Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member OLMI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA

    Help me find a good 3500+ Winchester

    Does this look good? I found it by searching for winchesters, but it doesn't mention on the product page if it's a winchester or not.

    Has anyone ordered this exact site?

    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-494&depa=1
    Last edited by OLMI; 12-16-04 at 10:24 AM.

  2. #2
    do yourself a favor and get a 3000+ winchester $160 or a 3200+ for $210(not worth it unless you also get tccd ram and want a good chance of 1:1) wheras a 3000+ most likley wont do 1:1 and still maintain ~2.5GHz on the cpu. 250x10 crushes 250x9 thats why. you could also run tccd async and perhaps take advantage of 2-2-2-5 timings at just over 200fsb. no point in 3500+ when my 3000+ does 2.6GHz. Is it worth paying twice what my 3000+ cost for the 11x multi? umm no

  3. #3
    Member fateshammer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by OLMI
    Does this look good? I found it by searching for winchesters, but it doesn't mention on the product page if it's a winchester or not.

    Has anyone ordered this exact site?
    What site is that? I don't see any linked site here.

    ABIT AV8 v1.1 (BIOS 24)
    AMD A64 3200+ (Winchester) CBBHD 0450 UPGW (2.5GHz = 250x10 1.5V)
    PDP Patriot XBLK PC3200 2x512 (250MHz 2.5-3-3-7 1T 2.70V)
    Coolermaster Hyper6 / AS5
    OCZ Powerstream 520W
    ELSA Falcox 9800FX Radeon (Flashed to 9800 Pro)415 Core/375 Mem Stock Cooling
    Soundblaster Audigy 2
    Logitech Z-640 5.1 Surround
    ViewSonic A91f+ (19" CRT)
    MINOTAUR Custom Case

  4. #4
    Member Kuroimaho's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.
    Quote Originally Posted by OC Detective
    The retail box should have a code on it a Winchester will be marked as 3500DIK4BI and a Newcastle as 3500 DEP4AW
    Although I did not find it on the box itself, if you can check the cpu this can help.
    Zalman Zmachine GT1000
    I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


    Zalman TNN300
    Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


    Zalman TNN500
    Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".

  5. #5
    Member OLMI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-494&depa=1

    That's the site. I could have sworn I posted it... hehe

  6. #6
    Member Kuroimaho's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.
    Winchester.
    Zalman Zmachine GT1000
    I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


    Zalman TNN300
    Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


    Zalman TNN500
    Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".

  7. #7
    Member OLMI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    You got that same one, or could you tell from the picture or something?

  8. #8
    Member Kuroimaho's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.
    Model# ADA3500DIK4BI
    If you check the quote from OC detective you will see it is a winchester.
    Zalman Zmachine GT1000
    I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


    Zalman TNN300
    Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


    Zalman TNN500
    Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Overclocker550
    do yourself a favor and get a 3000+ winchester $160 or a 3200+ for $210(not worth it unless you also get tccd ram and want a good chance of 1:1) wheras a 3000+ most likley wont do 1:1 and still maintain ~2.5GHz on the cpu. 250x10 crushes 250x9 thats why. you could also run tccd async and perhaps take advantage of 2-2-2-5 timings at just over 200fsb. no point in 3500+ when my 3000+ does 2.6GHz. Is it worth paying twice what my 3000+ cost for the 11x multi? umm no

    I have to go now but if you cant find a 3200+ or 3000+ winchester, I will help you when I return. save $150+ and go with a lower multi and oc her

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Or if you dont wanna spend a few secs researching the box number, just look at the process. 90nm is winchester, everything else are 130nm. And I think it is better to get the 3500+ rather than the 3000+ or 3200+ if you have the money. Why? Because of the 11x multiplier, that means you can hit your desired speeds a lot easier, with less tension on your cpu and ram. Think of it like this-

    If you were to run your RAMs 1:1 then its best to go with the 3500+. If you wanted to run 2.5ghz all you have to do is turn the FSB to 230 for the 3500+ because of its 11x multiplier. whereas the 3200+ needs it all the way to 250 if it wanted to use 10x multiplier. The 230FSB wont be too hard on the RAM's timings- you can probably leave it at 2-3-3-6 if you have TCCD chips, whereas for the 250FSB you might need 2.5-3-3-7.

    Another thing is the vCore. Since the 3500+ starts at 1.4v just as the 3200+/3000+ do, it leaves the 3500+ to overclock without having to use as much the other two would need to get the desired speed. Like a 3200+ needs 1.6v+ vcore, wheres a 3500 only needs about 1.45vcore. This leaves much headroom over the 3500+ for overclocking higher than the maximum the 3200+ can. Many have found that even using watercooling setups, cpus still have a hardware limit thats why no one can say they overclocked over 3ghz stable for these A64s. It is more of the hardware limit than just heat. It's like putting a runner on steroids or any enhancing drugs. There is still a limit on how fast he can run even if you pump all of his arteries with drugs.

    Basically, the 3500+ is faster compared to the two and since its already an "overclocked" version at stock, you can overclock the "overclocked" even more. Get it? I mean if AMD knew all people wanted was to hit 2.6ghz or 2.7ghz with the 3200+ then they wouldnt have released the 3500+, 3800+, and 4000+. But with overclocking comes instability. For stability, it is best to leave things stock. But many will argue "oh you can hit higher speeds while keeping stability." Which is true, but many do not know or do not want to overclock. So the faster versions are released. It benefits the people who doesnt want to overclock and those who want to overclock. Plus the less tension on the CPU, the higher chances of stability.

    But if all you want is 2.2ghz, its probably best to get a 3000+ and just overclock it from 1.8 to 2.2ghz. Thats the cheapest way with Winchester.
    Last edited by jayzsayz; 12-16-04 at 05:06 PM.

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    new york
    When u overclock the 3200+ to 3500+ spec are u definitely going to get 3500+ performance?

  12. #12
    Member Kuroimaho's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Japan, Tokyo, Ueno.
    Should be a bit faster than the stock 3500. 3500 is 11*200 while 3200 will be 10*220 or even higher FSB depending on the multi you choose
    Zalman Zmachine GT1000
    I7920 4G Apogee GTZ I7, Bloodrage, 6GB, Intel X25-V, 2X WD3000GLFS R0, Hitachi 7K3 X4 R5, 580 GTX, IIYAMA 27", Corsair HX750, Steelseries 7G, XAI, SX


    Zalman TNN300
    Q6600 3.4G, Asus P5E-VM, 2GB, WD3000GLFS, 2x501LJ, Apple 23"


    Zalman TNN500
    Phenom 2 550 X4 3.5G, GA-MA790FX-UD5P, TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX,Tesla C1060, WD3000GLFS 3x1TB WD, Apple 30".

  13. #13
    Member OLMI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    I appreciate your advice, but it's a christmas present from my parents, therefore, I am going to get the better, expensive one.

    Thanks a lot for the help, buddies!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •