Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    223

    3.2C installed...Prime95 Taking Too Long

    Hey everyone:
    So yesterday I installed my 3.2c on my old Windows XP Pro w/ SP2 installation...all went well. I went ahead and OC'ed the CPU to 3.6 on stock voltages...all is well.
    Yesterday, I was running Prime95, Torture Test, Option 3 (where it blends everything) and each test ran for about 5-6 minutes. All in all, all tests for 1024k, I think it's about six or so, finished in less than 15 minutes.
    Today, I was told, that because I have a HT Processor, I need to run two Prime95's at once. When I run both, it's taken about 25+ minutes and neither Test 1 on either of the two has finished.
    The computer is fully functionable, even though there is a small lag...
    However, CPU is being used at 7% maximum, just PF Usage is high...
    My friend, who is doing the same test on his 2.8 HT (He is just running one Prime95 application vs. me running two)...with a clean reformat just like mine, and he said his test has been going on for about one hour and 30 minutes...

    This is weird, becuase yesterday, I did the test and it took me much less time. Today, it's taking me the same amount of time plus more to just do one test...any suggestions on why this may be?

    The only difference is, today I'm using a brand new format which was done with this 3.2c OC'ed to 3.6...vs. yesterday, when I was using it on the format which I did with a 2.4b OC'ed to 3.0
    System Picture
    SwifTech H20-120 Rev. 3 Liquid Cooling System
    Abit IC7-G v1.1 (BIOS 2.8)
    Intel Pentium 4 Northwood 3.2GHz/512K/800F/478P-SL6WG D1 @ 3.70GHz (16x231) 924FSB 1.65V
    Corsair XMS TWINX1024-3200C2PT 1GB (2 x 512MB) DDR400 @ DDR462 PC3200 Dual Channel @ 1:1 231Mhz 2-3-3-6 2.8V
    CMX512-3200C2PT XMS3200C2 V4.2 0520114-0 = Samsung -5 TCCX
    Sapphire ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256-Bit Flashed to XT (412/365) w/ Zalman VF700-Cu

  2. #2
    Member mdameron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Denton, Texas
    Posts
    970
    i'm pretty sure there is no 'finish line' on prime95, you just run it until you are comfortable that your system is stable.

    its also debateable on where or not to run 2 instances of it or not. I just go by how long i can play hl2 and if it crashes or not

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    223
    It's understandeable that there is no time limit for Prime95...the thing which I'm trying to get accross is...how come yesterday six tests for ex. would finish in like 15 minutes when today, one test is taking more than 30 minutes...

    i mean, i ran the same test with the same processor at the same OC (3.2 ~~> 3.6) and it completed fast and today, it's taking years...

    the same for my friend, who is running one instance of Prime95, just on a less powerful CPU
    System Picture
    SwifTech H20-120 Rev. 3 Liquid Cooling System
    Abit IC7-G v1.1 (BIOS 2.8)
    Intel Pentium 4 Northwood 3.2GHz/512K/800F/478P-SL6WG D1 @ 3.70GHz (16x231) 924FSB 1.65V
    Corsair XMS TWINX1024-3200C2PT 1GB (2 x 512MB) DDR400 @ DDR462 PC3200 Dual Channel @ 1:1 231Mhz 2-3-3-6 2.8V
    CMX512-3200C2PT XMS3200C2 V4.2 0520114-0 = Samsung -5 TCCX
    Sapphire ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256-Bit Flashed to XT (412/365) w/ Zalman VF700-Cu

  4. #4
    Member mgoode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    The MotherShip
    Posts
    961
    This is a memory bug in prime95. chose custom test then subtract 20 mb from the amount of memory tested. On my rig it defaults to 927mb and I change it to 907mb and then prime runs fine
    Benching: 980X

    "Behold, I am Funkadelic. I am not of your world. But fear me not, I will do you no harm. Loan me your funky mind and I shall play with it. For nothing is good unless you play with it. And all that is good, is nasty!"
    ("What Is Soul," Funkadelic, 1969)



  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    223
    Does this bug happen when there are two instances of Prime95 running only or can it happen with one?
    Thanks for your input everyone.
    System Picture
    SwifTech H20-120 Rev. 3 Liquid Cooling System
    Abit IC7-G v1.1 (BIOS 2.8)
    Intel Pentium 4 Northwood 3.2GHz/512K/800F/478P-SL6WG D1 @ 3.70GHz (16x231) 924FSB 1.65V
    Corsair XMS TWINX1024-3200C2PT 1GB (2 x 512MB) DDR400 @ DDR462 PC3200 Dual Channel @ 1:1 231Mhz 2-3-3-6 2.8V
    CMX512-3200C2PT XMS3200C2 V4.2 0520114-0 = Samsung -5 TCCX
    Sapphire ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256-Bit Flashed to XT (412/365) w/ Zalman VF700-Cu

  6. #6
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Posts
    14,988
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    1 reason why its taking a long time with the tests, is that its high PF usage. And well nearly 500 megs an prime instance, that chews quiet a bit of your ram down. If you don't have a gig, the main reason is that its swaping from the harddrive alot, which will slow the tests down considerably.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  7. #7
    Member mgoode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    The MotherShip
    Posts
    961
    Quote Originally Posted by AlcatrazT2
    Does this bug happen when there are two instances of Prime95 running only or can it happen with one?
    Thanks for your input everyone.
    On my rig it happens with both and I am running 1 gig(2x512mb) ocz pc4000 rev 2.
    Benching: 980X

    "Behold, I am Funkadelic. I am not of your world. But fear me not, I will do you no harm. Loan me your funky mind and I shall play with it. For nothing is good unless you play with it. And all that is good, is nasty!"
    ("What Is Soul," Funkadelic, 1969)



  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    223
    Thanks a lot for all of your input guys.
    Well, I ran the test once and it was working fine...CPU usage was at about 50% percent at average...nothing higher. I guess, if I ran another instance of Prime95...then it would go higher. However, once I did, CPU usage went down and I guess, it would take years for anything to complete like I mentioned...

    So...should I just run Options, Turture Test, Custom...and in my case, if it's 415MB, subtract 20MB like mentioned above by mgoode and let it run at that? While the first test runs it on Blend?

    Thanks again.

    P.S. mgoode: When you said its happening on both, did you mean, just one test, and the same for both tests at once?
    My friend was having the same issue running Prime95 (ONE instance) on his computer which has 1GB of RAM (PC2700 - NOT an OC'ed rig).
    System Picture
    SwifTech H20-120 Rev. 3 Liquid Cooling System
    Abit IC7-G v1.1 (BIOS 2.8)
    Intel Pentium 4 Northwood 3.2GHz/512K/800F/478P-SL6WG D1 @ 3.70GHz (16x231) 924FSB 1.65V
    Corsair XMS TWINX1024-3200C2PT 1GB (2 x 512MB) DDR400 @ DDR462 PC3200 Dual Channel @ 1:1 231Mhz 2-3-3-6 2.8V
    CMX512-3200C2PT XMS3200C2 V4.2 0520114-0 = Samsung -5 TCCX
    Sapphire ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256-Bit Flashed to XT (412/365) w/ Zalman VF700-Cu

  9. #9
    Member mgoode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    The MotherShip
    Posts
    961
    My bad , I meant prime95 hangs hangs when running single or dual instances. Yes subtract 20mb from your default prime95 memory allocation.
    Benching: 980X

    "Behold, I am Funkadelic. I am not of your world. But fear me not, I will do you no harm. Loan me your funky mind and I shall play with it. For nothing is good unless you play with it. And all that is good, is nasty!"
    ("What Is Soul," Funkadelic, 1969)



  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    223
    mgoode: Thanks for all of your input man. And I thought, I needed to reformat!

    Well, for me it runs fine when I have a single instance running. However, it starts messing up when I have two instances running, so I guess, I'll make my default Prime95 run the Torture test which Blends everything, and the other one, will be the Custom with 20MB subtracted.

    My friend, is having the same issue as you are. I guess, he'll need to subtract 20 like you did to get the thing working.

    It's interesting how 1GB starts messing up when one instance is running...
    And how 512MB doesn't mess up...However, when you do run 2 instances of Prime95 (I think of it as doubling to one GB) it starts messing up just then.
    Makes sense why for 1GB it messes up with one instance, and how for 512MB, it will only do it when two instances run.

    Do you have an idea why it's 20MB which should be extracted? Not more? Not less?

    And just to double check...we're talking about the "Memory to use" feature in the Custom settings, correct?
    System Picture
    SwifTech H20-120 Rev. 3 Liquid Cooling System
    Abit IC7-G v1.1 (BIOS 2.8)
    Intel Pentium 4 Northwood 3.2GHz/512K/800F/478P-SL6WG D1 @ 3.70GHz (16x231) 924FSB 1.65V
    Corsair XMS TWINX1024-3200C2PT 1GB (2 x 512MB) DDR400 @ DDR462 PC3200 Dual Channel @ 1:1 231Mhz 2-3-3-6 2.8V
    CMX512-3200C2PT XMS3200C2 V4.2 0520114-0 = Samsung -5 TCCX
    Sapphire ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256-Bit Flashed to XT (412/365) w/ Zalman VF700-Cu

  11. #11
    Member mgoode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    The MotherShip
    Posts
    961
    no problem, yes it the "memory to use" box
    Benching: 980X

    "Behold, I am Funkadelic. I am not of your world. But fear me not, I will do you no harm. Loan me your funky mind and I shall play with it. For nothing is good unless you play with it. And all that is good, is nasty!"
    ("What Is Soul," Funkadelic, 1969)



  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    223
    Well...I ran one test on the "Blend mode" and the other on "Custom" with 20MB subtracted...and no luck. Things droped back to 4-9% range and didn't go any higher...at least one test goes up to 50%, with both, it's less!

    despite this, i'm still wondering, why my friend was having an issue just running one instance and why i was having an issue and today, all is fine.
    System Picture
    SwifTech H20-120 Rev. 3 Liquid Cooling System
    Abit IC7-G v1.1 (BIOS 2.8)
    Intel Pentium 4 Northwood 3.2GHz/512K/800F/478P-SL6WG D1 @ 3.70GHz (16x231) 924FSB 1.65V
    Corsair XMS TWINX1024-3200C2PT 1GB (2 x 512MB) DDR400 @ DDR462 PC3200 Dual Channel @ 1:1 231Mhz 2-3-3-6 2.8V
    CMX512-3200C2PT XMS3200C2 V4.2 0520114-0 = Samsung -5 TCCX
    Sapphire ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB 256-Bit Flashed to XT (412/365) w/ Zalman VF700-Cu

  13. #13
    Member SolidxSnake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    5,849
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    I wouldn't reccommend using "Blend" as a CPU tester... Use Large In-Place FFTs (the second option)... it tests the CPU a LOT

    also, if you want to test ram, try Memtest86+
    When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
    i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
    Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
    Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •