Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2004

    i think im giving up.

    ive been reading for 3 weeks, everyday, every forum, every post that seemed relavant, and NOTHING has helped. i am STILL stuck at 3.0. my ram is not the problem(DDR533 Patriot XBL) i know that. my mobo is more then enough(DFI LP 875B), and my PSU (X-Connect 500w) is not the problem. Its not overheating (Koolance Exos...i know its noobish). the ram voltage was 2.8v, and the AGP was 1.6. and the pci/agp is locked 66/33. any other ideas? i just cant get it to be stable above a FSB of 250. i know ive been posting alot about this, but its bugging the living daylights out of me!

    heres a pic if u wanna see some info bout my system.

  2. #2
    Member kayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    It might be your cpu? If you got a defective one it might be stopping you. It could be one of your storage devices... I have no idea why, but I'd check each of your parts in a different system to make sure they all work.
    Project Silver
    Intel Core i7-4770k (4.3GHz @ 1.265V)
    Asus Maximus VI Hero
    G.Skill Sniper 2x4GB DDR3-1866
    EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 760
    Corsair HX850
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    Thermalright Venomous X || 2x 120mm Panaflo || Arctic Silver V
    Lian-Li PC-A77FA || Vantec Nexus Fan Controller
    (Build Journal)
    Heatware

  3. #3
    Senior Moment batboy's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Kansas, USA
    Does it act like you hit a brick wall? If so, I can almost guarantee it's a RAM conflict.
    2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
    watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
    FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by batboy
    Does it act like you hit a brick wall? If so, I can almost guarantee it's a RAM conflict.
    tahts what i thought. but ive tried it with a 3:2 dividor, and 3-4-4-8 timings, and it still didnt work at 274. i used to have Geil PC3200 valueram that i tried, and the same thing happened past 250. so im not 100% sure its the ram. but it could be....

  5. #5
    Member Krowa 02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Long Island New York
    You know, sometimes overclocking just sucks and runs into crap walls like this. My 2.6c wont overclocke anymore, so I have been running it at stock speeds for almost 7 or 8 months, possibly 9 who knows. I have had this rig for a little over a year.

    You just gotta do some hardcore investigating to find the problem, try returning some parts and getting new ones maybe... gotta go super CSI style and figure it out man thats what.

  6. #6
    Senior Moment batboy's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Kansas, USA
    Does the Patriot XBL have TCCD chips? If so, they usually do pretty good. But, I don't have any experience with DFI mobos, so I don't know what incompatible with them. Maybe try updating the BIOS before giving up. Got any friends with RAM you can try swapping in?
    2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
    watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
    FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    I got a feeling its ur CPU. Not all cpus will clock the same. Maybe give ur cpu more volts? From 2.4ghz to 3ghz is not bad. Only way to go higher is if u have a MO chip. I bet its ur CPU limiting u since u tried with different memory. ALso some memory dont like dividers. Or your board dont like dividers. So I still think its ur cpu or maybe your mobo.
    Asus Rampage Formula X48
    Intel Q9650 @ 4.33GHZ
    OCZ Platinum DDR2-800
    Palit 4870x2
    Creative Xi-Fi Extreme Music
    Corsair HX1000
    LL 343B Case
    Thermochill 120.3
    2xMCP355
    KL 350AT
    KL 4870X2 FC WB
    DD Chipset Block

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by batboy
    Does the Patriot XBL have TCCD chips? If so, they usually do pretty good. But, I don't have any experience with DFI mobos, so I don't know what incompatible with them. Maybe try updating the BIOS before giving up. Got any friends with RAM you can try swapping in?
    yes they are TCCD. no im the only guy i know (person-person) who even knows about OC'ing. but i have tried with some older PC3200 ram. i bought the Patriot ram thinking that it would fix the problem. but it didnt. i think i MIGHT try to get another CPU and see if its just my cpu thats holding me back.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Atlanta
    I have some Patriot TCCD. For starters, you should be running the memory at 250 1:1 @ 2.5-3-3-7 timings when you attempt to hit 3.75 Ghz. It could be the modules themselves, but chances are you just have a sour chip.

    deception``

  10. #10
    Registered SkyFire47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    have you tested your ram individually to ensure that a stick isn't crapping out on you?
    (currently testing for stability)
    Intel Core2Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.2 [256fsb@1:1]
    Abit IP35-Pro w/ TRUE 120
    2x1gb Crucial Ballistix Tracers PC6400
    XFX 8800GT (G92) 512
    Dell U3011 30" Monitor
    Corsair HX620
    Antec900 Case

  11. #11
    Senior Moment batboy's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Kansas, USA
    I bought one of the first 2.4C when they were first available and that thing still did 3.3 gig. While it's possible the CPU is lame, I still think it's something else.
    2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
    watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
    FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen

  12. #12
    Member hawtrawkr's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    galesburg illinois
    have you tried upping your vagp to 1.7?

  13. #13
    Member mtb856's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Helping young Meatballs grow...
    Some of the new 2.4's are getting stuck at 3 gigs.... you'll make the 4th or 5th person with a new 2.4C that's been stuck at 3 gigs that I've seen on these forums. I bought one of the old 2.4's as well, but some of the good steppings (like SL6WF) aren't applying to the new 2.4's from what I've seen (I've talked to two people with new Sl6WF's, and they both were stuck at 250).

  14. #14
    Senior Moment batboy's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Kansas, USA
    Intel could very well be speed binning lower quality cores to the 2.4C grade if they can't handle 3.0 gig or more.
    2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
    watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
    FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen

  15. #15
    Inactive Moderator larva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by batboy
    I bought one of the first 2.4C when they were first available and that thing still did 3.3 gig. While it's possible the CPU is lame, I still think it's something else.
    I agree, almost all 2.4c are going to hit 3GHz easily. But there is some huge variablility there also. I had 1.8as that topped out at as little at 2.25GHz, and another that did 3.42GHz. Your going to have to change something and see what the effect is. I would do the cpu, myself.
    Home Rig - cod2 tool--------------------------------------------------------------------------------School Rig - work tool
    CPU P4 561 @ 220fsb/4GHz------------------------------------------------------------------------CPU P4 506 @ 200fsb/4GHz
    MB Abit AG8-V Video EVGA 7800GT-----------------------------------------------------------------MB Abit AS8-V Video EVGA GF 6200
    Memory 4x512MB BH5 - DDR440-2,2,2,5------------------------------------------------------Memory 2x512MB Corsair VS400-2.5,3,3,8
    Cooling Scythe Ninja w/103cfm 120x38mm Sanyo-------------------------------------------Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 4 w/Intel 92mm fan
    Sound SoundBastid Live Case AMS gTower PS TPII-480----------------------------------Sound Integrated audio Case Antec SLK1650 PS SP2-350
    Storage 74GB Raptor - 2x200GB Samsung - LG4167b DVD-RW------------------------Storage 2x160GB Hitachi SATA - LG4163b DVD-RW - 250MB Zip
    Display Dell 2005FPW 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i9900
    ---------------Display Viewsonic VX2025 20" widescreen LCD Printer - Canon i860

  16. #16

    Not sure!

    As I'm moving to the prescott, but seems like your rig should handle better than it is and I'm sure It's not you! But you will find some fella's that have found the Patriot chips questionable. -So, with everything you described I would lay bets it's your DDR.

    Cheers
    Albatron 845PEV, 2.66 @3.48. On air -BIOS mod. PCPower&Cooling 510 Deluxe.
    ASUS A7N8X-E, Barton 2500+@3200.
    IWILL 1G AMD -SDRAM @166 [Tonicom].NIVIDA Gainwood.
    ATI 9500 Pro@ 9700 Pro X2

    We are all on this planet, for a brief time. We borrow our space! There are very few people allocated to memory!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •