Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005

    Question eVGA...good or no?

    Thinking about upgrading to a 6600gt. Just wondering if eVGA cards are any good or not? Preferrably would like opinions of people who have used this brand. Thanks for the info.

  2. #2
    Member crimedog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    South of Boston
    yes they're good

    it's very, very, very rare for a brand to be bad (or any different from the others)

  3. #3
    Member harryinny3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    New York
    They are Excellent. Just go to there Site. Look around and Check out there message boards.

    The BEST costomer service ive EVER seen from Any company. Very Very Helpful indeed. Glad i Picked eVGA for my purchase the other day.

    Harry

  4. #4
    they used to be pretty crappy...but here in the last few months or more they have really picked up (tried them again after a few people stated how well things had changed a few months ago)...almost as good as newegg now...

    reseller rating:

    10.0 last 6 months
    6.11 lifetime

  5. #5
    I have a evga 6800 vanilla. I unlocked a vp, the pixel units were bad. It oc's well to 400/900 from 325/700. Scored almost 4k in 3dmark05 so not too bad in my eyes. After putting arctic silver 5 on the gpu the card idles at 46c and gets up to about mid 60's in doom3 at 400/900. I havn't had any problems with the card so far and it blows my mind. I am happy with it... although I think its stock cooling could be a tad better.

    One strange thing I have noticed is that GPU idle temp at 325mhz is significantly higher than when it hits 350mhz. I was idling at 56C @ 325mhz and when i put it to 350c I noticed it immediately drop to 46C. I would recommend yall overclock it to 350mhz in 2d mode if you have not yet because it drops the idle temp significantly.

  6. #6
    my 6600 gt doenst really oc that high .. i think i got it at 525/1k .. no artifacts. but i remember i pushed it a lil higher a couple weeks ago and it was artifacting like mad :P

    no thermo control so u dont kow what temp its at. but thats ok :P

    i got it cuz of the step up plan . but its a good card :P

  7. #7
    Member harryinny3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    New York
    Thats weird, I thought all the 6800 cards Have thermal Probes or Sensors?

    Harry

  8. #8
    Member mblue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    York, PA
    Just bought my first eVGA card and am very happy with them. Great price too.


    MSI P6N-Sli, E8400 C2D @ 3.6 Ghz, 2 x 2 Gb of DDR2 800 Geil, EVGA 9800GTX+ 512 sli, 22" WS and Vista Ultimate X64, SP1

    MSI P6N-Sli, E2160 @ 3 Ghz, 2 x 1 Gb of DDR2 800 Geil, ATI X1950XTX,19" LCD and Vista Ultimate X64


    MSI P6N-Sli, E2160 @ 3 Ghz, 2 x 1 Gb of DDR2 800 Geil, Asus 3850-512, 19"LCD and Vista HP X64

  9. #9
    they are great. I love my eVGA

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by bohansen
    my 6600 gt doenst really oc that high .. i think i got it at 525/1k .. no artifacts. but i remember i pushed it a lil higher a couple weeks ago and it was artifacting like mad :P

    no thermo control so u dont kow what temp its at. but thats ok :P

    i got it cuz of the step up plan . but its a good card :P
    It shows temperature of the core in your advanced settings. Right click desktop, properties, settings, advanced settings. Its where coolbits is. A small Temperature control.

  11. #11
    Member comfortablynumb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    NorthEast
    I hav had zero problems with my eVGA 6800GT, very solid, looks a lot like the reference design.

    CN

  12. #12
    Member mblue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    York, PA
    Quote Originally Posted by comfortablynumb
    ... looks a lot like the reference design.

    CN
    Like I said before this is my first one, but I believe that is why their cards are so solid. They stick to the reference design.


    MSI P6N-Sli, E8400 C2D @ 3.6 Ghz, 2 x 2 Gb of DDR2 800 Geil, EVGA 9800GTX+ 512 sli, 22" WS and Vista Ultimate X64, SP1

    MSI P6N-Sli, E2160 @ 3 Ghz, 2 x 1 Gb of DDR2 800 Geil, ATI X1950XTX,19" LCD and Vista Ultimate X64


    MSI P6N-Sli, E2160 @ 3 Ghz, 2 x 1 Gb of DDR2 800 Geil, Asus 3850-512, 19"LCD and Vista HP X64

  13. #13
    Jester Rottys-R-Us's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    So Cal.USA.
    Was happy with eVGA when I got a 6800nu, then used their stepup program to get the GT and am still happy with it

    You might even want to go to the eVGA forums.

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by johnmcc516
    It shows temperature of the core in your advanced settings. Right click desktop, properties, settings, advanced settings. Its where coolbits is. A small Temperature control.

    u sure u talkin about the 6600gt? cuz i dont see it

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    I like my 6800gT

  16. #16
    Member harryinny3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    New York
    Quote Originally Posted by bohansen
    u sure u talkin about the 6600gt? cuz i dont see it

    6600GT, Maybe not then. Could have been the other cutback they made on it to sell it for less than a 6800nu. 128Bit ram, Less pipes, and no probe.

    Just a thought

    Harry

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Indiana
    I had a 6800 128 Evga for about three months then I sold it to upgrade. But I had no problems with it, was a very nice card.

  18. #18
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    i would consider eVGA to be the best nvidia company. PNY and BFG are up there too.

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    MA
    Thumbs up to eVGA from me. I bought an eVGA during the Call of Duty promo a long time ago. I mailed the paper work, probably usps screwed me, and waited a while and forgot about it. I called them up months after the promo ended, explained my story, showed them my paper, and they promptly send me the game even though the promo was long over.

    I have their FX 5900SE card oced to 460/755, the default speed was 400/700. Pretty nice oc in my opinion.

  20. #20
    Member Woozy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Old Bridge, NJ
    Third card I have owed from them. Nice products.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •