Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Member Zatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer

    blocking port ***** need stealth

    I never had this problem before but now since i upgraded my routers firmware my port ****** is closed.....

    all my ports are stealth and use to be stealth and they still are. EXCEPT ****...

    can someone help me with this. i want it to be stealth.

    im using zonealarm and linksys router.

    i blanked out my port thats closed for security reasons. its not OPEN its CLOSED but not stealth. i want it be stealth like allmy other ports

    help plz?"

  2. #2
    Team 32 Folding Ghetto Hanging PC Senior
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    in "The Cave "
    go to grc.com
    Heat

    Early in life I had to choose between honest arrogance and hypocritical humility. I chose the former and have seen no reason to change.
    Frank Lloyd Wright

    "Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't
    matter and those who matter don't mind." - Dr. Seuss

    Folding User Stats

  3. #3
    Member Zatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer
    lol thats how i found out my port was closed and not stealth

    i need to know how to make it stealth

  4. #4
    Member TalRW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Heatware Profile
    is it port 139 or something really close to that. It was the same for me, I read up on it. Whatcha wanna do is forward that port to nowhere, so basically forward the port that is closed to 192.168.1.255 (assuming that doesn't exist) then run the test again, it will be stealthed.
    CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3400+
    MOBO: Asus K8N4-E Deluxe
    HARD DRIVE:
    MEMORY: 3.0GiB
    POWER:
    VIDEOCARD:
    GNU/Linux Distribution: Trisquel 5.0 (Dagda)
    Support software freedom! Try one of the nine FSF endorsed distros.
    Got a wireless network? Secure it!

  5. #5
    Member Zatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer
    can i just make up a ip like 001.00.0.0?

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Zatrix
    can i just make up a ip like 001.00.0.0?
    Go try it.

  7. #7
    Forums Super Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor


    David's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Zatrix
    can i just make up a ip like 001.00.0.0?
    Best make it a 10.x.x.x or 192.168.x.x address incase it gets rerouted to an actual existing IP.
    David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
    OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


    The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
    The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
    The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
    The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

    My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.

  8. #8
    Member Zatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer
    nice it works

    stealth baby

    my only question is what happens if someone else is using that same ip?

    they only let me change the last digit

    i set it for 192.168.1.156 is that good

  9. #9
    Forums Super Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor


    David's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Zatrix
    nice it works

    stealth baby

    my only question is what happens if someone else is using that same ip?

    they only let me change the last digit

    i set it for 192.168.1.156 is that good
    192.168.x.x or 10.x.x.x IPs are used for private networks - so those IPs arent real computers out on the internet.
    David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
    OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


    The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
    The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
    The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
    The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

    My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.

  10. #10
    Member Zatrix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer
    so basically there just for local for me?

    since everyone with a router has 192.168.1.1?

  11. #11
    Member Slackfumasta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    My own personal HELL!
    rar, I achieved a TruStealth rating!

    Yes, 192.xxx.xxx.xxx is a non-routed IP range, so it's quite common to see them in home networks.

    It's not the only private range, but it's the most common.

  12. #12
    UnseenModerator UnseenMenace's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    being stealth is seriously over rated though, people focus on it far to much imho. In fact a Microsoft Windows XP Home (with NO service packs) and firewall defaults is stealth according to GRC.. Does anyone consider that to be secure ?? - Read Here For Report

    Also I personally take what GRC states with caution, if you read respected security sites and forums the thoughts of the professional community does not appear to be a positive one.

    This site makes for interesting reading http://www.grcsucks.com/

    Make up your own mind
    Last edited by UnseenMenace; 01-16-05 at 04:32 PM.
    one M15x is never enough

  13. #13
    Forums Super Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor


    David's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile
    Yeah I prefer to run an OS not susceptible to the vast majority of malware and hacking attempts, and NAT at the router as well .
    David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
    OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


    The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
    The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
    The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
    The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

    My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.

  14. #14
    Member matrixzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    CA
    I usually prefer not to run software firewalls like the one built into Windows XP. Most hacks happen on the trusted side. Trojans and other backdoors are what you should be really afraid of. I'm not going to say that I'm 100% secure because I'm not. I just do my best to take precaution in regards to the net.
    Team 32 Contributor.

  15. #15
    Master of teh Ghetto Mods ghettocomp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Choosing between two evils, I might pick the one I've never tried before.
    For me-- two words: Smoothwall & ZoneAlarm.
    I find that most people are like Slinkies.. They are not really good for anything, but can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs. :P

  16. #16
    Captain Bawls The VTech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Victoria's Secret
    I use a Sonicwall TZ170 and don't worry about it either way.


    So far the only thing I can see by having this unit in Stealth mode is I don't get hit by random scans as often as I have without using it. Not enough to make a difference though.

  17. #17
    Member matrixzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    CA
    Yea, smoothwall works great. The service that it comes with it is the intrusion detector Snort.
    Team 32 Contributor.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •