Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 115
  1. #21
    Member Overclocker550's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,227
    Quote Originally Posted by jonspd
    How is your score's so bad if win2k is faster and your running @ higher fsb and a newier cpu?


    should I be getting lower than 35s at 262x9 1:1?

  2. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    493
    Quote Originally Posted by Aphex_Tom_9
    it has a LOT to do with ram, are you running that 1:1?
    No, my RAM is running at DDR333...this Patriot TCCD crap caps out at 240 fsb.

  3. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,563
    Quote Originally Posted by Overclocker550
    should I be getting lower than 35s at 262x9 1:1?
    Don't look at the fsb or HTT! Look at the size. 262x9 is 2358 mhz so 35 sec is entirely plausible. In fact, that is good for that mhz. Now if you could run 262 in synch at 2-2-2-5 with BH-5 (and 3.6 VDIMM) you might get that score down by 1-2 sec. Good luck finding a S939 board that likes BH-5.

  4. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,563
    Quote Originally Posted by mantralord
    No, my RAM is running at DDR333...this Patriot TCCD crap caps out at 240 fsb.
    I thought some guys swear by that ram. Maybe they mean't swear at it.

    2-3-3-6 I can believe, but at 2.5-3-3-6, it should go to 265-270 or so.

  5. #25
    Member Sevin7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    359
    My 2.4 northwood that cost me $130 two years ago can almost keep up with high end processors 2 years later

  6. #26
    Member TimoneX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,628
    I got 32s should be able to get this down a sec or two in a couple days when I get better memory. Look and only 1.3Ghz too!
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
    Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB

  7. #27
    Member Aphex_Tom_9's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NY (Long Island)
    Posts
    4,008
    Quote Originally Posted by TimoneX
    I got 32s should be able to get this down a sec or two in a couple days when I get better memory. Look and only 1.3Ghz too!
    yep, see it's all about the RAM speed (and controller) and FSB.

    MONOLITH - Xeon W3540 (testing) - Rampage 2 Extreme - 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 - GTX 570 - 120 GB OCZ Vertex - Antec TruePower New 750W - Corsair 700D - Apogee XT - XSPC 360
    Hack1nt0sh - Core2Duo E4600 (11x335 : 3685) - 4 GB G.Skill (894) - HD 3850 (810/2120)- Asus P5W DH - OSX86 10.5.1 / Win 7
    MacBook Pro - i7 2.66 - 4 GB - GT 330M - OSX 10.6.4

    Opty 148 3504mhz
    Core2Duo 3917mhz

  8. #28
    Member TimoneX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,628
    My ram speed sux. I'm running at DDR436. 262x10 with a 166memclocklock on. Timings are 2.5-3-3-7. Got me some Platinum rev2 on the way though, so we'll see what some real memory speed does. I never see all this alleged damage CnQ does to performance either. With or without Cool 'n Quiet I get the same 32s, so I'm all about lowering the electric bill. 269Mhz gets me to 31s, but the system isn't 100% stable there.
    Last edited by TimoneX; 01-23-05 at 09:47 PM.
    Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
    Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB

  9. #29
    Member Aphex_Tom_9's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NY (Long Island)
    Posts
    4,008
    oh, hmm, im getting 34s with DDR514. 3-4-4-8 and single channel tho...

    MONOLITH - Xeon W3540 (testing) - Rampage 2 Extreme - 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 - GTX 570 - 120 GB OCZ Vertex - Antec TruePower New 750W - Corsair 700D - Apogee XT - XSPC 360
    Hack1nt0sh - Core2Duo E4600 (11x335 : 3685) - 4 GB G.Skill (894) - HD 3850 (810/2120)- Asus P5W DH - OSX86 10.5.1 / Win 7
    MacBook Pro - i7 2.66 - 4 GB - GT 330M - OSX 10.6.4

    Opty 148 3504mhz
    Core2Duo 3917mhz

  10. #30
    Member Overclocker550's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,227
    Quote Originally Posted by mantralord
    No, my RAM is running at DDR333...this Patriot TCCD crap caps out at 240 fsb.


    lol its your weak ondie controller man, I can hit a little over 250fsb with my ondie stably and can do 3dmark runs in the low 260s with the occasional crashing. I tried 3-4-4-10 timings and it didnt help so this is more proof the rams not maxed.


    " I got 32s should be able to get this down a sec or two in a couple days when I get better memory. Look and only 1.3Ghz too!"


    yea you used clockgen to downclock your cpu after running superPI at your max oc. either that or photoshop

    "oh, hmm, im getting 34s with DDR514. 3-4-4-8 and single channel tho..."

    your 2.6GHz claw is doing bad, I get the same score with my winchester at 2.4 cause your ram timings suck and you probably got winxp too.

  11. #31
    Member TimoneX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,628
    Quote Originally Posted by Aphex_Tom_9
    oh, hmm, im getting 34s with DDR514. 3-4-4-8 and single channel tho...
    ...and what's your memory bandwidth & latency look like? Is that at 1t command? I suspect even at 218Mhz(DDR436) my dual channel bandwidth is higher. I'm right around 6700Mb/s as I recall. This memory(PC4000 EL gold) is capable of much higher speeds but not at 1t command and the bandwidth loss is huge, so this setting is better than much higher speeds and 2t command.
    Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
    Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB

  12. #32

    ||Console||'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    Posts
    5,592
    38 sec
    I dont think i can get this down much more , board wont let me go any higher
    Asus z87-Plus
    4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
    Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
    Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
    Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
    Corsair Tx750 V2


    " If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn

  13. #33
    Member Aphex_Tom_9's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NY (Long Island)
    Posts
    4,008
    Quote Originally Posted by TimoneX
    ...and what's your memory bandwidth & latency look like? Is that at 1t command? I suspect even at 218Mhz(DDR436) my dual channel bandwidth is higher. I'm right around 6700Mb/s as I recall. This memory(PC4000 EL gold) is capable of much higher speeds but not at 1t command and the bandwidth loss is huge, so this setting is better than much higher speeds and 2t command.
    yeah, im running 1T, single ch. this ram can do DDR580 with 2T, but my chip is a C0 revision, and cant do 2T. my bandwidth is like 3800 IIRC. there lies our difference.

    MONOLITH - Xeon W3540 (testing) - Rampage 2 Extreme - 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 - GTX 570 - 120 GB OCZ Vertex - Antec TruePower New 750W - Corsair 700D - Apogee XT - XSPC 360
    Hack1nt0sh - Core2Duo E4600 (11x335 : 3685) - 4 GB G.Skill (894) - HD 3850 (810/2120)- Asus P5W DH - OSX86 10.5.1 / Win 7
    MacBook Pro - i7 2.66 - 4 GB - GT 330M - OSX 10.6.4

    Opty 148 3504mhz
    Core2Duo 3917mhz

  14. #34
    Member TimoneX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,628
    Quote Originally Posted by Overclocker550
    lol its your weak ondie controller man, I can hit a little over 250fsb with my ondie stably and can do 3dmark runs in the low 260s with the occasional crashing. I tried 3-4-4-10 timings and it didnt help so this is more proof the rams not maxed.


    " I got 32s should be able to get this down a sec or two in a couple days when I get better memory. Look and only 1.3Ghz too!"


    yea you used clockgen to downclock your cpu after running superPI at your max oc. either that or photoshop

    "oh, hmm, im getting 34s with DDR514. 3-4-4-8 and single channel tho..."

    your 2.6GHz claw is doing bad, I get the same score with my winchester at 2.4 cause your ram timings suck and you probably got winxp too.
    LOL dude you're a hoot. What did you get the generic A64 that came without a little feature called COOL N QUIET?

    To accuse another member of cheating on a benchmark that's weak bud.

    Why...why must you constantly insult other members and run them & their machines down? Are you really SO competitive you have to act this way? You accuse me of cheating and run down his setup and his OS all within a few minutes. Do you feel better about yourself now?
    Last edited by TimoneX; 01-23-05 at 10:06 PM.
    Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
    Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB

  15. #35
    Member TimoneX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,628
    Quote Originally Posted by Aphex_Tom_9
    yeah, im running 1T, single ch. this ram can do DDR580 with 2T, but my chip is a C0 revision, and cant do 2T. my bandwidth is like 3800 IIRC. there lies our difference.
    Yup sounds about right. SuperPi seems to like memory bandwidth and it doesn't seem like larger L2 cache is all that helpful in this test. Have you tried A64 tweaker at all? Doesn't make a huge difference but I picked up a couple hundred MB/s from it.

    Quote Originally Posted by ||Console||
    38 sec
    I dont think i can get this down much more , board wont let me go any higher
    That's a nice CPU ya got there. What BIOS are you running? Have you tried out any of the 2t CPC modded BIOSes?
    Last edited by TimoneX; 01-23-05 at 10:15 PM.
    Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
    Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB

  16. #36
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    493
    Hmm, my 3000+ winnie at stock with memory 1:1 200 @ 2-2-2-5 dual channel gets 47 seconds. Sad thing is my friend's 2500 barton at stock also gets 47 seconds. I guess I just plain suck.

  17. #37
    Member Overclocker550's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    6,227
    Quote Originally Posted by TimoneX
    LOL dude you're a hoot. What did you get the generic A64 that came without a little feature called COOL N QUIET?

    To accuse another member of cheating on a benchmark that's weak bud.

    Why...why must you constantly insult other members and run them & their machines down? Are you really SO competitive you have to act this way? You accuse me of cheating and run down his setup and his OS all within a few minutes. Do you feel better about yourself now?


    did I say he cheated? no. he benched first then downclocked his cpu

  18. #38
    Member Scph9002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    216
    Hrm.. so u think itīs cheating to use the prescott patch?? Isnīt i all about to se which computer that calculates a 1mb pi number as fast as posible??? So shouldnīt the app (superpi) take advantage of the whole cpu??? Well anyway without the patch I got 35 secs @ 3.7ghz and at stock speed a got 40 sec!!
    Gaming Rig:
    P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 | 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.32V | Asus 7970 @ 1125/1575 stock Voltage | 2x4 gb Ripjawsx @ 2133 Mhz CL9 | OCZ vertex 3 max iops ED 120GB, OCZ vertex 2 60GB
    Storage rig:
    Asus P5E deluxe | Duocore E8400 stock | 2x2GB Crosair Dominator 8500 @ 800MHZ | Velociraptor OS, 5x2TB raid 0 Storage

  19. #39
    Member TimoneX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,628
    Quote Originally Posted by Overclocker550
    did I say he cheated? no. he benched first then downclocked his cpu
    Actually you did, you mentioned something about maximum overclocks and reducing speed. Guess that would fall under the catagory of "misleading" then? Guess you forgot about cool n quiet eh? Does look funny with that 5x multiplyer. 262x10 is my maximum overclock at least 100% stable and I see no reason to run anything that's other than 100% stable.

    Quote Originally Posted by Scph9002
    Hrm.. so u think itīs cheating to use the prescott patch?? Isnīt i all about to se which computer that calculates a 1mb pi number as fast as posible??? So shouldnīt the app (superpi) take advantage of the whole cpu??? Well anyway without the patch I got 35 secs @ 3.7ghz and at stock speed a got 40 sec!!
    Dunno if it's "cheating" persay, whether it's fair or unfair. Who cares anyway it's just a benchmark. Besides If it's SSE3 that's giving the majority of the boost that'll be in the AMD camp very soon.
    Last edited by TimoneX; 01-24-05 at 03:33 AM.
    Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
    Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB

  20. #40
    Member Scph9002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    216
    Yeah itīs the sse3 that i token into advantage by the patch...
    Gaming Rig:
    P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 | 2500k @ 4.5ghz 1.32V | Asus 7970 @ 1125/1575 stock Voltage | 2x4 gb Ripjawsx @ 2133 Mhz CL9 | OCZ vertex 3 max iops ED 120GB, OCZ vertex 2 60GB
    Storage rig:
    Asus P5E deluxe | Duocore E8400 stock | 2x2GB Crosair Dominator 8500 @ 800MHZ | Velociraptor OS, 5x2TB raid 0 Storage

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •