Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Member gulp35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    649

    Finished Watercooling, Now I need Help

    I finished my watercooling project around mid-November 2004 and all was going well. I thought that I was going to add some anti-freeze to my system at a later date, but being forgetful it has now been nearly 2 months and there is no anti-freeze in the water.....

    but that doesn't keep it from looking that way....



    This happened about 1 Month after I had the system running... (around the time I lost the paranoia that my pc would gush coolant everywhere if i didn't check it constantly)... It recieved very little sunlight and was the reason I didn't see the problem initially (without a camera flash the tubes look brown and they are inside the case where it was dark (now have UV cathodes as Xmas present *NOT INDENDED FOR STERILIZATION*)

    My dad spotted the problem after we finished building our WiFi antenna's for my room

    Temps haven't increased from what they were when I started (actually got 1C lower)
    I need help or reccomendations of what i should do (besides flush the system).

  2. #2
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Banned Camp
    Posts
    6,917
    drain it and make koolaid with the water.

  3. #3
    Member gulp35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    649
    Which flavor?

  4. #4
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Banned Camp
    Posts
    6,917
    Quote Originally Posted by gulp35
    Which flavor?
    I like the blue stuff personally, but you choose. Your the one thats gonna drink it. Unless you have kids you can feed it too.

  5. #5
    Member gulp35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    649
    I wonder if it has fermented at all? I might have to patent a new distilling technique!

  6. #6
    Member crimedog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    South of Boston
    Posts
    3,468
    if I were you i'd drain it, see if that water is flamable, run loop of water and vinegar, run water, then run proper mix of water and anti-freeze...

  7. #7
    Master of teh Ghetto Mods ghettocomp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Choosing between two evils, I might pick the one I've never tried before.
    Posts
    3,339
    I'll betcha you used tap water too.
    probably have to drain the system, remove all the tubing and either replace or just scrub them out. same sort of thing for the W B and rad. Then refill with distilled water and your favorite additive with some sort of biocide. could be a lot of work but in the end it will be worth it.
    I find that most people are like Slinkies.. They are not really good for anything, but can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs. :P

  8. #8
    Member gulp35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    649
    NO NO nO on the tap water....
    I used distilled, I even filtered/flushed it before I hooked up the cascade...

    Now I wish I added a Res to my system I would have made it soo much easier to fill/drain.

  9. #9
    Member Xenocide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    4,214
    ugh i dont' want to see the inside of your pooor cascade....
    A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.

  10. #10
    Member =ACID RAIN='s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kingwood, TX
    Posts
    2,711
    Boy that looks nasty....ultra nasty....
    MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
    Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
    Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
    Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
    HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
    Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
    Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
    Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
    Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise

  11. #11
    Member alinosa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    1,036
    ewww, hopefully that didn't sludge your pump...
    Intel Pentium4 640 @ 4000 MHz (250x16) stock volts
    MCP650>BIX3>Cathar Storm G4>MCW60>DangerDen 5.25" Res, tygon 7/16"
    pqi turbo ddr400
    DFI Lanparty 875P-T
    powerstream 520
    eVGA 6800U@ 465/1100 on an Acer 22 inch WS LCD
    Lian Li PC-G70B
    HEAT
    Lenovo T61p-> Desktop crushing machine.

  12. #12
    Member Lt_Horn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    240
    I perfer Iodine, it would kill all bacteria/vegitation/beerish stuff in the system, and it would only need a tablespoon or two.

    I wonder if it has fermented at all? I might have to patent a new distilling technique!
    Looks kinda like cheap brandy...good luck and cheers!
    Proc:... Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4 @ 3.1
    Ram:....G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) DDR2 1000 @ 1080
    Mobo:
    ..EVGA 132-CK-NF78-A1 LGA 775 780i
    HDs:
    .... 2xWDBlack 2TB RAID 1, 1x320 OS
    GPU:
    ....EVGA 570GTX HD
    Case: ...LIAN LI PC-V2000Bplus II
    Life has cancer folding gets rid of it!

  13. #13
    Member Cyrix_2k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    College Park, MD (School) - Westminster, MD (home)
    Posts
    3,629
    Isopropal alcohal will work too. That's what I'm currently using.

    BTW, that's what my loop looked like when I used straight RO water... It really stinks when you have to drain that stuff. I still have nighmares about it... That's part of the reason I'm using blue UV tubing now, as you can't see the water.

    ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen3

    2500k @ 4.9ghz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

    vCore
    1.287 |Idle: 33c | Full load: 68c
    16gb Corsair XMS 3
    | Sapphire 6950 2GB UNLOCKED
    F O L D For Team 32!!

    Black belt Ubercloxx0r

    Audio Technica ATH-A900's
    "yet another issue with the R-series. If I actually use it on my lap, I can feel my sperm count dropping."
    SANS GSEC Certified

  14. #14
    Member Stumpjumper5200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Best 1/4 Mile Time: 13.57 @ 101.13
    Posts
    1,514
    I plan on running two T-lines (one up top, one down bottom) so I won't have nightmares draining the system.

  15. #15
    Member Aphex_Tom_9's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NY (Long Island)
    Posts
    4,008
    drain.
    flush with distilled and something acidic like vineagar for a while.
    re-flush with distilled.
    re-fill with distilled and additives (alcohol, iodine, antifreeze, whatever) to prevent it.

    MONOLITH - Xeon W3540 (testing) - Rampage 2 Extreme - 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 - GTX 570 - 120 GB OCZ Vertex - Antec TruePower New 750W - Corsair 700D - Apogee XT - XSPC 360
    Hack1nt0sh - Core2Duo E4600 (11x335 : 3685) - 4 GB G.Skill (894) - HD 3850 (810/2120)- Asus P5W DH - OSX86 10.5.1 / Win 7
    MacBook Pro - i7 2.66 - 4 GB - GT 330M - OSX 10.6.4

    Opty 148 3504mhz
    Core2Duo 3917mhz

  16. #16
    Member gulp35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    649
    OK now that that is resolved How do you guys like the rest of my Setup?

  17. #17
    Member Aphex_Tom_9's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NY (Long Island)
    Posts
    4,008
    a little ghetto, but hey, if it works...
    i like the case.

    MONOLITH - Xeon W3540 (testing) - Rampage 2 Extreme - 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 - GTX 570 - 120 GB OCZ Vertex - Antec TruePower New 750W - Corsair 700D - Apogee XT - XSPC 360
    Hack1nt0sh - Core2Duo E4600 (11x335 : 3685) - 4 GB G.Skill (894) - HD 3850 (810/2120)- Asus P5W DH - OSX86 10.5.1 / Win 7
    MacBook Pro - i7 2.66 - 4 GB - GT 330M - OSX 10.6.4

    Opty 148 3504mhz
    Core2Duo 3917mhz

  18. #18
    Member =ACID RAIN='s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kingwood, TX
    Posts
    2,711
    I'm a big fan of having it all contained in one case personally. That way you could look at the case and not ever know what's inside it, sort of like a sleeper. That obviously doesn't work with windows cut in though
    MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
    Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
    Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
    Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
    HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
    Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
    Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
    Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
    Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •