Here's the thread, just read pg 15 on up.
    http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.p...&page=15&pp=30

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,016
    I run my dualie on the 550w forton.... but its a EPS powersupply, which is a 24pin connector instead of a 20pin connector. So you'd have to go with the 530w... which is supports standard atx boards. i'm sure the 530w is also a good powersupply.
    Core i7 920 C0 @ 3.8ghz
    P6T Deluxe
    6gb 1600mhz DDR3
    Geforce GTX260 Core216

  12. #12
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    417
    I only got 1 HD, but I could get a 24pin-20pin adapter and use the 550w will that work?

  13. #13
    Member attack's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Dayton. OH
    Posts
    4,764
    Hmm...I'd be careful, because IIRC EPS PSU's don't have either the -5 or -12v RAIL...I tried doing a conversion with an antec 500 EPS PSU and I could only get PCI video cards to work and I'm pretty sure it was because there was no -5 or -12v rail.
    i5-3570k @ 4.5ghz WC'd
    MSI Z77A-G41
    R9 280X
    2x4gb PC16000
    256GB Samsung 840
    Sennheiser HDR-120's
    Dell U2713HM
    "Computer games don’t affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we’d all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitve electonic dance music..." - Kristian Wilson, Nintendo Inc, 1989

  14. #14
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    417
    okay than a fortron 530 is good enough?? or do I have to spend the extra to buy ocz powerstream

  15. #15
    Senior Warranty Validity Sealed Stick Remover Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Saskatchewan
    Posts
    5,611
    Heatware Profile
    The Fortron 550w has -5 and -12, not that they would even be used by a modern system. The 530w will do fine. No, you don't need to spend extra on the OCZ - they're getting popular, but aren't quite at Fortron levels of build quality yet.
    Asus P8Z68 Pro-V Gen3
    2500K w/ Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
    16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
    Inwin GRone, Corsair AX860i
    MSI 280X, Asus 270 2GB
    250GB Samsung 840 Evo, 640GB WD Black, 2TB Samsung F4, 3TB Seagate 7200.14
    Lite-On iHAS324, LG BH14NS40


  16. #16
    Member Zeke968's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    303
    I had big problems with my FSP-530 and RMA'd it after I think it killed two MSI K8N A64 motherboards. It was awesome with my AthlonXP rig, but the +12V demands of the A64 was too much for it.

  17. #17
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    417
    so the 12V on fortron is not enough for a64? so what PSU I should get OCZ?

  18. #18
    Member enduro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Montgomery Alabama Yall
    Posts
    3,305
    Yeah, the OCZ Powerstream 520 or the PCP&C 510. They both have powerful rails.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    639
    Heatware Profile
    Remember, everyone has an oppinion. Some have had great succes with Fortron on many differant systems, while some have had issues.
    I personally feel you can't go wrong with Fortron especially for the price.

    The new OCZ are nice, but expensive. I would get the new fortron 500 watt that has 30 amps on the 12 line . It also comes sleeved and with easy connect molex connectors.

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Sunnyvale, California
    Posts
    219
    If you need a strong 12V rail, I would get either the Sparkle FSP550-60PLG or the Antec True550-EPS12V. Both have 36A rating on the 12V rail. They're both EPS12V PSUs so get a 24pin to 20pin adapter.

    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-478&depa=0

    http://www.directron.com/antectrue550.html

    Make sure you're getting the EPS12V version of the Antec True550, and not the regular ATX12V version of the True550 which only has 24A on the 12V rail.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •