Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 29
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,769

    i'm so fed up with the 2.4A E0 Socket 478, need help here...

    This is the 3rd mobo that i've tried it on, and it continues to leave me with a black sceen, the 2 mobo before that did not support prescott, this Neo2-V clearly indicated that it support prescott, but i'm still here with a black booting sceen.

    the mobo is an MSI Neo2-V, anyone having problem like this with an E0 2.4A? do i need a BIOS update? the latest bios update shows that it's supporting more CPU microcode, but what's the point of having a bios update when i can't even see the sceen? it booted fine on my ECS VIA800 chipset mobo, so i know it's not the chip or anything else....
    GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
    2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
    2 X 320GB Seagate
    2 X 250GB Maxtor
    1 X 160GB Seagate
    1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
    Creative Audigy 4 Pro
    7600GS @ 550/420
    TT Big Typhoon

  2. #2
    Member EWBatOVAclockin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    766
    Yea, I have this same motherboard and it's running just fine. Have you looked at the cpu to see if there are any bent pins??? Or make sure everything is plugged in?(the 12v line for the cpu, lol I've done that before) Good luck

    PEACE
    Project: "Last me long time"
    [CPU]2.53(Celly D)@3.815[]1.385Vcore[]
    [MOBO]P5WD2-Premium
    [RAM]Geil 2x512 DDR2-667@334.5 MHZ[]{3-4-2-4}@2.0V
    [VIDEO]Rosewill 6600gt@570/1.05-Mhz
    [PSU]Fortron AX-500 Blue Storm
    [CASE]AMS gMONO{Black}
    [COOLING-PT.1]Zalman 7000cu w/ Delta[]{Lapped}
    [COOLING-PT.2]7 Reg. Case fans[]Custom Fan Mount's
    [TEMPURATURE]Ambient-34[]Idle-37[]Load-42.5

    [Heatage]

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,769
    you have a northwood, i have an E0 prescott, that might make a difference....
    GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
    2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
    2 X 320GB Seagate
    2 X 250GB Maxtor
    1 X 160GB Seagate
    1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
    Creative Audigy 4 Pro
    7600GS @ 550/420
    TT Big Typhoon

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    223
    Clear the bios real well if you already havent and make sure the ram is in right and the P4 connector is plugged in. And listen for beep codes.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,769
    everything is checked, a few times. There is no beep code what so ever.
    GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
    2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
    2 X 320GB Seagate
    2 X 250GB Maxtor
    1 X 160GB Seagate
    1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
    Creative Audigy 4 Pro
    7600GS @ 550/420
    TT Big Typhoon

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    I'm now in Colorado
    Posts
    1,626
    Try a different psu. If that does not work try a different video card if you haven't already done so.
    HP DV6119us Laptop
    AMD Turion(tm) 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-50
    2GB ram
    80GB HD
    DVD-RW drive
    Creative SB Extreme Audio Notebook
    Windows Vista SP1



    HEAT

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,769
    i've swap out everything, i've got 3 different PSU, 3 vid card, 4 different 512MB ram, i can't think of anything else (i've got a few computer around, had to keep spare parts). I just wanna know if the thing will post if it doesn't support the CPU? i've had boards that doesn't support my CPU and it didn't post...
    GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
    2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
    2 X 320GB Seagate
    2 X 250GB Maxtor
    1 X 160GB Seagate
    1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
    Creative Audigy 4 Pro
    7600GS @ 550/420
    TT Big Typhoon

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Dacula, GA
    Posts
    448
    warlock110, I don't have a 2.4 a but when I first installed my 2.8e in my 865 LS with BIOS version 1.9 ( which did not support the Prescott Micro code ) it booted up fine

    Hope this helps

    Dave
    E6400 Core Duo (overclocked to 2.7)
    EGVA 680 LT SLI Motherboard
    BFG NVida 7950 GT OC 512MB
    2 GIG OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz Performance Platinum Edition
    Sound Blaster Audigy
    TDK CDRW, Sony DVD Writer
    2-80 gig WD 7,200 RPM
    1-320 gig Seagate 7,200 RPM
    BFG PSU 800W
    +3.3V=24A +5V=30A +12V1=20A +12V2=20A
    Acer 22" Wide screen
    Windows XP PRO (SP2)[/COLOR][SIZE=3]

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,769
    Quote Originally Posted by Dcasole
    warlock110, I don't have a 2.4 a but when I first installed my 2.8e in my 865 LS with BIOS version 1.9 ( which did not support the Prescott Micro code ) it booted up fine

    Hope this helps

    Dave
    it's possible that the board is crapping out. I'll try and buy a cheap northwood celeron to test the board, if it post then i'll flash it to the latest bios. According to MSI, the latest bios was updated to support E0 chip, it seems that the micro code on the E0 is throwing off the board, the E0 chip is different from the D0 i believe.
    GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
    2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
    2 X 320GB Seagate
    2 X 250GB Maxtor
    1 X 160GB Seagate
    1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
    Creative Audigy 4 Pro
    7600GS @ 550/420
    TT Big Typhoon

  10. #10
    I wanna title tooo !

    moho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    1337 Leet Street , CO 1337
    Posts
    1,386
    hope you get it working
    maybe a PSU issue??
    I TAKE LTC/BTC AS PAYMENT!

    XboxLive: SatoshiNakaMUTA
    Donation? sure! LTCMohoPHygBcydiSkXhvhPW6tfMgTMDQF
    17YxNsHp1fetTBvu9aWNk3QuQfqxKMipVv

    11Khash of Monero power!60Mhash Scrypt asics-BetaRigs rental 3428
    (388-0-0) HEAT!!

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,769
    nope, i got an antec and a Thermal Take, they are quality PSU.
    GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
    2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
    2 X 320GB Seagate
    2 X 250GB Maxtor
    1 X 160GB Seagate
    1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
    Creative Audigy 4 Pro
    7600GS @ 550/420
    TT Big Typhoon

  12. #12
    I wanna title tooo !

    moho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    1337 Leet Street , CO 1337
    Posts
    1,386
    try a different pressy on the board?
    I TAKE LTC/BTC AS PAYMENT!

    XboxLive: SatoshiNakaMUTA
    Donation? sure! LTCMohoPHygBcydiSkXhvhPW6tfMgTMDQF
    17YxNsHp1fetTBvu9aWNk3QuQfqxKMipVv

    11Khash of Monero power!60Mhash Scrypt asics-BetaRigs rental 3428
    (388-0-0) HEAT!!

  13. #13
    Member ropey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    571
    The E0 Stepping IS different as it supports the new E0 core stepping hardware instructions and is the first Intel chip to support the NX (No-Execute) bit in hardware and supporting Demand-Based Switching with SpeedStep to deal with thermal issues.

    The BIOS must be updated for the hardware support of these functions.

    R
    i7 2600K @ 4.7,P8P67 Pro Rev (3.1) @ B3 (1850)
    Corsair Modded Graphite 600T Case, 4X 4096 16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 9-11-9-28, Corsair HX10000, XFX Radeon HD 6950 XXX @ 710/910
    Folding@Home Team 32

  14. #14
    Member Mud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Jordan
    Posts
    449
    Quote Originally Posted by warlock110
    it's possible that the board is crapping out. I'll try and buy a cheap northwood celeron to test the board, if it post then i'll flash it to the latest bios. According to MSI, the latest bios was updated to support E0 chip, it seems that the micro code on the E0 is throwing off the board, the E0 chip is different from the D0 i believe.
    imo its the board yes, as many of the guys said for the mobo to support an E0 cpu u must flash it, or maybe ur unlucky (for the third time) and the mobo is friend or somethin, good luck
    Intel Q6600
    Giabyte P45-UD3P Rev 1.0
    Thermalright Ultra120 Extreme + Scythe S-Flex Fan
    4Gb PC8500 OCZ LV
    eVGA GTX260 Core216 SC Edition
    74gb WD Raptor
    320gb WD Caviar 7200
    Enermax Liberty 500W PSU
    CM Stacker 832

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,769
    i'll pick up a celeron tomorrow, ugg, i got to go look up a car that i'm buying, deffinitely pick up a celeron sometimes tomorrow, i hope its the mobo.
    GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
    2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
    2 X 320GB Seagate
    2 X 250GB Maxtor
    1 X 160GB Seagate
    1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
    Creative Audigy 4 Pro
    7600GS @ 550/420
    TT Big Typhoon

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,769
    pop in a cely D D0 and it's booting up fine, i got to flash the bios.
    GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
    2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
    2 X 320GB Seagate
    2 X 250GB Maxtor
    1 X 160GB Seagate
    1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
    Creative Audigy 4 Pro
    7600GS @ 550/420
    TT Big Typhoon

  17. #17
    Member Mud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Jordan
    Posts
    449
    Quote Originally Posted by warlock110
    pop in a cely D D0 and it's booting up fine, i got to flash the bios.
    hope flashing will solve it, good luck!
    Intel Q6600
    Giabyte P45-UD3P Rev 1.0
    Thermalright Ultra120 Extreme + Scythe S-Flex Fan
    4Gb PC8500 OCZ LV
    eVGA GTX260 Core216 SC Edition
    74gb WD Raptor
    320gb WD Caviar 7200
    Enermax Liberty 500W PSU
    CM Stacker 832

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,769
    flashing the bios require window and a floppy disc, what a pain , i'm out of HDD currently, i got to grab the HDD from my 3rd rig that's currently running, install window on that, i'll post back when i flashed it, keep my finger cross. I can't beleive that it would run a D0 but not an E0, this is ####.
    GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
    2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
    2 X 320GB Seagate
    2 X 250GB Maxtor
    1 X 160GB Seagate
    1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
    Creative Audigy 4 Pro
    7600GS @ 550/420
    TT Big Typhoon

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,769
    OK, big problem, the bios was flashed, it worked ok, i even booted into window, so i swap the chip, no boot, swap back to the celeron, still no boot, both chip would still work on my ECS board. This is got to be the most complicated thing that happened to me. What is the best bet mobo for my chip? i don't wanna flash the bios anymore, and i'm giving up on this MSI, it's going back to newegg.
    GA-S3 + E6600 @ 360 X 9 1.4V
    2 X 1GB G.Skill PC6400 @ 360 4-4-4-12
    2 X 320GB Seagate
    2 X 250GB Maxtor
    1 X 160GB Seagate
    1 X Samsung 18X DVDRW w/Lightscribe
    Creative Audigy 4 Pro
    7600GS @ 550/420
    TT Big Typhoon

  20. #20
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    83
    Not to be an ASUS fANboy but they seem to be the most compatable from a CPU and Memory Standpoint on the 478, esp the 875's

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •