Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada, BC, Gibsons

    I decided to raise the bar on extreame!

    Well finaly got fed up with fans all togeather ! So I got my self a phase change unit for free just needs some fixing up.

    I doen't think 25000BTU/H is too extream but thats me Pics tomorrow!

    LONG LIVE R290 and Free equip !
    Last edited by XeonStrikeForce; 06-16-05 at 03:49 AM. Reason: spelling

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada, BC, Gibsons
    non you have a sense of humour, I figured it'd be good for a luagh come on!

  3. #3
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Banned Camp
    I dont get it...

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada, BC, Gibsons
    using a 25k BTU/h unit for a computer, is simply out ragus let alone extreme your average A/C unit is in the 5000 range. but using a central Building(Read as Mall or small apartment building) A/C for a home computer it was more of a subtle implied joke Ah well,
    Last edited by XeonStrikeForce; 06-16-05 at 01:14 PM.

  5. #5
    Disabled greenman100's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    trying to keep all the magic smoke in
    Quote Originally Posted by XeonStrikeForce
    using a 25k BTU/h unit for a computer, is simply out ragus let alone extreme your average A/C unit is in the 5000 range. but using a central Building(Read as Mall or small apartment building) A/C for a home computer it was more of a subtle implied joke Ah well,

    ...but a 25k BTU/h won't get it any colder than a 5k....the limiting factor is the boiling point of the refridgerant

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada, BC, Gibsons
    yeppers and the size of the EVap for a given CFM, but still using a system of such capasity and size is insane to the point of being funny to even sugest it (Well in my books any way)

    Well since the humour was totaly missed I'll get to the actual point. What CAN I do with such a system? they told me the condensor is badly damaged (what ever their def is of bad) So I'm hoping it may be salvagable if so should I rebuild it or just go with the plans to break it down and sell/trade the parts off ?

  7. #7
    Member Aphex_Tom_9's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NY (Long Island)
    that's just too much of a unit to be feasible for cpu cooling...
    unless you wanted to make like, a 4 evap system for a dual-cpu board with SLI or use it for cooling multiple comps or something...

    MONOLITH - Xeon W3540 (testing) - Rampage 2 Extreme - 12 GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600 - GTX 570 - 120 GB OCZ Vertex - Antec TruePower New 750W - Corsair 700D - Apogee XT - XSPC 360
    Hack1nt0sh - Core2Duo E4600 (11x335 : 3685) - 4 GB G.Skill (894) - HD 3850 (810/2120)- Asus P5W DH - OSX86 10.5.1 / Win 7
    MacBook Pro - i7 2.66 - 4 GB - GT 330M - OSX 10.6.4

    Opty 148 3504mhz
    Core2Duo 3917mhz

  8. #8
    Member f00t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Quote Originally Posted by greenman100
    ...but a 25k BTU/h won't get it any colder than a 5k....the limiting factor is the boiling point of the refridgerant
    actually, the bigger the compressor, the bigger the vaccuum it can pull. the bigger the vaccuum, the lower the boiling point of the refrigerant will go.

    the boiling point of r290 is about -42C but i have seen some lerge rotaries get below -60C with it
    cascade in progress

  9. #9
    Disabled greenman100's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    trying to keep all the magic smoke in
    Quote Originally Posted by f00t
    actually, the bigger the compressor, the bigger the vaccuum it can pull. the bigger the vaccuum, the lower the boiling point of the refrigerant will go.

    the boiling point of r290 is about -42C but i have seen some lerge rotaries get below -60C with it

    you are assuming he can tune the system properly

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Amsterdam, NL
    If he can find someone with the right gauges and tools, and possibly a little bit of hvac knowledge, I don't see why he couldn't.

  11. #11
    Member f00t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    im thiking he has a set of guages and some propane. you tune a dd for the load that it will handle and, when you first charge it, it will probably run in a vacuum, if not enough refrigerant has been added.

    knowing how much of a vacuum a 1hp, 12000btu, rotary can pull, im assuming that he will have to a tons of refrigerant to bring the system out of vacuum, if at all seeing how strong the compressor is.
    cascade in progress

  12. #12
    Member matttheniceguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    R290 record anyone? Tuning would be a bit weird due to the very large vacume, but I'm pretty sure if you just used a bit longer cap tube than normal, you could have some VERY cold propane. It's compleatly unrealistic for a daily rig, but as a "wonder what this will do" project, it has potential.

  13. #13
    Senior Camel Kicker Joe Camel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    ---> NEW HOUSE 7/17/09 !! <---
    damn i want to jump into the DIY DD

    ive sweat a water (heater) pipe, soldered the barbs into a rad or two, and use a TIG welder to weld aluminum (arc and a stick) @ work....

    think i can do it?

    you can see (link in sig) what ive done with water cooling...im sure i could create some kind of phase change monster
    -->> Help US fight: CANCER, Alzheimer's, Parkinson's & MORE with YOUR computer <<--
    Joe Camel is FOLDing for Team 32
    R.I.P pete_scout I wish we could have FOLDed a cure, for you.
    HEAT
    "So you see, it's not at all pointless, you just have to look for a different point" ... hafa 5/17/04
    6800 EX Conroe @ 4740 MHz (395 x 12) - - Dry-Ice in The Camel Pipe -
    - X1900 CrossFire @ 846/945 - - MachII Slave, D-Ice Master -
    - 2x gig Corsair XMS 6400 CAS3 @ 494 MHz 4-4-3-1 -
    - ASUS P5W-DH - - 700w "Mr Zippy" PSU

  14. #14
    Member matttheniceguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    think i can do it?
    No problem. The only thing you need are the right tools and a lot of reading. Search this section a bit, and the vapor phase chage section at xtremesystems

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Canada, BC, Gibsons
    Oh I can do it you'll be amazed at what some insanity will do with a natural nack at tinkering can do for some one. I all ready built and run a home made R290 AC unit and built my own vacuume side guage to do it (Used a percision oil filled guage) The guy STILL hasn't droped the unit off I'm starting to think I'm geting screwd here ! he said it would be here three days ago and here we are well Here I am a miffed & disapointed in people pony grrrr.

    Ah well show up at his work and strip the thing there en then !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •