Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    117

    Can't start Knoppix XServer

    I get up to the point where it says Starting X Server... terminate at the end of session... whatever it is that part of the information says (the text right before x server is started).

    Startup commands: "knoppix screen=800x600 depth=16"

    I'm trying to start Knoppix so I can use qtparted, but you cannot run it if xserver is not running.

    However, when I try starting knoppix, it says:

    Retrying with XFree86(vesa)...
    Retrying with XFree86(fbdev)...
    No suitable X-Server found for your card.

    The computer im trying to run it on:
    amd k6-2 333mhz
    aopen ax59pro (via mvp3 chipset)
    192mb ram
    Diamond Viper V770 32mb (nvidia tnt2)
    monitor: Gateway2000 CrystalScan 1024NI

    Knoppix detects the video as:
    Video is RivaTnT2[NV5], using XFree86(nv) Server.
    Monitor is Generic Monitor, H:28.0-96.0kHz, V:50.0-75.0Hz
    Using Modes "800x600","640x480"

  2. #2
    Forums Super Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor


    David's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews
    Posts
    15,547
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile
    I'm not sure if Knoppix has nvidia support - try putting nv or nvidia in as the card driver in /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
    OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


    The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
    The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
    The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
    The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

    My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    117
    I tried doing that through the expert config. XServer started, but the display was corrupt/out of sync.

  4. #4
    Captain Random
    Senior Evil Genius

    Arkaine23's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Woodlands, Tx
    Posts
    9,105
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    press ctrl + alt + + that'll cycle to the other modes (640x480 may work)
    Folding.for.team.32.as.OC3d!
    i5 3570 @ 4.5 | 8GB | SSD | 5-disk Raid 0 | 660 Ti
    Folding User Stats

  5. #5
    Senior Member MRD's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    7,023
    I've never seen any system vesa did not work on.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •