Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: under clocking

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    18

    under clocking

    hi, im underclocking my como because i leave it overnight to run small programs, downloading primarily. well i decided to underclock it since i dont need the ghz and all. and im thinking that underclocking will lessen the temp on the cpu, well it did by 9 celcius. im jsut running it at 1 ghz now with a vcore of 1.400, now my question is is underclocking harmful just like over clocking? tyia

  2. #2
    Member willkill1337's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    irc.zirc.org - #octeams
    Posts
    647
    Underclocking shouldn't be harmful to your computer, especially as now some processors have this feature, such as AMD's Cool & Quiet technology and Intel's Speedstep. It's commonly used in laptop processors and has been for a while and now is also becoming common in desktop processors.

    Oh and by the way, welcome to the forums, iantec.

  3. #3
    Disabled
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    woodstock illinois
    Posts
    476
    May i first suggest a quick edit of your posts before you click "post".


    Anyways, no it's not harmful, but i dont really think it is something you need to be doing.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    18
    well thanks for the reply guys... i always had it overclocked before but i need to speed up my fan and i just can't tolerate my other comp so i switched it from my living room and this one is more quiet specially now the fan is at its lowest speed. anyways thnaks
    and oh is there anyway i can run it lower? just want to know how slow it can run. ehehhe

  5. #5
    Member ryufreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Port Richey/Tampa, FL
    Posts
    289
    lower you voltage as well, it'll drop your temps some more

  6. #6
    Senior Member Otter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,914
    The folks at SilentPCReview are almost as obsessed with underclocking for lower temps and less noise as we are here with overclocking.
    http://silentpcreview.com/
    http://forums.silentpcreview.com/
    Last edited by Otter; 07-10-05 at 05:36 AM.

  7. #7
    Member Edo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    138
    LOL underclocking for the noise values? I have 6x stage speakers in my comp room .. i dont really care about the fan noise LOL!! ..

  8. #8
    Senior Member Otter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,914
    LOL, okay. You probably don't need to tweak your underclock to the max, then.

    The heat generated varies directly with the frequency and with the square of Vcore. Hence, you might decide how fast you need to go and then see how low you can get your voltage at that frequency without loosing stability. After that, you can probably raise the CPU frequency as far is it will go with the undervolt if you want to. It won't generate that much more heat.

  9. #9
    Member K4mui's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Hessen, Germany
    Posts
    504
    Quote Originally Posted by Edo
    LOL underclocking for the noise values? I have 6x stage speakers in my comp room .. i dont really care about the fan noise LOL!! ..
    Great post.... explains why you've got a P4.



    Can you imagine there are people who do care about the noise produced by a computer? Don't know your age, but... well, you'll grow

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    18
    well im quite satisfied now with it at 1.4 ghz, and oh i forgot to mention that i already did lower the vcore from 1.525 to 1.400 now (vcore),since im not that could maybe you can give me tips on which ones to undervolt too. my fan positions are great so no worries with the fan , pc all clean including the hsf. im going to test it with prime to see if it is stable. well im quite happy with my underclock, system boots almost as fast and now i dont go over 39 cel deg. when my cpu was oced i was running at 63 c at full load. when idle its at 54 c. at stock speeds idle is at 47c full load is at 54c. cant tolerate the screaming of volcano 12 + 4 case fans. now i am able to turn 1 intake and 1 exhaust. thnx

    btw about the underclocking to the max. i was just curious, because i tried setting bios to spd, and i think i hit my slowest at 100mhz fsb. well if you know how to make it lower pls say so im just curious if it can still run at 500 mhz or something. eheh, multiplier locked.

  11. #11
    Member MrSeanKon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    See my profile....
    Posts
    260
    Quote Originally Posted by iantec
    is there anyway i can run it lower? just want to know how slow it can run. ehehhe
    I ran my A64 around 840MHz and Vcore was 0.832Volts...
    I did this for calculating some data...
    Look here O/c Analysis posts for more info..
    So if you run your chip at 1GHz decrease your Vcore...
    Current versions are OcBible v1.54/1.55 and Guidemania v1.21

  12. #12
    Senior Member Otter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,914
    Quote Originally Posted by K4mui
    Great post.... explains why you've got a P4.



    Can you imagine there are people who do care about the noise produced by a computer? Don't know your age, but... well, you'll grow
    Why the attitude, K4mui? Did something get lost in the translation? I can find no offense in Edo's words. All he said was that fan noise isn't a factor for him. Your words, OTOH, seem quite insulting, and that sort of talk drags a forum down.

  13. #13
    Member Archer36's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Michigan, US
    Posts
    1,147
    I got my P3 1ghz @ like 340mhz I believe the only reason is because its my smoothwall and doesn't even need 340mhz. Puts off less heat and uses less power! I have been doing that for like 6 months or so no probs.
    "We will always remember. We will always be proud. We will always be prepared, so we may always be free."
    -- Fmr. President Ronald Reagan

    "We must all hang together, gentlemen...else, we shall most assuredly hang separately"
    -- Benjamin Franklin

    "Freedom is not free, that it comes with the highest of sacrifices. The price of blood"
    -- 300


  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    18
    well my board is an epox 8rda3i...lowest possible vcore setting is at 1.400 can i even lower it? i mean aside from the vcore is there other things i can lower to minimize power consumption. since i will be runnign this 24/7 now.

    and oh i tried setting the speed to stock only lowering the vcore...hmmm strtange. is it that the temp relies on the vcore you put? why is my temp readings higher by 3 celcius degree when i razed the frequency but have the vcore at the same rate (1.400) as my previews underclock to 1ghz
    Last edited by iantec; 07-11-05 at 10:04 AM.

  15. #15
    Member Froggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    847
    Too bad you can't lower your Vcore more. If you want to make it run even cooler, silentpcreview has a list of mobos that support lower voltages. My A64 does 1Ghz@.880V and 2.25Ghz@1.3V
    Travis

    Haswell, Hawaii, & MLC

    My HeatWare 77-0-0

  16. #16
    Senior Member Otter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1,914
    Quote Originally Posted by iantec
    and oh i tried setting the speed to stock only lowering the vcore...hmmm strtange. is it that the temp relies on the vcore you put? why is my temp readings higher by 3 celcius degree when i razed the frequency but have the vcore at the same rate (1.400) as my previews underclock to 1ghz
    When the transistors in the CPU switch on and off, that generates heat. Hence, the more often the transistors switch, the more heat they're going to generate, and raising the frequency makes the chip run a little hotter even if Vcore is the same.

  17. #17
    Member quicksilvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    137
    I was using a utility called RM Clock. It just brings down your multiplier and volt when it's not on load. Worked very well for me. Here's a link
    http://cpu.rightmark.org/

  18. #18
    Member ziggo0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    La Porte, Indiana
    Posts
    4,729
    Quote Originally Posted by K4mui
    Can you imagine there are people who do care about the noise produced by a computer? Don't know your age, but... well, you'll grow
    I've got several tornados and a panaflo 119cfm 120mm fan sitting in my tower thats on my desk no more than 2 - 3 feet away from me. I dont mind the sound...as long as its not a whine, god do i hate whine...but its like a small wind tunnel or a quiet blender...lmao...but busting out 19C idle on air cooling is pretty sweet.

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    18
    yeah....but im from the philippines...its real hot here. 38 celcius ambient temp. yeah i know so not unless i use airconditonign and put my v12 at full honk will i achieve 28celcius....ehhehe, so im real happy if my temp lowers by 1 degree.

    well buying a new mobo is not an option so i guess this is as far as i can go.
    and about the rightmark, is that reliable and is it safe?

  20. #20
    Member Froggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ca
    Posts
    847
    Yes Rightmark is reliable and safe. It is actually less "harsh" on the CPU than cool n quiet. Someone from Rightmark pointed out in another forum that AMD switches voltage and multi up to 30 times a second and RM only does it 10 times a second. Unless you tell RM to follow AMDs spec.
    Travis

    Haswell, Hawaii, & MLC

    My HeatWare 77-0-0

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •