Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Member blackjackel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,265

    How do i take the gaps out of mp3's (i want to make them seamlessly loop)

    will provide short and long versions of this question (if you dont understand the short, read the long):


    SHORT VERSION:

    Goldwave inserts gaps in the music of MP3's (at beginning and end of each song) how do i get these gaps to go away?

    (cutting them away in goldwave and resaving dosent work because goldwave just puts them right back in)





    LONG VERSION:

    I have a bunch of WAV loops that loop seemlessly (you cant tell where it begins and where it ends, there is no gap in the music)

    I used goldwave to convert them to MP3's but they started "hiccuping", when i looked closer, i saw that the MP3 files that goldwave made had gaps in the beginning and end of every song...

    So i went into goldwave and i "cut" the gaps at the beginning and at the end of the songs and told goldwave to play them in a loop, and whalla! they loop correctly!!! It was the gaps that goldwave made that was the problem....

    But heres the catch.

    When i attempt to save the files as their respective MP3's Goldwave inserts the gaps again, effectively cancelling out what i just did!!!
    --------------------Hardware Specifications--------------------
    --CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6 GHZ --Mobo: P5K Deluxe --RAM: 8gig --HDD: 256GB SSD +1TB+1.5TB+3TB+500GB+2x150Raptor raid 1 = ~6.4TB --Vidcard: Radeon 4870 --PSU: TT Toughpower 1250W.
    --------------------cooling Specifications--------------------
    --Case: Cooler Master Stacker 830 --Watercooling rig: Corsair H50 (sealed kit) --Fan setup 8 X 120mm fans: 1 on HD's, 5 blowing on mobo, 2push/pull on radiator.
    --------------------Miscelaneous Links--------------------
    My HeatWare, My folding statistics,

  2. #2
    Senior Yellow Forum Rat
    pik4chu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Highlands Ranch, Colorado
    Posts
    4,587
    ummm try a different program, if all your doing is converting wav to MP3 there are tons of shareware and freeware apps that can do that for you and in my experience I dont see any "extra" stuff put into the songs. One I cna think of off the top of my head is 'Alto MP3 Maker' its shareware I beleive. can download it from www.tucows.om
    DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.0 (V8) | 6*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | eVGA 285 | 1.5 TB RAID 0 | Win7 64-bit (456Watts)
    Main Server (WIP): DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.6 | 3*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | 8*1.5TB in RAID 5 (283Watts)

    Folding User Stats
    Team 32 Countdown heatware

  3. #3
    Member blackjackel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,265
    This problem does not seem to be program specific.

    So far i have used a multitude of programs and they do the exact same thing, i have used:

    Goldwave

    Soundforge

    Audacity

    And all insert a gap in the mp3 at the beginning and end of the track.
    --------------------Hardware Specifications--------------------
    --CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6 GHZ --Mobo: P5K Deluxe --RAM: 8gig --HDD: 256GB SSD +1TB+1.5TB+3TB+500GB+2x150Raptor raid 1 = ~6.4TB --Vidcard: Radeon 4870 --PSU: TT Toughpower 1250W.
    --------------------cooling Specifications--------------------
    --Case: Cooler Master Stacker 830 --Watercooling rig: Corsair H50 (sealed kit) --Fan setup 8 X 120mm fans: 1 on HD's, 5 blowing on mobo, 2push/pull on radiator.
    --------------------Miscelaneous Links--------------------
    My HeatWare, My folding statistics,

  4. #4
    Member blackjackel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,265
    bump
    --------------------Hardware Specifications--------------------
    --CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6 GHZ --Mobo: P5K Deluxe --RAM: 8gig --HDD: 256GB SSD +1TB+1.5TB+3TB+500GB+2x150Raptor raid 1 = ~6.4TB --Vidcard: Radeon 4870 --PSU: TT Toughpower 1250W.
    --------------------cooling Specifications--------------------
    --Case: Cooler Master Stacker 830 --Watercooling rig: Corsair H50 (sealed kit) --Fan setup 8 X 120mm fans: 1 on HD's, 5 blowing on mobo, 2push/pull on radiator.
    --------------------Miscelaneous Links--------------------
    My HeatWare, My folding statistics,

  5. #5
    Member tom10167's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT
    Posts
    4,575
    Why can't you just leave them in WAV form? Wav files aren't THAT huge, especially when you're talking about <30 seconds.

  6. #6
    Zuzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Middletown, Ohio
    Posts
    1,592
    The gaps you are hearing is the program changing to the next song. You might try making one large mp3 file and then play it in a loop.

    Z
    CPU/MB - Core i7 2600k @ 4.7GHz (1.400v) on Asus P8Z68-V/GEN3
    RAM -16GB - G.Skill Ripjaws PC12800 9-9-9-24
    GPU - XFX HD6950 1GB (Stock)
    HSF - Dark Rock Pro 2
    PSU - XFX Core Edition 650w

    "Folding for Team32"
    ---------------------
    Zuzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  7. #7
    Member blackjackel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,265
    the big problem here is download speed. For the application that i will be using this for, i need the smallest filesize concievably possible.

    So a huge mp3 is not an option, also wav is also not an option.
    --------------------Hardware Specifications--------------------
    --CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6 GHZ --Mobo: P5K Deluxe --RAM: 8gig --HDD: 256GB SSD +1TB+1.5TB+3TB+500GB+2x150Raptor raid 1 = ~6.4TB --Vidcard: Radeon 4870 --PSU: TT Toughpower 1250W.
    --------------------cooling Specifications--------------------
    --Case: Cooler Master Stacker 830 --Watercooling rig: Corsair H50 (sealed kit) --Fan setup 8 X 120mm fans: 1 on HD's, 5 blowing on mobo, 2push/pull on radiator.
    --------------------Miscelaneous Links--------------------
    My HeatWare, My folding statistics,

  8. #8
    Member Celeron_Phreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    2,453
    Actually, from my experiance, all problems that save MP3s will add a shot silence to the file, which is probably due to compression. WAVs arn't compressed the same, so you won't hear any space at all. When I have things like albums that are continuous, but I want ot burn to a CD wihtout gaps, I just rip the original into WAV, burn it to CD, and put it on my server as an MP3 album.
    Seasonic 600W S12 PSU
    2x Logitech MX Revolutions -- Icemat 2nd Edition: Black
    Plextor 16x SATA DVD-RW -- LG 16x DVD-/+RW/RAM
    eVGA Geforce GTX 660 OC - HP 2009m 20" LCD & ASUS VS228 LCD
    4x 1GB Mushkin PC3200 (3-3-3-8)
    Seagate 200GB SATA -- WD 120GB SATA -- Seagate 300GB SATA -- Seagate 250GB IDE
    939 AMD Opteron 180 @ 2872 MHz -- ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    HDA X-Plosion DTS -- Connected to component home theater :)

    Heatware

  9. #9
    Member nahmus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sailing the Azure seas
    Posts
    2,391
    here is a program that has an option to remove the silence when you rip. It might work for you
    http://www.audiograbber.com-us.net/
    Shame on the night..... for places i've been and what i've seen... For giving me the strangest dreams - Dio(RIP)

  10. #10
    Member blackjackel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,265
    Quote Originally Posted by nahmus
    here is a program that has an option to remove the silence when you rip. It might work for you
    http://www.audiograbber.com-us.net/
    The thing is, im converting wavs to mp3s, i am not ripping the tracks from a CD...

    does this still work for that purpose? I will try it...
    --------------------Hardware Specifications--------------------
    --CPU: Q6600 @ 3.6 GHZ --Mobo: P5K Deluxe --RAM: 8gig --HDD: 256GB SSD +1TB+1.5TB+3TB+500GB+2x150Raptor raid 1 = ~6.4TB --Vidcard: Radeon 4870 --PSU: TT Toughpower 1250W.
    --------------------cooling Specifications--------------------
    --Case: Cooler Master Stacker 830 --Watercooling rig: Corsair H50 (sealed kit) --Fan setup 8 X 120mm fans: 1 on HD's, 5 blowing on mobo, 2push/pull on radiator.
    --------------------Miscelaneous Links--------------------
    My HeatWare, My folding statistics,

  11. #11
    Member obsolete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    1,118
    You need to plugin a MP3 codec for audiograbber to work properly. I love audiograbber.
    ][H][
    ]-[Hewlett Packard p7-1587c (refurbished even, lol)]-[AMD A8-5500 3.2ghz]-[Generic 8 GB mem]-[Asus Nvidia Geforce GT 630]-[Integrated IDT 92hd73e Beats Audio]-[1 TB 7200 RPM SATA HD]-[PS 300W]-[Samsung 26" LED TV]-[
    -blt

  12. #12
    Member Celeron_Phreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    2,453
    If you still have the original discs, re rip them into WAV format. This would be easiest. Then use a program called Super Sound Joiner (PM me for more info about it), and then encode it back to MP3 with RazorLame (Lame is still needed to encode BTW).
    Seasonic 600W S12 PSU
    2x Logitech MX Revolutions -- Icemat 2nd Edition: Black
    Plextor 16x SATA DVD-RW -- LG 16x DVD-/+RW/RAM
    eVGA Geforce GTX 660 OC - HP 2009m 20" LCD & ASUS VS228 LCD
    4x 1GB Mushkin PC3200 (3-3-3-8)
    Seagate 200GB SATA -- WD 120GB SATA -- Seagate 300GB SATA -- Seagate 250GB IDE
    939 AMD Opteron 180 @ 2872 MHz -- ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    HDA X-Plosion DTS -- Connected to component home theater :)

    Heatware

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •