Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21
  1. #1
    Inactive Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    3,742

    Hey TranceBear!! Volt mod

    Hey Trance -

    I know you got your voltage mod done professionally and I think I'm wanting to do the same - I'm going to be coming into a little bit of money soon, enough for a dual Morgan mobo/CPU's/RAM setup which will become my primary box and I think I'm ready to have my KT7A-Raid voltmodded. What kind of person would I call to have this done, and how much did you pay for the service? Did you get yours with just a fixed resistor or did you get it done with potentiometers? In general I'm a little ticked that my PSU won't let my Athlon do more than 1.38 GHz w/o strange lockups and I also would like to be able to give my Duron that last little bit of juice it needs to get over 1 GHz.... any help you could give me would be appreciated. I'm not against mailing my mobo to someone but hopefully I'd like to find someone locally....

    Thanks, Man.

    SickBoy
    Used to be awesome
    Heatware

  2. #2
    Big Daddy Bear Senior TranceBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,242
    I took mine to a friend that works at a electronic recycler warehouse and they un-solder things that are important and recycle the rest. He solders many times a day. If you are friends with a tech at a computer repair shop I would start there. Normaly most people would not like to do this, but some may do it for about an hour bench charge. You might want to ask someone at a electronic supply house. We have many of them here and they are just as geeky as us but work with other circuit boards. If you need more help feel free to e-mail me.
    TranceBear@Luv2Rave.com
    AMD 9950BE Phenom 3.5ghz 1.47v 250x14 CPU For Sale
    Coolermaster V-8 41c Idle-51c Load
    Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX/SB750
    G-Skill 2x2gb DDR2-800 5-5-5-15-24
    2x74gb Raptors-2x750gb WD Raid-0
    Antec 1200 Case/ Antec 1000 Watt P/S
    What's Fragging? I Don't Play Games
    It's About Bragging Right's, Right?
    My Heatware 100% since 2002

  3. #3
    Inactive Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    3,742
    I think I found someone to do it - I just made a call to Brooks Electronics in Kansas City and the guy said he wanted to see the plans/procedures first but he said it sounded like something he'd do for me.... so cool.

    Should I have him do the mod with a potentiometer or with just a fixed resistor?

    SickBoy
    Used to be awesome
    Heatware

  4. #4
    Big Daddy Bear Senior TranceBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,242
    Well my knowledge of electronics is limited, I had him to the fixed resistor because this is what the mod asked for. If the other way is better go for it.
    AMD 9950BE Phenom 3.5ghz 1.47v 250x14 CPU For Sale
    Coolermaster V-8 41c Idle-51c Load
    Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX/SB750
    G-Skill 2x2gb DDR2-800 5-5-5-15-24
    2x74gb Raptors-2x750gb WD Raid-0
    Antec 1200 Case/ Antec 1000 Watt P/S
    What's Fragging? I Don't Play Games
    It's About Bragging Right's, Right?
    My Heatware 100% since 2002

  5. #5
    Arctic Silver Senior
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Kalifornia
    Posts
    2,479
    I would suggest using trimmers. Not all boards require the same resistance and you can undo the mod by turning the trimmers to full resistance. If you want, you can add a 1k trimmer in series with the 47k trimmer on Pin 7. This will make it easier to fine tune the voltage.

    Solder wires to Pin 7 and Pin 10 of the IC that controls the voltage to the CPU. Put a 47K trimmer (49 cents at Radio Shack part # 271-283) between each wire and ground. Use a spade lug or loop under a motherboard mounting screw for your ground connection. For convenience I suggest you mount the trimmers on a piece of breadboard and secure it to your motherboard tray with Velcro.

    Pin 7 controls the voltage, Pin 10 controls maximum voltage threshold. Turn the trimmers to full resistance boot your PC and start VIA Hardware Monitor. Set the polling interval to 2 seconds and slowly dial up the pin 7 trimmer until the voltage peaks. This should be about 2.1 volts. Then dial up the Pin 10 trimmer until your screen blanks and back it off a tad. Your PC will probably reboot when the screen blanks. Go back into VIA Hardware Monitor and dial the Pin 7 trimmer up to 2.3 volts. You may be able to go higher but I donít recommend it.

    Caution this will stress your cooling. Be careful or your CPU could end up a crispy critter. I also suggest buying a third hand device from Radio Shack to hold a pre-tinned wire to the IC leg while you solder. The magnifying glass on the third had will come in handy too. Get in and out fast so you donít toast the IC. Lay off the caffeine and if you are of age, have a beer a half hour before soldering to steady your hands.

    Be sure to tie your wires down to the board. After doing several boards, I finally screwed one up. The mod went fine but I snagged the wire to Pin 10 on the end of my workbench and ripped the IC pin right off the board.

    Here is a pic of the solder points:

    Knowledge is useless, itís what you do with it that counts.

  6. #6
    Member n2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    410
    man... thats really not very hard to do at all...

    and i'm not just blowin' smoke... i've soldered much tighter than you'd need to there... give it a try... or practice on a junk mobo first.

  7. #7
    Inactive Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    3,742
    Well, the dude I called said he'd do it for little to nothing depending on how hard it is.... I told him it was just soldering a pot to a couple IC wires and he said that was pretty simple....


    It'll just give me more confidence that it's been done right.

    SickBoy
    Used to be awesome
    Heatware

  8. #8
    Big Daddy Bear Senior TranceBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,242
    Originally posted by SickBoy
    Well, the dude I called said he'd do it for little to nothing depending on how hard it is.... I told him it was just soldering a pot to a couple IC wires and he said that was pretty simple....


    It'll just give me more confidence that it's been done right.

    SickBoy
    I agree, no problem with that!!
    AMD 9950BE Phenom 3.5ghz 1.47v 250x14 CPU For Sale
    Coolermaster V-8 41c Idle-51c Load
    Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX/SB750
    G-Skill 2x2gb DDR2-800 5-5-5-15-24
    2x74gb Raptors-2x750gb WD Raid-0
    Antec 1200 Case/ Antec 1000 Watt P/S
    What's Fragging? I Don't Play Games
    It's About Bragging Right's, Right?
    My Heatware 100% since 2002

  9. #9
    Member n2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    410
    next to nothing sounds right!.... i think you found yourself a good tech man... keep that aqquaintance!

    the ppl round here would be lookin' for $50 to tap that chip m8...
    goes to show ya what NY is like... and why i'm real glad...
    I'M OUTTA HERE! LOL

    seriously, sounds like he's a good dude...
    was quite a stroke of luck to find this guy.

  10. #10
    Inactive Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    3,742
    Originally posted by Colin
    I would suggest using trimmers. Not all boards require the same resistance and you can undo the mod by turning the trimmers to full resistance. If you want, you can add a 1k trimmer in series with the 47k trimmer on Pin 7. This will make it easier to fine tune the voltage.

    Solder wires to Pin 7 and Pin 10 of the IC that controls the voltage to the CPU. Put a 47K trimmer (49 cents at Radio Shack part # 271-283) between each wire and ground. Use a spade lug or loop under a motherboard mounting screw for your ground connection. For convenience I suggest you mount the trimmers on a piece of breadboard and secure it to your motherboard tray with Velcro.

    Pin 7 controls the voltage, Pin 10 controls maximum voltage threshold. Turn the trimmers to full resistance boot your PC and start VIA Hardware Monitor. Set the polling interval to 2 seconds and slowly dial up the pin 7 trimmer until the voltage peaks. This should be about 2.1 volts. Then dial up the Pin 10 trimmer until your screen blanks and back it off a tad. Your PC will probably reboot when the screen blanks. Go back into VIA Hardware Monitor and dial the Pin 7 trimmer up to 2.3 volts. You may be able to go higher but I donít recommend it.

    Caution this will stress your cooling. Be careful or your CPU could end up a crispy critter. I also suggest buying a third hand device from Radio Shack to hold a pre-tinned wire to the IC leg while you solder. The magnifying glass on the third had will come in handy too. Get in and out fast so you donít toast the IC. Lay off the caffeine and if you are of age, have a beer a half hour before soldering to steady your hands.

    Be sure to tie your wires down to the board. After doing several boards, I finally screwed one up. The mod went fine but I snagged the wire to Pin 10 on the end of my workbench and ripped the IC pin right off the board.

    Here is a pic of the solder points:

    Oops... I followed the guide from AthlonOC that said to solder the pot between pin 10 and ground (a mounting hole). Well, needless to say AthlonOC's guide doesn't work. I booted up and fiddled with the pot in the bios and with VIAhm and it wont male the vcore bude but it does make my computer flash off if I turn it far enough counterclockwise. I'll see if I can go back to the dude and have him put another pot between pin 7 and ground... can both ground wires from the pots go to the same mounting hole?


    SickBoy
    Last edited by SickBoy; 09-13-01 at 04:36 PM.
    Used to be awesome
    Heatware

  11. #11
    Senior Member proze's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Pretoria, RSA
    Posts
    918
    that sucks. let us know when you get it working!
    Athlon XP1700+ (133*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256MB Samsung PC2700 at 166Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 64MB, SBLive! Value, onboard Realtek 10/100 NIC.

    Duron 600@1102, Voltage-Modded A7V, 256MB at 142mhz CAS2, MTS Glaciator II, 64MB Gainward GF2 Pro, Maestro II PCI, CNET 10/100 NIC.

    PLUS more experience than your grandmother.
    Bow to me, for I AM ROOT!

  12. #12
    NAKED Overclockers Unite! Senior wild_andy_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Milton Keynes UK
    Posts
    1,192
    I've said it before and I'll say it again - ain't 1.85v enough ? Any grade A loons should buy something ready VModded such as 8KTA3Pro or 8K7A or get me to do the mod (for some reason I was trained to do these things !!!)
    MF570 SLI | 2 GB Corsair Twin-X DDR-2 800 | X2 3800+ | 7900GT | Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro | 3DMark05 - 9070 | 3DMark06 - 5011

  13. #13
    Inactive Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    3,742
    Originally posted by wild_andy_c
    I've said it before and I'll say it again - ain't 1.85v enough ? Any grade A loons should buy something ready VModded such as 8KTA3Pro or 8K7A or get me to do the mod (for some reason I was trained to do these things !!!)
    In a word... no. I can get my Duron to 970 MHz and I KNOW that thing can do a gig.... all it needs is just that little extra bit of voltage.

    In addition I am also kinda ****ed that my PSU craps out on my TBird when I jack it to 1380 or higher. I know an AXIA-Y chip can do way better than that. So yeah. I figure since I have an SK6 and my load temps are hovering right around 40 C right now, I've got a little headroom to work with as far as sending some extra voltage to the chip. I know when to quit though... there won't be any fried Bird around here.... (now some fried Duron... that may be a different story!! )

    SickBoy
    Used to be awesome
    Heatware

  14. #14
    NAKED Overclockers Unite! Senior wild_andy_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Milton Keynes UK
    Posts
    1,192
    Good good. I vmodded 8KTA3 back in March and yep - from a chip that did 933 to a chip that did 1050Mhz - it was good, but I see people here now attacking their boards with no knowledge of electronics and I'm thinking yikes!!! They're gonna hurt their board!! Stop them before they hurt anything !!!

    It's only 'cos I care.
    MF570 SLI | 2 GB Corsair Twin-X DDR-2 800 | X2 3800+ | 7900GT | Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro | 3DMark05 - 9070 | 3DMark06 - 5011

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    849
    Originally posted by wild_andy_c
    Good good. I vmodded 8KTA3 back in March and yep - from a chip that did 933 to a chip that did 1050Mhz - it was good, but I see people here now attacking their boards with no knowledge of electronics and I'm thinking yikes!!! They're gonna hurt their board!! Stop them before they hurt anything !!!

    It's only 'cos I care.
    thats a good thing

  16. #16
    Inactive Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    3,742
    Originally posted by wild_andy_c
    I see people here now attacking their boards with no knowledge of electronics and I'm thinking yikes!!! They're gonna hurt their board!! Stop them before they hurt anything !!!

    It's only 'cos I care.
    Thanks for caring...

    It's why I'm having a pro do the mod for me... he regularly solders flat pack IC's while repairing test equipment so soldering onto that voltage regulator chip for him is kinda like shooting the broad side of a barn, comparatively. I really don't want to give up my KT7A-R just yet... even though I'll be moving to dual Durons soon. With my limited soldering experience (I took Electronics I in high school and Robotics during the spring semester at college) I'm not about to risk frying my favorite mobo ever....

    SickBoy
    Used to be awesome
    Heatware

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Marshall, MO
    Posts
    336
    Hey sickboy I just noticed that you are in the KC area. Where is Brooks Electronics at?
    Last edited by Shep; 09-14-01 at 09:50 AM.

  18. #18
    Big Daddy Bear Senior TranceBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,242
    Some people may say that having somebody else work on their computer is not good. Well I prefer to actually have a working computer to play with and not one that is fried due to lack of electric knowledge. I would HIGHLY recommend that any soldering should be done with a good knowledge of electronics and the willing to go buy a new board when you fry it. There is no shame in having someone more experianced do this mod. Now if you need help in doing the "pencil trick", then you should take up basket weaving instead of overclocking.
    AMD 9950BE Phenom 3.5ghz 1.47v 250x14 CPU For Sale
    Coolermaster V-8 41c Idle-51c Load
    Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX/SB750
    G-Skill 2x2gb DDR2-800 5-5-5-15-24
    2x74gb Raptors-2x750gb WD Raid-0
    Antec 1200 Case/ Antec 1000 Watt P/S
    What's Fragging? I Don't Play Games
    It's About Bragging Right's, Right?
    My Heatware 100% since 2002

  19. #19
    Inactive Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    3,742
    Originally posted by Shep
    Hey sickboy I just noticed that you are in the KC area. Where is Brooks Electronics at?
    Brooks is in a little office in old town Lenexa.... they do repairs for electronics testing equipment. Voltmodding motherboards is not standard procedure for them.... I had to show the guy exactly what I wanted soldered and where. It wasn't a problem beyond that though... and obviously I won't hold him responsible if my motherboard or chip dies. But so far it's looking good, I just gotta go back today and get that extra pot put in on pin 7 of the voltage IC.

    If you want the phone number, they're listed in the yellow pages under "Brooks Electronics" or else I can email/PM it to you.

    SickBoy
    Used to be awesome
    Heatware

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Marshall, MO
    Posts
    336
    Thanks for the info I did the volt mod myself sometime ago and haven't had any problems I just wanted it for future referance if I screw something up I can't fix.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •