Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    17

    Thermalltake street fighter does it has a 3pin plug???

    Im looking into the Thermaltake street fighter fan. im thinking about buying one with a heat sink, i plan to set it up by using my mobo header. i was reading about it on thermaltake.com and it said it has 4pins im just trying to find out if im going to be able to plug it into my mobo and let the mobo controll its speed to the cpu heat.

    if any one know any thing about this i could use some help.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    7,381

  3. #3
    THE Senior FANMAN archilochus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Houston,TX-USA
    Posts
    6,002
    It has a 4 pin for a reason... It approches the amp/ watt. limit or exceeds it, for the cpu fan header on the mobo..
    Check your mobo specs to see what the max. amps/ watts are for your headers..

    Detail Specifications
    P/N A2235
    Fan Dimension 80x80x32mm
    Power Input 0.96 - 5.40 W
    Rated Current 0.08 - 0.45 A

    http://www.thermaltake.com/coolers/c...eetFighter.htm
    MOBYDICK
    Intel-2.4c-HT @ 2.9 *SP-94 w/ Delta 92mm HHE w/25mm spacer *FIC-865PE-Max
    OCZ 2x512 EL Gold PC 4000 @ 1:1 *2.5/4/4/7 *BFG Geforce 7800 GS OC
    80g.Maxtor PATA and SATA *Xaser III. v1000D modified
    FULL LOAD Temp 36C / Syst. temp 23C /Ambient 20C (room temp)
    F@H TEAM 32 :thup:

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by dicecca112
    The problem with that is it dosent have a signal wire.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    17
    So i wont be able to plug it into my mobo.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    17
    Maybe ill just get some thing like this. http://www.thermaltake.com/coolers/venus/si/a1724.htm

  7. #7
    THE Senior FANMAN archilochus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Houston,TX-USA
    Posts
    6,002
    The fan you stated in your original post can go 3 diff. ways... manual adjust/ full speed / thermal control...

    It has a thermal sensor you can attack to the base of the HS, next to the processor..
    It will thermally adjust your fan with the power hooked to a 4 pin molex..

    The seperate yellow wire you see in the pic is the RPM wire for the cpu header..

    http://www.thermaltake.com/coolers/c...eetFighter.htm

    Maybe ill just get some thing like this. http://www.thermaltake.com/coolers/venus/si/a1724.htm
    This HS has a 70mm fan on it... At least you can change to a diff. 80mm on the HS in your original post.. Larger fan equals less noise at higher RPM's..

    http://www.thermaltake.com/coolers/venus/si/a1724.htm
    Last edited by archilochus; 02-16-05 at 08:50 AM.
    MOBYDICK
    Intel-2.4c-HT @ 2.9 *SP-94 w/ Delta 92mm HHE w/25mm spacer *FIC-865PE-Max
    OCZ 2x512 EL Gold PC 4000 @ 1:1 *2.5/4/4/7 *BFG Geforce 7800 GS OC
    80g.Maxtor PATA and SATA *Xaser III. v1000D modified
    FULL LOAD Temp 36C / Syst. temp 23C /Ambient 20C (room temp)
    F@H TEAM 32 :thup:

  8. #8
    Skulltrail Junkie Sneaky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    3,759
    www.sidewinder.com has Delta 3-blade fans in 80, 92, and 120mm flavors - and perform much better than the Tt street fighter, and have a longer lifespan as well


    also, do NOT use the mobo headers for any fan that draws more than 5w of power - more than that and you can pull more power away from mobo components, plus you risk the chance of burning up the electrical traces on the motherboard


    if you need to control the speed, do so with a manual fan controller, and use the 4-pin connector
    Lian Li PC-75B Corsair Professional Series AX850
    2x Intel Xeon E5420 @ 3.0GHz (400x7.5) Intel D5400XS Skulltrail
    8GB (4x2GB) A-Data DDR2-800 FB-DIMM ECC (1:1 @ 400MHz)
    MSI Radeon HD4870 1GB Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
    2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB (RAID 0) + 2x WD Caviar Black 500GB
    2x EK Supreme HF CPU EK S-MAX NB EK VGA Supreme GPU Blastflow Tidal SB
    Thermochill PA120.3 Swiftech MCRes-Micro Laing D5 w/ Bitspower Top

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Heatware http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=34593

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    17
    Ok then ill use the Street fighter with it using the thermal sendor and ill plug the signal wire into my mobo, problem fixed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •