Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27
  1. #1
    Member stikphysh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    320

    Lightbulb looking for old arcade machine

    im looking for an old arcade machine. actually just the chassis. i think they call em a cabinet in the acrade world. i dont really care what it is as long as its in decent shape. something like star castle or something like that. i basicaly want to gut it out and put a display behind the screen and run emulators. i eventually plan to have a menu system so u can chose platform and game (ie neo-geo with metal slug or n64 with mario 64). if anyone knows where i can get one, or is willing to build one for me (all on a strict budget unfortunately) let me know please. ill be sure to take lots of pictures and give yall a good solid work log if i ever get this project going.

  2. #2
    Helpful Senior Member Captain Slug's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Asteroid B-612
    Posts
    6,380
    Building one out of MDF or pine would actually be fairly simple, and would be (depending on your sources) cheaper than obtaining an actual arcade cabinet. Everything you need (structurally) could be purchased from Home Depot or Lowes and made with standard shop equipment.
    Maybe you have a friend or local machine shop that could help you cut the sheets to the sizes you need.

    Are you planning on integrating arcade-style controls into it, or just purchasing a premade acrade controller or gamepads? If you just need the cabinet itself that would be very easy to do with just a jigsaw and a power drill, after you get the individual sheets cut to the square sizes you need from wherever you source them.
    ||[ Oni is a bot! ]-[ My Heatware]-[ In the event of an emergency, the nearest senior member may be used as a floatation device. ]||

  3. #3
    Registered Easybeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    84
    Firstly try out this website for examples of homemade/customised arcade machines

    http://arcadecontrols.com/arcade.htm

    Secondly I built my own cabinet from scratch and it is definitely possible however i would have preferred to get an old one and convert it as it is much easier (albeit less rewarding). Try ebay as you should be able to pick up all of the various bits and pieces quite cheaply.

    Good Luck

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    253
    i agree, buildin gone is pretty east, and u can order the arcade controls. plus u can pick up a nice TV from a second hand store or a pawn ship. what emu u using anyways? MAME32? at least thats what i used before, i'm not sure what the best is right now.

  5. #5
    Member stikphysh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    320
    i have seen a lot about mame, but never used it. as of right now, i have a slew of old emulators for nes, sega, neo-geo, snes, n64 and atari. i was planning on using those but i wouldnt mind having mame32 as well. anyone wanna offer up pros and cons of the different ones out there?

  6. #6
    Helpful Senior Member Captain Slug's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Asteroid B-612
    Posts
    6,380
    MAME32 is great for arcade emulation and in my opinion atleast, has the best key layout and features. I use it to emulate Metal Slug 1, X, and 3 as well as a number of Arcade fighters.
    ||[ Oni is a bot! ]-[ My Heatware]-[ In the event of an emergency, the nearest senior member may be used as a floatation device. ]||

  7. #7
    Member walkitiki's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Blacksburg, VA
    Posts
    211
    This brings back memories. I remember when I discovered ROMs in middle school. I spent hours playing old games. One of my favorites was Seiken Densetsu 3 for SNES, great RPG, one of the best games I've ever played. Me and my friends would also play those verticle scrolling games and all the Metal Slugs for Neo-Geo, aside from Seiken Densetsu, I think the Neo-Geo games were the most fun. Definitely check out "Last Blade 2" for Neo-Geo...but I'm sure you already know what you're gonna play,

    But my question is, if you're going to be emulating, its gonna be on a computer, right? and then it's gonna be displayed onto a monitor, or a tv?

    I think building would be easier, though you would have to do some wiring, but I'm sure there are diagrams for that, like everything in the world, avaliable on the internet.

  8. #8
    Registered Easybeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    84
    I use Mame32 on my cabinet and I am more than happy with it as it has a very simple user interface however it is a resource hog on slower computers. Alot of people use a program called mamewah which can not only include mame games (arcade emulated) but also the old console games as well such as Sega, NES etc and has configurable menus.

    http://mamewah.mameworld.net/

    There are versions of Mame for just about everyones tastes/resources though , I recently built a small machine from a PII 266mhz for a friends son and was able to get 2000+ working games on it by using an old version of Mame. Also a 700mb CD can hold about 2,500+ of the old arcade games as many of them are only a few KB's in size, so hard disk space isn't an issue.
    On the other hand some games like NFL Blitz & Carnevil are 1.5GB and i don't know if anyone has ever been able to run it yet at full frame rates even on a highend OC'ed PC as they are heavily CPU intensive rather than relying on a graphics card like standard PC games.

    Now theres a challenge for anyone interested.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    253
    mame is pretty much the best arcade emu out there. we thought u were building arcade cabinates. not NES stuff. go with arcade and plays these games. metal slugs is the bomb. i used to play it 24/7. me n my friends would have contests and stuff. its really fun.

    p.s its hard to find a lot of arcade emus now adays. plus they are suppose to be illegle. so i don't know where u guys are getting ur roms from.

  10. #10
    Registered Easybeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    84
    Quote Originally Posted by Pineabs
    p.s its hard to find a lot of arcade emus now adays. plus they are suppose to be illegle. so i don't know where u guys are getting ur roms from.
    The emus are easy to find and they are definitely not illegal, however the roms are a bit of a grey area as there has in my knowledge never been a court case about them.

    http://www.rom-world.com/dl.php?name=MAME

    This is a link to ROM-world which in it's policy states that the ROM's are in the public domain. I would make you own mind up on that subject, however the fact that the site still exists and hasn't been shut down leads me to believe that it's on the level.

  11. #11
    Member walkitiki's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Blacksburg, VA
    Posts
    211
    I think the most standard way these sites stay up is that they put the responsibility on the consumer and not themselves, they say that they are only for use if you own the cartridge couterpart to the game you're downloading

  12. #12
    Member stikphysh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    320
    i would NEVER get illegal software. oh no! not me! nuh huh! no way!

    now that i got that out of my system... i will have to download all the MAME stuff and run through em and what not. i do plan on running every console/arcade version possible on this thing.

  13. #13
    Registered Easybeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    84
    Quote Originally Posted by stikphysh
    i do plan on running every console/arcade version possible on this thing.
    I hope you have Broadband, plenty of patience and a spare 80GB hard-drive as that is one seriously big amount of DL'ing. Standard Mame not including the big newer CHD games (NFL Blitz, San Francisco rush) is about 10-15GB. Each of the new games of which there is about 50 are around 100mb to 1.5gb in size.

    If your going for it though don't just limit yourself to emulated games there are some other great games to play on a cabinet:-
    Tiger Woods with a Trackball,
    Crazy Taxi with a Wheel,
    House of the Dead II with a Light-Gun
    Tekken with 2 players and 7 buttons like the Arcade.

    Great Fun!

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    253
    yeah thats what i mean. the roms are ileagle. i think u can keep them for 24hrs. to see how they feel, but then u must delete them. lol. i would try Direct Connect cus all the rom sites have crap loads of spam and pop ups on them. i once got 15 gigs of mame stuff from one guy on DC++.

  15. #15
    Member cack01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San diego or UC Davis
    Posts
    3,476
    I have restored a few cabinets and have helped a few friends make some MAME cabs. If money is not an option then by all means build one. Its not as easy as it looks, but a measure twice cut once approach is enough to make sure its a quality job. Plus it is something you can be proud of. As was stated www.arcadecontrols.com is your best source for pretty much everything.

    Personally I would look for a used cabinet first at www.craigslist.com or in your newspaper. The reason I perfer used over new, is mainly because of price. Find one with a monitor that has no burn in and you will save yourself $300-$500. If you plan on going with a TV then you will still save yourself about $150-$200.

    As for ROMS, I'm not going to tell you how to get them; but there are reliable people out there which will mail them to you on DVD for a very cheap price. Often times the cost of 5 DVD's + shipping.

    Also don't bother trying to play the new games such as blitz and such. Your computer isn't fast enough. Its just a waste of space on your hardrive. (MAME wise)
    LianLi PC70
    Dual PIII 1.0@1.2 (7.5*160) on ABIT VP6
    768 PC-133
    Geforce 4 TI4200 310/580
    Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum
    2x 40 GB Seagate 5400 w/Striping
    1x 80 GB Seagate 7200
    24X Yamaha CD-RW
    Sony 520GS 21"

  16. #16
    Member threeme2189's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Drowning my sorrow and misery in apple juice
    Posts
    2,023
    good luck!
    My Rig:
    HOT Athlon XP 2600 T-Bred :: GA-7M400M Gigabyte Mobo
    Asus 9600XT OC from 500/300@580/360 stock! :: 512 MB 333Mhz Spektek Ram
    Crappy 80 Gig HDD :: Sony CD Burner/dvd drive + CD drive

    If You'll Excuse Me, I Have A Beam Of Light To Catch.

  17. #17
    Member stikphysh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    320
    well, i've started a work log. currently i only have the main page and a page where i started the controller for the buttons and what not. theres lots of typos and the such, but i will go through and fix those later tonight probably. http://www.moondog.net/system7/

  18. #18
    Registered Easybeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    84
    Thats a good job on the keyboard hack, a lot neater than the one I first did.

    I now use an I-Pac VE from Ultimarc which is configured esecially for Mame and only cost 25, still i got a lot more satisfaction out of getting the hack to work than buying an encoder.

  19. #19
    Member stikphysh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Reno, NV
    Posts
    320
    um... the guy who maintains the webserver just changed permissions on my folder aparently. (he tends to maintain with a bottle of tuaca by his side ) if you try to log on you may get a prompt for a password. unfortunately, there is nothing i can do about that. i am sorry. i am doing all i can to get this change, so if you get the prompt, please check back later. sorry about the problem.

  20. #20
    Member cack01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San diego or UC Davis
    Posts
    3,476
    Good job on the hack. I tried to do one my self, but I ended up breaking down and getting a I-pac. A decision I am happy I made. Both ways are fine but remember a keyboard hack does have its weaknesses.
    LianLi PC70
    Dual PIII 1.0@1.2 (7.5*160) on ABIT VP6
    768 PC-133
    Geforce 4 TI4200 310/580
    Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum
    2x 40 GB Seagate 5400 w/Striping
    1x 80 GB Seagate 7200
    24X Yamaha CD-RW
    Sony 520GS 21"

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •