Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    CA

    Which of these memories is best @ ocing 3000 winchester?

    I'm planning on ocing a 3000 winchester soon. I would like some advice on which of these memories I should get. And which will give me the best results. I've settled on getting G-skill PC3200.

    This memory is rated at DDR400 CAS: 2-2-2-5, With DDR550 at CAS: 2.5-4-4-4-8

    G. Skill PC3200 $250.00: http://www.excaliberpc.com/pro...9&products_id=4246

    This memory is rated at DDR400 CAS: 2-2-2-5, With DDR550 at CAS: 2.5-3-3-3-7

    G. Skill PC3200 $295.00: http://www.excaliberpc.com/pro...9&products_id=4242

    This memory is the same as the one above but the product number says 1GBLF instead of 1GBLE and is 25 dollars cheaper.

    G. Skill PC 3200 $275.00: http://store.yahoo.com/digi4me/gs1gbkit5x2d3.html

    Ok, so my question is, would I be okay with buying the cheaper ram with DDR550 CAS: 2.5-4-4-4-8, or should I get the CAS: 2.5-3-3-3-7? Will it really make a difference from the faster CAS of the more expensive rams? I want to get up to around 2.6 ghz on air with the 3000 winchester. And i'm also very confused, whats with all the letters at the end of the RAM IDs....IE: 1GBLF, 1GBLE, 1GBLC....I'm guessing the higher the letter the better the ram? Anyone who is experienced in overclocking, please give me some advice as i'm totally new to overclocking. Any help would be greatly appreciated. And sorry for the long post.

  2. #2
    Contributing Member Sentential's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Midland, Texas
    Heatware Profile
    WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!!!
    ...and the sickness

    hmmm. First I'd avoid Gskill, ive hear mixed things about them. If you plan on buying any sort of Samsung TCCD based RAM (which is the best and the only capable of DDR600 and is what that Gskill you have listed uses) I'd look at either PQI or OCZ. Any other brand (as far as i know) uses inferior PCBs and ICs.

    Second.... 2.6ghz on a 3000+? I seriously doubt that, not unless you get awefully lucky (which I havent even on a 3200+)

    If you really want 2.6 I would get a 3500+ that will narrow the odds down significantally.

    The only 2 guys that have gotten 2.6 on their Winchesters with 3000+s are Osirus and Red2TA. Even at that they have a great difficulty getting their RAM to cooperate at the needed speed of 280+

    Also in addition what PSU are you using? Unless you have a heavy-duty 550W PSU you *are* going to need another one if your videocard is an x800/9800/6800.

    Attempting 2.6ghz on a 3000+ running 1:1 and *actually* getting it 100% stable is slim-to-none. If that is what you are looking for, you are going to be very disapointed. Most Winchesters do mid-to-low 2.5ghz using high end air cooling. I really hate to be the bearer of bad news, but 2.6ghz is unrealistic and 9 time out of 10 is *not* going to happen, much less running 1:1

    As promised here are the links to 2 RAM sets (examples)
    PQI TCCD PC3200

    OCZ PC3200 TCCD chips
    ^^ Speed isnt the real issue, it has everything to do with what chips are used. Despite the fact that both of these are rated @ DDR400 they are very capable and often reach DDR600 speeds without issue. Everyone on the forums will agree that either choice is the best money can buy at the moment.

    Since you will be looking for TCCD it is very simple. *ANY* RAM available at this momen that is rated at PC3200 and has the following RAM timings of: 2-2-2-5, is TCCD. So basically from there just pick the cheapest ones.

    I will say this, OCZ has a long history of having the fastest RAM on planet. If you really want high speeds with good timings, and money isnt an option, thats the stuff to buy.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Quote Originally Posted by Sentential
    WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!!!
    ...and the sickness

    hmmm. First I'd avoid Gskill, ive hear mixed things about them. If you plan on buying any sort of Samsung TCCD based RAM (which is the best and the only capable of DDR600 and is what that Gskill you have listed uses) I'd look at either PQI or OCZ. Any other brand (as far as i know) uses inferior PCBs and ICs.

    Second.... 2.6ghz on a 3000+? I seriously doubt that, not unless you get awefully lucky (which I havent even on a 3200+)

    If you really want 2.6 I would get a 3500+ that will narrow the odds down significantally.

    The only 2 guys that have gotten 2.6 on their Winchesters with 3000+s are Osirus and Red2TA. Even at that they have a great difficulty getting their RAM to cooperate at the needed speed of 280+

    Also in addition what PSU are you using? Unless you have a heavy-duty 550W PSU you *are* going to need another one if your videocard is an x800/9800/6800.

    Attempting 2.6ghz on a 3000+ running 1:1 and *actually* getting it 100% stable is slim-to-none. If that is what you are looking for, you are going to be very disapointed. Most Winchesters do mid-to-low 2.5ghz using high end air cooling. I really hate to be the bearer of bad news, but 2.6ghz is unrealistic and 9 time out of 10 is *not* going to happen, much less running 1:1

    As promised here are the links to 2 RAM sets (examples)
    PQI TCCD PC3200

    OCZ PC3200 TCCD chips
    ^^ Speed isnt the real issue, it has everything to do with what chips are used. Despite the fact that both of these are rated @ DDR400 they are very capable and often reach DDR600 speeds without issue. Everyone on the forums will agree that either choice is the best money can buy at the moment
    Actually, at the moment Mushkin Black Level II v2 is the only brand that uses the superior brainpower PCB. Which allows TCCD ram to respond positively to high voltage. Also, G. Skill is a great choice of ram: Not only is it highly overclockable, but it avoids extras such as heatspreaders. You really cannot go wrong with it, but just know that some more voltage-responsive TCCD will be coming out in the near future.

    deception``

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    I looked at your link to digi4me:
    apparently they have also different versions
    1GBLD - 2x512 MB PC4400 2.5-4-4-8 PC3200 2-2-2-5 $250
    1GBLF - 2x512 MB PC4400 2.5-3-3-7 PC3200 2-2-2-5 $275

    Assuming the specification is reliable,

    if the objective is best timing, get the $275 paying 10% more.

    if the objective is price/performance, the 10% more money won't get 10% more effective bandwidth, and much less for translating into overall system performance.

    Also, I think those timing numbers are specified for Intel CPU/chipset, they may be slightly different for A64.
    So check that first, it may be not much different after all for A64.

    Overclocking sandbox for A64 939 systems with Winchester and beyond
    A64 CPUs, chipsets, motherboards
    A64 Overclocking Result Collection
    Overclocking sandbox: Tbred B DLT3C and beyond
    - DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D, Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 3.00 GHz, highest clock 3.30 GHz, XP-90, G. Skill 4800 2 x 512 MB, X800Pro (Winchester 0447 CBBHD 2.83 GHz 314x9 1.52V)
    - ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0, Mobile Barton 2600+ IQYHA 0351 MPMW 2.71 GHz (225x12), 18/37 C, 1.89 V, SLK-947U 80mm Tornado (w/ fan control), 512 MB x 2 3500 C2 2-3-2-5, 9500 np -> 9700 np 360/311
    - ASUS A7N8X DLX, Tbred B 1700+ 0310 XPMW 2.56 GHz (205x12.5) 1.94 V, max at 2.6 GHz, SLK-800U + TT SFII, 48/40 28/26 C, 512MB 3500 C2 2-3-2-5 (retired)
    - Intel 8088 4.77 MHz 8bit CPU, 64KB memory, 1 MB HD, 5 1/4" floppy drive, DOS, 200 bps modem, 80x25 char display

  5. #5
    Member Optimus Prime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    In H377.... And there Is abunch of Thermaltake products here. Help!
    i say go with the ocz because they have a great warrenty service... i mean you might be paying more for it because of the name brand and the heat spreaders. But i speak from experience... they just replace your ram completly if anything goes wrong with it at all. It is sweet.

    As for Deception's comments... I stand behind just about anything that he says. and i totally agree with what he has said here. but one thing to keep in mind. the msi only allows 2.85 vdimm as with the abit av8 and the gigglebyte . so if you want to get some ram that would be more responsive to higher voltages... you need to either do a vdimm voltmod or pick up one of those ocz ddr boosters.

    my .02

    P.S. Welcome to our humble abode... thanks for joining up
    I'm the kinda guy that purposefully pronounces cache, like the car porsche, just to pissoff the rest of you off.
    Project:OptPrime
    Gaming:Opteron 165 || Asus A8N32 SLI Deluxe || MSI 7900GT || 1GB OCZ PC3200 Rev2 TCCD || Thermalright Air Cooling || Silverstone Case || Sony GPD G400, Nec 20.1" LCD || Audigy 2ZS Platinum || OCZ Powerstream 520
    FileServer:A64 Winny 90nm || MSI K8N NEO2 Platinum || EVGA 6800GT || 512 Buffalo BH-5 || Thermalright Air Cooling
    Take your oc out of your sig...
    Indiana University Bloomington Journalism/Computer Science School ALUMN
    Heat = DrkOptPrime

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    CA
    Quote Originally Posted by Sentential
    WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!!!
    ...and the sickness

    hmmm. First I'd avoid Gskill, ive hear mixed things about them. If you plan on buying any sort of Samsung TCCD based RAM (which is the best and the only capable of DDR600 and is what that Gskill you have listed uses) I'd look at either PQI or OCZ. Any other brand (as far as i know) uses inferior PCBs and ICs.

    Second.... 2.6ghz on a 3000+? I seriously doubt that, not unless you get awefully lucky (which I havent even on a 3200+)

    If you really want 2.6 I would get a 3500+ that will narrow the odds down significantally.

    The only 2 guys that have gotten 2.6 on their Winchesters with 3000+s are Osirus and Red2TA. Even at that they have a great difficulty getting their RAM to cooperate at the needed speed of 280+

    Also in addition what PSU are you using? Unless you have a heavy-duty 550W PSU you *are* going to need another one if your videocard is an x800/9800/6800.

    Attempting 2.6ghz on a 3000+ running 1:1 and *actually* getting it 100% stable is slim-to-none. If that is what you are looking for, you are going to be very disapointed. Most Winchesters do mid-to-low 2.5ghz using high end air cooling. I really hate to be the bearer of bad news, but 2.6ghz is unrealistic and 9 time out of 10 is *not* going to happen, much less running 1:1

    As promised here are the links to 2 RAM sets (examples)
    PQI TCCD PC3200

    OCZ PC3200 TCCD chips
    ^^ Speed isnt the real issue, it has everything to do with what chips are used. Despite the fact that both of these are rated @ DDR400 they are very capable and often reach DDR600 speeds without issue. Everyone on the forums will agree that either choice is the best money can buy at the moment.

    Since you will be looking for TCCD it is very simple. *ANY* RAM available at this momen that is rated at PC3200 and has the following RAM timings of: 2-2-2-5, is TCCD. So basically from there just pick the cheapest ones.

    I will say this, OCZ has a long history of having the fastest RAM on planet. If you really want high speeds with good timings, and money isnt an option, thats the stuff to buy.

    That was what I was thinking too. I wanted to go with the OCZ PLat Rev. 2 originally, but decided to go with G. skill because they're an unknown company and I think they're the underdog. Too many people use OCZ. I guess that's just me, I like to go with the underdog. Well if the OCZ do perform and overclock bette than the memories I listed above then I'll settle for OCZ.

  7. #7
    Contributing Member Sentential's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Midland, Texas
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by deception``
    Actually, at the moment Mushkin Black Level II v2 is the only brand that uses the superior brainpower PCB. Which allows TCCD ram to respond positively to high voltage. Also, G. Skill is a great choice of ram: Not only is it highly overclockable, but it avoids extras such as heatspreaders. You really cannot go wrong with it, but just know that some more voltage-responsive TCCD will be coming out in the near future.

    deception``
    Are you sure cuz I am almost positive that ONLY OCZ and PQI used Brainpower, where as Corsair / Mushy / Kingston / Gskill used the cheaper one. If I not mistaken there is an article on Anandtech about this...

  8. #8
    Contributing Member Sentential's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Midland, Texas
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Anandtech


  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    Yes I am sure. Here's the new OCZ coming out using Brainpower

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...kin+Brainpower

    Here's the thread commenting on the new PCB and it's correlation with high voltage.

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...kin+Brainpower

    deception``

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •