Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    16

    A8V lockup problems and solution!

    Here's my basic setup:

    AMD 64 3500 0.90
    Asus A8V Deluxe rev 2.0, 1008 Bios
    ATI Radeon 9800 pro 128
    SB Audigy 2 ZS
    WD 74 Raptor
    1 Gig Crucial DDR 400
    Win XP Home w/ SP2
    **Asus Wi-Fi Card, NO MORE**

    I was having a lot of lockup problems when I initially assembled my system. Random lockups occured at random times, at idle with no programs running, using IE, using Outlook, etc. No bluescreens, just hard lockups. I never got a chance to try it with any games because the lockups were to frequent.

    The lockups happened about every 5-15 minutes. The only solution was to reset my PC. The lockups happened before AND after installing SP2.

    I tried many things over the course of the 3 days as I tried to iron out the problems. Reinstalling Win XP several times, switching the Audigy and Asus Wi-Fi card around to different PCI slots, running one stick of RAM in single channel, upping the AGP voltage to 1.6V (caused lots of problems), etc.

    There were no IRQ conflicts. I was about to RMA the MB. Then I removed the Wi-Fi card. Holy smokes, it fixed the problem! I've had the Wi-Fi card out for a couple weeks now and haven't had a single problem. The system is rock solid in all my games now, HL2, FarCry, etc.

    Short story: The Asus Wi-Fi card that came with my mobo was causing ALL of my lockup problems. Be advised.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    29
    lol good one!

    My a8v didn't come with a wifi card, but it's just as well it didnt as my next door neighbour has some kind of wifi device powerful enough to transmit a signal to mars (and it seems to smother the entire channel range) making wifi impossible in my house - good old rj45 under the carpet does the trick!

  3. #3
    SU(3) Moderator
    Super Nade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Posts
    9,580
    Thanks for bringing this up. Problem noted and added to the OC Guide.
    sSo ASUS WiF cards are extremely sensitive to EMI. What about other WiFi cards?
    I'd like to see if this is a problem with the card or with the MoBo itself?
    Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
    Understanding SMPS Technology
    || ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

    Build in progress
    ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3
    Boomslang, do you have agp 8x or 4x? I had exact the same problems with same parts. I tried agp 4x instead of 8 and now it works WITH Wlan card. I have to try if it works 8x without the wlan.

  5. #5
    SU(3) Moderator
    Super Nade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Posts
    9,580
    Juups:

    WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!

    Turn off fastwrites and see if you can safely revert back to AGP8X?
    Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
    Understanding SMPS Technology
    || ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

    Build in progress
    ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3
    I've tried turning off fastwrites, no use. I've noticed that this Asus A8V and Radeon 9800 Pro with 8X agp is a common problem...

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2
    Anyone problems with 1GB Geil 3500 433DDR?
    I have lock-up problems...
    - 1.6 volts reboot when get windows
    - 1.7 volts corrupted errors
    - 1.8 volts works but still lock-up...

    AMD 3500+ 11x200 2-3-3-7@200MHz
    Asus A8V Deluxe
    Ti4600 128MB
    Wifi card is removed...


  8. #8
    SU(3) Moderator
    Super Nade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Posts
    9,580
    Quote Originally Posted by Krizze80
    Anyone problems with 1GB Geil 3500 433DDR?
    I have lock-up problems...
    - 1.6 volts reboot when get windows
    - 1.7 volts corrupted errors
    - 1.8 volts works but still lock-up...

    AMD 3500+ 11x200 2-3-3-7@200MHz
    Asus A8V Deluxe
    Ti4600 128MB
    Wifi card is removed...

    WELCOME TO THE FORUMS Krizzie80

    Tested my Geil yesterday(512 Mb). Runs without a hiccup @ 220 MHz, 2.8V 2.5-3-3-6-1T. Both Memtest and Prime stable > 11 hours. Could you give me more information?

    Juups:
    Try setting the AGP Voltage to 1.6V.
    Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
    Understanding SMPS Technology
    || ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

    Build in progress
    ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3
    Setting AGP voltage to 1.6V won't help.

  10. #10
    SU(3) Moderator
    Super Nade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Posts
    9,580
    Did you read this? I added it to my guide recently.
    http://www.europa-universalis.com/fo...d.php?t=147489
    Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
    Understanding SMPS Technology
    || ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

    Build in progress
    ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L

  11. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2
    My problem was that AGP voltage: 1.5 -> 1.6v "no lock-ups anymore"
    Geil's running just fine

  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1
    I've been having a similar problem recently with my computer getting hung up on a black screen whenever I viewed websites. I could only look at them for about a minute and the black screen took over. My dell monitor said the computer was in power save mode which didn't make sense to me so I plugged in an old CRT and it did the same thing. I haven't tried unplugging my wireless card yet but I'll have to give that a shot and see if that helps. Here's what I've got in my system:
    Thermaltake TR2 W0070 ATX 430W Power Supply
    Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB (and a 40 gb SATA hdd and 20 gig IDE hdd)
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 2000MHz HT 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor
    CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM
    ASUS A8V Socket 939 VIA K8T800 Pro ATX AMD Motherboard
    ATi 9800 Pro AIW 128mb
    Linksys Wireless B Wireless card (not sure of the model)

    If anyone has any other idea as to why I might be having this issue or any input it'd be greatly appreciated.

  13. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    5
    My daughter has a similar system, Vide, and the same problems. The only real differences are a Geforce video card and a D-Link wireless (and an Audigy2 ZS). Have calmed the demons somewhat by conservative video card settings (AGP4x, No fastwrites, etc.) with one exception: file transfer via AIM. For some reason AIM file transfers will hang the system every time. Changing the PCI devices around only made it worse. Still working on the problem; I don't know if I should try a newer/different wireless card, or just an earlier version of AIM.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    5
    As of today, I have re-enabled all but 3 video bios settings (Fast-write off, 1.6 volts, and locking in 66.66/33.33). Still stable so far at 8x; I think the break-point will be Fast-write, but we'll see. So while the freezes have stopped, we still get occasional split-second flickers to black on her Dell monitor (but down to one or two per day).

    I am wondering if the black screen flickers might not be a video problem so much as PC Probe reporting the 12-volt quite low (11.24). I don't believe this is a power supply problem--the bios reports it at 11.87 to 11.90, and several folks on the official Asus forum have the exact same thing going on, once Windows loads. Replacing the power supply doesn't seem to help.

    The black-outs usually happen when the machine is mostly at idle. Maybe a silly question, but could Cool and Quiet be messing with that voltage too, and could that be causing a brief interruption in video signal?

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    75
    Has anyone figured out these problems???

    I am or was it has not happened in a few hours but my system kept restarting.. Games would freeze, Graphics would disappear (e.g. the sky)

    Asus A8V Deluxe 11x200
    OCZ PC 3700 3-3-7
    Radion 9800 pro
    Last edited by Sub_Zero; 09-25-06 at 01:49 AM. Reason: Reply Notice

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •