Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    12

    pc100 with pc133

    i was wondering
    if i mixed pc100 and pc133 chips on a pc100 board would it die, or work

    mixing used to work on older pc stuff, as long as it was faster

  2. #2
    Senior Member Placid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    3,856
    The speeds difference wont be a problem.
    Some brands of memory dont get along well together thou.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    12
    i am sure to buy the wrong brand.

    i found out what unresolvable hardware conflict meant when i tried to fit a soundblaster multimedia kit to a 286

    dead in the water

    then i tried it with a 386, the problem with a 386 is it was a lemon and they owe us all a refund,

    so they stand on the 5th amendmant.............

  4. #4
    Give me a break Senior
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,705

    Re: pc100 with pc133

    Originally posted by Ironic
    i was wondering
    if i mixed pc100 and pc133 chips on a pc100 board would it die, or work

    mixing used to work on older pc stuff, as long as it was faster
    No problem mixing those speeds. I had my setup like that for about 6 months without a problem.
    Thank you Baby. I love you.

  5. #5
    Jedi Knight Senior Über~PhLuBB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    1,713
    You can mix PC133 and PC100 with no problems, but it will run at 100MHz, not 133MHz.

    If you put PC133 RAM in a PC100 board, it'll run OK. I've never tried putting PC100 in a PC133 board though. With today's failsaves and moron-proof technology, I'd assume that the FSB would revert to 100MHz if you put any PC100 in a PC133 mobo along with PC133 RAM... the PC133 RAM would go to 100MHz to follow suit.
    Member of The Avatar Maker's Guild™
    Help your fellow Overclockers, Folding@Home Team 32!
    Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.6GHz / Asus P6T / Win 7 Pro
    6GB Muskin DDR3-1600 / Enermax 720W PSU
    300GB WD Velociraptor / SB X-Fi XtremeGamer
    2x eVGA GTX 280 SLI / Samsung 2233rz
    Anything worth stealing is worth paying for.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Phil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Bolton, UK
    Posts
    1,367
    the pc100 could probabally even run at 133mhz, it could even be 133mhz ram, I bought a pc100 cl2 crucial dimm and upon inspecting the memory chips I noticed they were 7.5ns or pc133 and the ram ran at 150mhz cl3 or 140mhz cl2, I also had a generic pc100 cl3 dimm that ran at 133mhz cl2 all at default voltage
    "Lets Blow This Facist Popsicle Stand!"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •