Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    I NEED TO CONTACT LUTAWICASA OR SILVERSINKSAM
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Lancaster, PA
    Posts
    287

    p2p programs wont work with nated router, why?

    First off for the basic info. I have comcast cable. I have the modem connected into a linksys 4 port router. DHCP is enabled. Nat is enabled. Port triggering for the default ports for emule is enabled.

    Since I started using this router I have had no luck getting Kazaa and subsidiares al beit kazaa lite nor emule to work. I have read around online without much success. No software firewalls are turned on or installed at the moment. Even still I havnt seen blackice picking up the connection for these programs. I have port triggering enabled and would like to keep dhcp enabled. I also have NAT enabled and can't turn it off because I don't want to have to register the modem through one computer and network everything through that computer.

    My question is how do I get Emule and such to work with ports 4662 and 4672 to work on this router with DHCP and NAT enabled?

  2. #2
    Senior Member XWRed1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    4,464
    If you are behind nat, you won't be able to get a file off Kazaa from someone else behind nat; there's no way for them to connect to you to upload files.

    If you are behind nat, it is impossible for anyone to connect to you without port forwarding. If they are behind nat, you can't connect to them... so there is no way to build a connection to transfer the files.

  3. #3
    I NEED TO CONTACT LUTAWICASA OR SILVERSINKSAM
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Lancaster, PA
    Posts
    287
    Quote Originally Posted by XWRed1
    If you are behind nat, you won't be able to get a file off Kazaa from someone else behind nat; there's no way for them to connect to you to upload files.

    If you are behind nat, it is impossible for anyone to connect to you without port forwarding. If they are behind nat, you can't connect to them... so there is no way to build a connection to transfer the files.
    I cant connect to anyone at all. The search function wont even show.

  4. #4
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    312

    look

    Dont use Kazaa! I'm telling u. You will regret it.

  5. #5
    I NEED TO CONTACT LUTAWICASA OR SILVERSINKSAM
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Lancaster, PA
    Posts
    287
    At the risk of getting this thread close I don't use Kazaa. I don't like Sharmen Networks and refuse to support them.

    I usually use Kazaa Resurection if I use it.

  6. #6
    Senior Member XWRed1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    4,464
    Quote Originally Posted by IrQ
    I cant connect to anyone at all. The search function wont even show.
    Well I don't know the details of how Kazaa works or everything it does because I've never used it.

  7. #7
    Helpful Senior Member Captain Slug's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Asteroid B-612
    Posts
    6,380
    You have to assign a specific port (or figure out which one it's using) in KaZaA or whatever it is you're using, then set your router/firewall to forward traffic on that port to the ip and port of the computer running the program. That's the only way I was ever able to get it to work.

    I hate KaZaA too. Shareaza is much easier to configure.
    ||[ Oni is a bot! ]-[ My Heatware]-[ In the event of an emergency, the nearest senior member may be used as a floatation device. ]||

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •