Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    92

    Dual kits shmual kits

    About a day ago I was still sure of the fact that a 'Dual Kit' is nothing but two memory plates (with identical specifications) who werent even properly introduced before being put side by side in some 'Dual kit' thingie.

    Yesterday I started feeling unsure, so I'm asking this question today.

    Lets say I buy 2 plates of GeIL 512mb DDR pc3200 Ultra-x, and later a GeIL pc3200 ultra-x dual kit (1gb = 512x2). I put the 2 plates I bought seperately in one system, and the dual kit in another completely identical system. Questions:

    1) Is there a difference in preformance? Even a slight one?
    2) Is there a difference in cost? (difference = over 5$, because I'm sure the fancy 'kit' plastic will cost a few extra bucks.)

    Thanks for your time.

  2. #2
    Member attack's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Dayton. OH
    Posts
    4,757
    I personaly thing it's a load of crap, but others swear by it. I've never bought a dual kit and have ran DC just fine with my current setup, a p4 setup, and a nforce2 setup (can't remember the chipset on the p4 but it was on an Abit AI7)
    i5-3570k @ 4.5ghz WC'd
    MSI Z77A-G41
    R9 280X
    2x4gb PC16000
    256GB Samsung 840
    Sennheiser HDR-120's
    Dell U2713HM
    "Computer games dont affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, wed all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitve electonic dance music..." - Kristian Wilson, Nintendo Inc, 1989

  3. #3
    Disabled apu318's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Welland: Most drug use per capita in Canada.
    Posts
    1,321
    There's really no point to dual channel kits for people who know what theyre doing. The kits are for people who do not know how to match timings and speeds, ect. Also, it can be sort of good for troubleshooting incase it's not working properly you'll know something is wrong with one of the sticks.

  4. #4
    Member Xenocide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    4,214
    friends don't let friends buy geil either way
    A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.

  5. #5
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    Posts
    4,933
    I don't agree with the "identical dual channel" thing either, and here's why.

    I have an A8N-SLI motherboard (AMD 939 dual channel, two banks per channel) and I have two different sets of PDP PC-3200 512MB modules (four in total, two "dual channel kits" purchased at different times). I put the red ones in one channel, and the blue ones in the other, and it POSTs in dual channel. I mix it up, they post in dual channel, etc... I don't think it matters that terribly much.
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    92
    So if I'll buy two identical memory cards, I'll have to match their timing speeds or something like that (I dont know what matching time speeds means, but I'll read about it after work)?

    How about prices? Is there a major difference?

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    92
    PS. I desided to go with the mushkin 1GB DC kit. I think it's the last time I'm changing my future pc configuration. This is what I'm gonna buy:

    CPU: AMD athlon 64bit 3200+ venice core
    GC: XFX GeForce 6600 GT 128mb gddr3 PCI-E
    Mem: Mushkin 1GB DDR (2x512MB) XP3200 2-2-2 (that black line thingie)
    MOBO: DFI LanParty UT nF 4 ultra-D
    HD: Maxtor 120Gb SATA (dimond 9 or something)

    Comments? Suggestions?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,337
    Dual kits are just a marketing thing.

  9. #9
    Member fabulouscoops's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    1,657
    It is usually cheaper to buy 2 seperate sticks than dual channel kits but then you pay double the shipping so the difference is minor.
    All the dual channel systems I have built use two single modules purchased at the same time
    i5 2500K@4.5; Asus P8P67 deluxe; 8 GB G.Skill DDR3 1600; Mushkin 120 GB SSD; 2T WD caviar, 500 GB WD caviar; HD7950
    E8500 @3.6 GHz; Asus P5Q Pro Turbo; 4 GB OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066;
    i5 2550; P8P67 deluxe, 8 GB OCZ DDR2 800; 60 Agility SSD; 2x500 GB RAID 0; 250 GB Caviar; HD6950
    E4400 @3 GHz, Abit AB9 pro, Gigabyte 7300 GT silent; 2GB Supertalent PC5400; 3x36 Raptors RAID 0:5

  10. #10
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    Posts
    4,933
    The main difference between my dual kits is that the CAS strobe on one set is 2.5 and the other is 2.0. I run at the longer of the two intervals.

    Matching heatspreaders are cool, though...kinda.
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,280
    Quote Originally Posted by rashal
    So if I'll buy two identical memory cards, I'll have to match their timing speeds or something like that (I dont know what matching time speeds means, but I'll read about it after work)?

    How about prices? Is there a major difference?
    If you get two different sticks, it will just work at the speed of the slower stick, so the faster stick will be in effect underclocked.
    20" iMac 2.4Ghz C2D 4GB ram

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Niagara, ON
    Posts
    1,447
    you dont have to buy matched stick to get the dual channel exapmle: ive done it many times, 2 sticks of compltely different ram, different company, different timings, same speed tho...that way it will dc, but the only real thing you need to get is the same speed, and if you have a 1.5 cas or 2 cas, it may not work with a 3 cas stick....but its worth a try, i dont see the great difference in matching the sticks, (got that now) it just seems like they want to make more money by "matching and increasing" your performance
    ________________________________Heat
    _______________________Shipping to Canada? READ THIS!

    Folding User Stats

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •