Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: i did it!

  1. #1
    Member shrinkydinx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    382

    i did it!

    finally passed the terabyte mark

    2x250 sata RAID-0

    1x250

    1x300
    Last edited by shrinkydinx; 05-24-05 at 12:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Member tom10167's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT
    Posts
    4,575
    Kickass! I have 4hdds but only 654GB(300,200,74,80) and it's really, REALLY not enough. I'm almost full.

    What do you have on yours?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    7,381
    my god, how do you fill that much storage, I have never even come close to filling two hds (160gb).

  4. #4
    Member shrinkydinx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    382
    music videos, tv episodes (ripped @ 1650+128), and a few choice DVDs.

    i have a lot of empty space because i deleted a bunch of tv episodes that i ripped a long time ago at 1250+128 that i need to re-rip

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    7,381
    me its just music. I have my entire cd collection (300+ cds) ripped to my hd.

  6. #6
    Member shrinkydinx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    382
    Quote Originally Posted by dicecca112
    me its just music. I have my entire cd collection (300+ cds) ripped to my hd.
    yeah, music too, but thats only 50gb for me

  7. #7
    Overclocking is music to my soul stereo555's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Menifee , Calif
    Posts
    2,157
    No terabyte here ... but Iam adding another 2X250 in RAID just for movies .

    Now-a-days space goes quickly with all the types of files peeps hold on there pc's . I never thought I'd go through 160gigs at one time , but it was no problem later down the road . I'll have 3/4 terebyte once my other drives are installed should be good enough for me .

    Congrats on the terabyte ....
    * i7 920 D0 @ 3.9 - Evga X58 3-Way SLI (758)
    * Sandisk Extreme 240gb *2x WD Blue 1TB /1x Samsung F3 1TB - 24gb Mushkin 1333 - Gigabyte Windforce GTX 780 - CM Cosmos 1010/Corsair HX1050 - Windows 7 Ultimate

    * Hanns-G HZ281HPB 27.5" - LG WH12LS30 Blu Burner - Samsung SH-S223Q - X-Fi Titanium - Klipsch 4.1's/Altec center channel
    ~ "Random segments of code and ghosts in my machine" ~
    Heatware


    Join your overclocking frag buddies at [OCG] (aka: [OCG]w00ps )

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    67
    it's funny when I bring the memories of my first computer with 300mb hardrive

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Niagara, ON
    Posts
    1,447
    ive got 280 of maxtors and 2x36 raptors coming soon no terabyte but around 1/3 tho
    ________________________________Heat
    _______________________Shipping to Canada? READ THIS!

    Folding User Stats

  10. #10
    Member shrinkydinx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    382
    Quote Originally Posted by Death-Evil
    it's funny when I bring the memories of my first computer with 300mb hardrive
    40 here...or maybe it was 20.

  11. #11
    Member shellshock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Claremore Oklahoma
    Posts
    1,737
    rofl I only have 1 120gb harddrive and I thought that was alot

    nice job man!!

  12. #12
    Member TekeTorvo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    628
    Quote Originally Posted by dicecca112
    my god, how do you fill that much storage, I have never even come close to filling two hds (160gb).
    What he said.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,337
    Congrats

  14. #14
    Member Restorer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    576
    You're almost there. You've passed the 1 terabyte mark as measured by the drive manufacturers (i.e. 1,000,000,000 bytes per gigabyte) but you're just shy of the 1 Tebibyte line (base of 1024 rather than 1000). Just get another 40 GB drive and you'll be set.

    -----
    The Successor -------- | --The server
    --
    Athlon II X3 450 -------- Athlon XP 2500+, stock --------
    --
    C.M. Hyper 212 ---------- Volcano 11+, temp nominal -----
    --
    MSI 790FX-GD70 ---------- DFI KT600-AL ------------------
    --
    2 x 2GB Kingston RAM ---- 2x512MB Value PC2700 RAM ------
    --
    Lian Li PC-60 Plus ------ Huge Full Tower 10-bay Case ---
    --
    eVGA Geforce 7900GS KO -- Radeon 9100, fan removed ------
    --
    750GB Seagate 7200.10 --- 2 TB WD Caviar Green ----------

  15. #15
    Member TekeTorvo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    628
    I thought I read in MaximumPC that the Drive Manufacturers were sueing to make everyone read Drives as they do. (i.e. 1,000,000,000 bytes per gigabyte) Maybe I dreamed it up? It may have been theInquirer.com.

  16. #16
    Member tom10167's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT
    Posts
    4,575
    Sue??

    I want my 11 Gigabytes!! That's a whopping $4.40 worth!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  17. #17
    Member David Coleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    419
    my first hard drive was 10 megs...with stacker on it that zipped the entire drive so it could store up to 20megs. and we couldn't fill it back then....
    dual xeon is gone...using the wife's laptop...

    $500 File Server = 3700+ @ 2800MHz 1.44Vcore
    Gskill 512Mb @ 2.5-3-3-8 DDR400 - Biostar Tforce 6100 - 2x Samsung 160gig SATA2/Raid 1
    19" widescreen LCD 5ms - Coolermaster Wave Master - Sparkle 350W PS

    Now the reason the enlightened prince and the wise general conquer the enemy whenever they move and their achievements surpass those of ordinary men is foreknowledge. - Sun Tzu, The Art of War

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sacramento
    Posts
    67
    Quote Originally Posted by David Coleman
    my first hard drive was 10 megs...with stacker on it that zipped the entire drive so it could store up to 20megs. and we couldn't fill it back then....
    Holy *****!!! Was it before US declaration for independence??

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    916
    you guys are good... i ahve 2 80gb hd's and i'm about 75% to filling them. do i smell a 250gb drive in my future?
    Laptop: MacBook Pro | 2.2GHz Core 2 Duo | 4GB RAM | 120GB HD | 128MB 8600M GT | Snow Leopard

    Media Server: AMD Phenom II 955BE | Gigabyte GA-MA790GP UD4H | 2x2GB | 2x80GB, 1x300GB, 2x750GB, 1x2TB | Antec 550W | Windows 7 Ultimate

  20. #20
    Member Counda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    142
    Congratz, I still haven't managed to fill my hard drive... *embaressed*

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •