Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    On the surface

    Can a bad MB Kill a power supply?

    I had two die on the same mother board.. It was within days of removing some trojan virus that hijacked IE at startup by use of the BHO (browser helper object) and bombed me with popups. It was a nasty little basterd.

    Any way I've built a rig now using a new, power supply, MB and cpu. I thought that if the BM was useable I'd build a backup rig from spare parts.

  2. #2
    Member thegreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Heatware Profile
    what kind of psu's were they?

  3. #3
    Member Zulu-1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Brampton, Ontario
    its quite possible if the psu over/under volted the mobo
    THE BEAST: :mad:
    Athlon64 2800+
    Zalman CNPS7000B-AlCu w/ AS5
    Chaintech VNF3-250 ~Nforce3 250~
    Connect3D Radeon X800 Pro
    1GB OCZ Premier
    ThermalTake 420W PurePower
    I am 49% addicted to Counterstrike.
    Heat 2-0-0

    CanadaLAN 2.0?
    EA [Teamkilled] PC Gaming

  4. #4
    Member Aphex_Tom_9's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NY (Long Island)
    might be some flaw in the board that's creating a semi-short and overloading the supply...

    MONOLITH - Xeon W3540 (testing) - Rampage 2 Extreme - 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 - GTX 570 - 120 GB OCZ Vertex - Antec TruePower New 750W - Corsair 700D - Apogee XT - XSPC 360
    Hack1nt0sh - Core2Duo E4600 (11x335 : 3685) - 4 GB G.Skill (894) - HD 3850 (810/2120)- Asus P5W DH - OSX86 10.5.1 / Win 7
    MacBook Pro - i7 2.66 - 4 GB - GT 330M - OSX 10.6.4

    Opty 148 3504mhz
    Core2Duo 3917mhz

  5. #5
    Bad capacitors have been known to take out power supplies...

  6. #6
    Senior Delta Fanatic Electron Chaser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    I live by a Delta
    It can happen I have seen a floppy drive take one out before.
    I am the Senior Omega of the Delta ... Fan Users :burn:
    Custom 48" X 24" X 12" Case- Abit IC7-MAX3 - Pentium 4 3.4 EE @ 4.2 |Mach II Phase Cooled
    BFG 6800 Ultra @ 470 | NV-68 Water Cooled -1.5 GB PQI PC4400 -1 KW PCP&C -
    2 X Raptor 150GB RAID 0 , 2 74GB Raptor RAID 1, 1 36GB Raptor, 1 250GB WD SATA
    BIX3 w/ 3 GFB1212VHW Fans (660 CFM Total) -Case Fans 5 EFB1212SHE (710 CFM Total)
    MB / RAM Cooler 2 TFB1212GHE (440 CFM Total)

    :cool: 1800+ CFM of Pure Delta Coolness :cool:
    Someone Help you out? Post a Thank you here. Project Denali Heat

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    On the surface
    Both were off brand power supplies in the excess 400w. The first had been been working fine for about 3 years, the second was just a spare.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    I don't see how. Even if the motherboard managed to spawn little nano robots that constructed new circuit traces to short out the power supply, I don't think so. And even if there was a short, any decent power supply should have a fuse. When you short something, you are getting (theoretically) no resistance and infinite current. Fuses blow when too much current passes through them that they can't physically take it...and they pop. I've shorted my share of stuff before. I shorted an extremely ****ty "450" watt power supply, and after replacing the fuse it was just fine.

    A power supply just supplies power. If something was shorted or something had too much of a load, a fuse should have blown in the power supply. Well, you might consider that being broken actually, since after its blown it's not gonna work anymore. Till you replace the fuse that is.

  9. #9
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Jamaica, NY!
    usually its the other way around (power supply frying the board)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •