Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: comp wont boot

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    210

    comp wont boot

    ..running setup in the sig. I thought my PSU died, and i posted on ocforums and everyone agreed. I went out to buy an antec smartpower 350w psu and i connected it up. No post at all. could it not be my psu? maybe my mobo or cpu is fried / dead? maybe my cases's power button ( soft switch ) somehow disconnected? how can i boot without it, i have to short two wires or something? can someone tell me how/ what / where?

    also, the main ATX mobo power cable - they has to plugged in 110% into the mobo? the clicky thing at the top isn't in 100% fully, could this be the problem? i put my little muscles to the test and i don't want to push it in any further ( .. or cant), i also dont want to break the mobo in doing so.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    210
    edit: ok disregard the last paragraph. the power cable is in 100%.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    210
    i know there could be many solutions to a no boot no beep no post problem, but can someone atleast tell me how to start the computer without the soft switch?

  4. #4
    Member oso_fast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    438
    well what happened to me a few years ago was the psu burned out the motherboard. So both the psu and the motherboard burnt out at the same time. I had to check my components with a friend, i guess that would be your best option.
    Amd XP-m 2600 Barton@2.50 (200x12.5 vcore 1.65)
    6800GS
    Asus a7n8x deluxe
    1 gig ddr 400 pc 3200 (generic ram)

  5. #5
    Senior Member Da Whip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sunny Florida, you can keep the midwest!!
    Posts
    2,203
    1. Did you move the CMOS jumper?
    2. Is the front panel connections correct?
    3. Disconnect everthing,HDD, CD, DVD, Floppy. Just the memory and AGP. See if it will start. Then one item at a time, connect and restart. This will help eliminate where a potential short could be.
    New System:
    Asus MA379-T Deluxe bios 602
    AMD Phenom II 940 Black Edition@ 3.35Ghz
    Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 64 35C Ambient, 50-60C load
    4gig (2x2gig) Kingston Hyper X 1066
    Asus Radeon X4870 Black Knight 1gig
    Lg DVD Burner
    PC Power & Cooling 750 watt Silencer
    Thermaltake V9 Black Edition (2x 230mm & 2x 120mm fans)

    My Heatware

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    210
    actually, i am not sure in what position the cmos jumper should be. It says JP1 at the top, so i figured the top one is 1, then 2, then 3. it was set at 2-3 at the time, because on my manual, it showed 1 at the bottom. Not sure from which side they were holding the mobo in though. Nevertheless, i tried booting in both positions. Unless this caused a problem?

    Also, could a lighting storm burning out a lan card prevent boot? what if i had an onbound lan card? would that fry the mobo?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •