Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member i12bina3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    (K-Town) Belgium
    Posts
    336

    change cd key on half life?

    does anybody have any idea to change the cd key on half life? especially with the new cs version 1.3
    its just to put some pcs in a network so we can game together without having to search for 5 keys
    thx

  2. #2
    Senior Member TT120's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Sacramento, CA.
    Posts
    859
    I could use that info as well, I'm having that CD key in use problem on my home network.
    I know there is money in computers, I put it there.

  3. #3
    Member i12bina3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    (K-Town) Belgium
    Posts
    336
    i tried using a keygen ... but i forgot that on the new version it might have a negative effect well ... i was right ... my half life is bye bye ...
    so maybe there is a new keygen or even something you can do by yourself to get your keygen

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Portland Oregon
    Posts
    138
    Here is where the key is located in the registry. HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Valve\Half-Life\Settings
    There is a key named KEY and there it is. Use this for reference if you need help http://www.thaigaming.com/halflife/s...ngecdkey.shtml

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    377
    OK. I went into the registry, changed 1 digit of the cdkey (changed a 2 at the end to a 0), then tried to open HL.
    Window comes up.
    "The CD KEY is inncorrent, please re-enter it. etc."

    Thats really weird, because i didnt have the CD in, so it couldnt do any kind of check with it. Therefore, all i can think of is that the key is sored in SECOND place other than the registry, or mabye somewhere else in the registry. Anybody done a sucsessful CD-Key change for Half Life?

    Grrr.... I believe that once i buy software, it should damn well work on multiple comps in the LAN.

  6. #6
    Member i12bina3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    (K-Town) Belgium
    Posts
    336
    i know where the key is situated in my registry but thats not the problem
    i need to know how i can change it ... that im sure it is changed correctly ... thx

  7. #7
    Computer Abuser Gresyth's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    358
    Can't do it. Each Machine Has to have a Unique CD-Key. The cheap way is to look for version 1.0.0.9 od CD in your store. Got mine for $10.00 (US). Then download and install the upgrades on each machine. Time consuming yes but thats the way to do it legit. Other than that you have to find a cracked version. Good luck on that, they dont work very well for multiplayer.
    RIP My brother. You were my best friend and the little brother I never had.
    Maddman - December 29, 1962 - October 28, 2005

    ASRock 970 EXTREME4
    AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz/// Mugen 2 HS/Fan
    Crucial 16GB DDR3 1333///SAPPHIRE HD 5770
    128GB Crucial M4 SATA III SSD /// 3TB Storage
    24" Viewsonic VX2433wm 1920x1080 LCD
    ASUS VN247H-P 23.6-Inch Screen LED-Lit Monitor
    Win 7 Pro x64 /// CM Silent Pro 700W
    Fractal Design Define R3 Black


    Partnership for an Idiot Free America

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    9
    I know lots of ppl who play lan games using the same keys. I'd say delete the registry keys and it will ask u for them again when u go in. Maybe try changing them to the generic keys in regedit first, ones that work well like 1234567890123 or 3333333333333, otherwise reinstall with new keys

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    377
    Originally posted by Kalgregor
    I know lots of ppl who play lan games using the same keys. I'd say delete the registry keys and it will ask u for them again when u go in. Maybe try changing them to the generic keys in regedit first, ones that work well like 1234567890123 or 3333333333333, otherwise reinstall with new keys
    I have no trouble playing lan games, its inernet games that dont work. it would just be cool to have 1 computer be a deticated server, and play on the other. But I cant understand why changing the key in the registry wont work....

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    10
    many moon ago used 3 different cd keys.. i always chagned it in the registry... just make sure the keys you use are real keys

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    377
    Sweet sex on tuesday!
    It worked!!!
    And it was that simple the whole time...
    I was changing one # in my cd key when i should've changed the whole thing. So there you have it folks, it CAN be done.
    Thx Nato

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •