Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28
  1. #1

    Windows XP SP1 or SP2

    Is there any difference in running benchmarks under SP1 as compared to SP2?

  2. #2
    Member Celeron_Phreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Idaho
    When I installed SP2, my benches went down 50-100 points. Not a huge change, but noticible in 3DMark 03 and 05 for sure.
    Seasonic 600W S12 PSU
    2x Logitech MX Revolutions -- Icemat 2nd Edition: Black
    Plextor 16x SATA DVD-RW -- LG 16x DVD-/+RW/RAM
    eVGA Geforce GTX 660 OC - HP 2009m 20" LCD & ASUS VS228 LCD
    4x 1GB Mushkin PC3200 (3-3-3-8)
    Seagate 200GB SATA -- WD 120GB SATA -- Seagate 300GB SATA -- Seagate 250GB IDE
    939 AMD Opteron 180 @ 2872 MHz -- ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    HDA X-Plosion DTS -- Connected to component home theater :)

    Heatware

  3. #3
    Member d]g[ts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    pittsburgh
    I agree. for some reason things go a tad better with SP2 over SP1, and original XP. this even applies to things like superPI, and Pifast too. Dunno why, but seems to help a tad.

  4. #4
    Member Celeron_Phreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Idaho
    I personally refuse to use SP2 because of how buggy is it. My older bro (not AMD Phreak, another one), installed it on my dad's computer and it made his comp lock up every 4 or so hours, and caused it to stop seeing his hard drives. A few other customers of AMD Phreak and I's (we own DBNetworkz) have installed SP2 on a few computers and it's caused them to stop seeing the network, and one of them just wouldn't boot.

    Don't remove SP2 after you've installed it, or your computer won't boot at all anymore.
    Seasonic 600W S12 PSU
    2x Logitech MX Revolutions -- Icemat 2nd Edition: Black
    Plextor 16x SATA DVD-RW -- LG 16x DVD-/+RW/RAM
    eVGA Geforce GTX 660 OC - HP 2009m 20" LCD & ASUS VS228 LCD
    4x 1GB Mushkin PC3200 (3-3-3-8)
    Seagate 200GB SATA -- WD 120GB SATA -- Seagate 300GB SATA -- Seagate 250GB IDE
    939 AMD Opteron 180 @ 2872 MHz -- ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    HDA X-Plosion DTS -- Connected to component home theater :)

    Heatware

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Montreal
    My SP2 works fine, I guess it varies from every person.
    Gaming Rig
    cpu - Intel Core i5 760 @ 3.5 gHz
    mobo - Asus P7P55-E LX
    vid card - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB @ 850core/1700shader/2000memory
    ram - GSkill GBNQ 3x2gb DDR3 @ 9-9-9-24 1T
    hd - WD Black 640gb - OCZ Vertex 2 60gb
    psu - Corsair TX750
    sound - Asus Xonar Essence STX
    case - Lian-Li PC-60FNWB
    OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
    PSN: Aenimosity

  6. #6
    Member caincha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    BRASIL
    mine is crappy on IE..
    too slow...
    As of now I'm struggling with a Powerbook G4 Aluminum 1,67ghz with dead PRAM battery and dead main battery.
    What can I say, it was cheap and I was on a budget.

  7. #7
    Member Celeron_Phreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Idaho
    But IE is slow naturally, and it's full of security holes!

    Firefox all the way baby.
    Seasonic 600W S12 PSU
    2x Logitech MX Revolutions -- Icemat 2nd Edition: Black
    Plextor 16x SATA DVD-RW -- LG 16x DVD-/+RW/RAM
    eVGA Geforce GTX 660 OC - HP 2009m 20" LCD & ASUS VS228 LCD
    4x 1GB Mushkin PC3200 (3-3-3-8)
    Seagate 200GB SATA -- WD 120GB SATA -- Seagate 300GB SATA -- Seagate 250GB IDE
    939 AMD Opteron 180 @ 2872 MHz -- ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    HDA X-Plosion DTS -- Connected to component home theater :)

    Heatware

  8. #8
    Member caincha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    BRASIL
    Quote Originally Posted by Celeron_Phreak
    But IE is slow naturally, and it's full of security holes!

    Firefox all the way baby.
    LOL I know that
    But my IE is even slower now that I have sp2...
    As of now I'm struggling with a Powerbook G4 Aluminum 1,67ghz with dead PRAM battery and dead main battery.
    What can I say, it was cheap and I was on a budget.

  9. #9
    Member Kalivos's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    California
    Quote Originally Posted by Celeron_Phreak

    Don't remove SP2 after you've installed it, or your computer won't boot at all anymore.
    I've never had that issue. I've had to remove it from four different computers, and no problems. Maybe you removed it in some foul and wretched way of which Windows XP was not fond of?

  10. #10
    Member caincha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    BRASIL
    Well I don't care what people say! SP2 sux big time!!
    After I installed it everything is slower. AV, P2P, IE, spend more time booting, etc...
    I'll try to remove it, but ain't expecting anything anymore...

    BTW, is there a way that SP2 would block P2P..?
    Maybe because RIIA (or is it RIAA..? doesn't matter anyway ) MS pulled a update that would cause malfunction on P2P softs...

    And if it hasn't happened yet can it be done in the future?
    Anyone knows anything about it?
    As of now I'm struggling with a Powerbook G4 Aluminum 1,67ghz with dead PRAM battery and dead main battery.
    What can I say, it was cheap and I was on a budget.

  11. #11
    Member speed bump's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Montana tech Butte mt.
    I have to install SP2 on a computer shortly so if it works great if it doesn't i'll tell you how to unistall it since I can't just wipe the HD on that computer.

    Seriously why is there so much Microsoft hating? You don't have use anything Microsoft, heck I'll even send you a linux CD if you wan't to get away from Microsoft but have dialup.

    However the dude asked which one is best for benching so obviously hes probably willing to take risk of it scewing up in his quest for higher benchmarking scores.
    Big changes coming: Intel e4300, DFI Blood iron, Crucial DDR2-8500, ATI x859xt, MCW-6002>Ehiem 1250>Bip3 with 3 nidec beta Vs, Sunbeam Zorro, Corsair 650 watter
    Stuff I should be using but don't: Finally got around to running that stuff.

    Ever run a benchmark? support our forums by posting it in the 3dmark team and system benchmarking team sections.
    My heatware

    Silence may be golden but performance is platinum

  12. #12
    Member Celeron_Phreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Idaho
    I'd just say go with SP1 for benchmarking, since it gives better results....at least, it did with me.

    I don't hate Microsoft. XP Pro is a very nice operating system, without SP2 installed. All you have to do is be sure you have your regular security updates installed and anti-virus software. You shoudl be fine for half a year or so without having to run ad-aware, spybot and hijack this.
    Seasonic 600W S12 PSU
    2x Logitech MX Revolutions -- Icemat 2nd Edition: Black
    Plextor 16x SATA DVD-RW -- LG 16x DVD-/+RW/RAM
    eVGA Geforce GTX 660 OC - HP 2009m 20" LCD & ASUS VS228 LCD
    4x 1GB Mushkin PC3200 (3-3-3-8)
    Seagate 200GB SATA -- WD 120GB SATA -- Seagate 300GB SATA -- Seagate 250GB IDE
    939 AMD Opteron 180 @ 2872 MHz -- ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe
    HDA X-Plosion DTS -- Connected to component home theater :)

    Heatware

  13. #13
    Member caincha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    BRASIL
    I don't hate MS either and don't even want to go w/ Linux too...
    And I agree w/ Celeron_Phreak: XP Pro is a very nice operating system, without SP2 installed....
    As of now I'm struggling with a Powerbook G4 Aluminum 1,67ghz with dead PRAM battery and dead main battery.
    What can I say, it was cheap and I was on a budget.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Montreal
    If you want better benchmarking scores, Windows 2000 is the best one. I think they have a guide written at XtremeSystems
    Gaming Rig
    cpu - Intel Core i5 760 @ 3.5 gHz
    mobo - Asus P7P55-E LX
    vid card - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB @ 850core/1700shader/2000memory
    ram - GSkill GBNQ 3x2gb DDR3 @ 9-9-9-24 1T
    hd - WD Black 640gb - OCZ Vertex 2 60gb
    psu - Corsair TX750
    sound - Asus Xonar Essence STX
    case - Lian-Li PC-60FNWB
    OS - Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
    PSN: Aenimosity

  15. #15
    Member caincha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    BRASIL
    I'm thinking about getting back to Win2k also...
    You think is worth it?
    As of now I'm struggling with a Powerbook G4 Aluminum 1,67ghz with dead PRAM battery and dead main battery.
    What can I say, it was cheap and I was on a budget.

  16. #16
    Member speed bump's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Montana tech Butte mt.
    For Intel no, For AMD yes win2k is definetly better.
    Big changes coming: Intel e4300, DFI Blood iron, Crucial DDR2-8500, ATI x859xt, MCW-6002>Ehiem 1250>Bip3 with 3 nidec beta Vs, Sunbeam Zorro, Corsair 650 watter
    Stuff I should be using but don't: Finally got around to running that stuff.

    Ever run a benchmark? support our forums by posting it in the 3dmark team and system benchmarking team sections.
    My heatware

    Silence may be golden but performance is platinum

  17. #17
    Member caincha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    BRASIL
    Danm...
    I'm a Intel guy....
    As of now I'm struggling with a Powerbook G4 Aluminum 1,67ghz with dead PRAM battery and dead main battery.
    What can I say, it was cheap and I was on a budget.

  18. #18
    Member adriana's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    is there really any use for sp1 or sp2? i heard it just slows down your computer?

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Illinois Tech, Chicago
    Quote Originally Posted by adriana
    is there really any use for sp1 or sp2? i heard it just slows down your computer?
    sp1 is needed for several newer computer functions. In fact, I believe it is required for USB 2.0 to operate correctly. It also fixes quite a few bugs and security vulnerabilities, so you should install it. sp2, on the other hand, seems to cause problems with a lot of computers so I do not personally recommend it.
    Asus P8Pg7
    i5 2500K @ 4.7ghz
    2 x 2GB RipJaws
    HD5870
    Seasonic Silencer 650W
    Watercooled: MCW6002, AquaXtreme MP-1, MCP600, BI GT 360
    Coolermaster Stacker
    Dell 2005FPW x 2
    Klipsch Promedia Ultra 5.1 / Sennheiser HD580

  20. #20
    Member Kalivos's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    California
    They both add a lot of security and fix bugs in the system Sp1 is definatly good, but SP2 tends to slow down pc's, although I've noticed it's mostly gaming pc's that people notice it the most in.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •